We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Hotel stay was awesome! Have two children ages 7 & 4. Was looking for an inexpensive location, with a shuttle to and from Metro stop, as well as a hotel offering a continental breakfast. This hotel offered them all. Staff was exceptionally helpful! Always able to offer advice re: Metro, Union station, local information. Hotel was VERY clean (as this is a farely new hotel), price point was great. Breakfast included sausage, eggs, pancakes, sausage gravy, biscuits, fruit...awesome selection. Hotel has a workout center and small spa/hot tub. "Sister" hotel, right next door, has a pool that guest may use. Good place for family or business purposes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    74
    16
    5
    6
See reviews for
115
45
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sierra Vista, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Overall this is a very nice Holiday Inn Express (HIE). The suite is more of elongated studio with mini-fridge and microwave but the extra space is welcome by the business traveler; price was $50.00 below per diem. Standard HIE breakfast. Hotel shuttle will take you to the Huntington Metro Stop. I was going to the North side of Ft. Belvoir and was able to take two back streets for a stress free 15 minute commute during rush hour. The hotel is a bit away from things (sort of an island) but close at the same time. Old Town Alexandria is 10 minutes (not counting traffic); the George Washington Parkway is 5 minutes, the Capital Beltway is 3 minutes away but there aren't any activities right next door. One down point; my room came with an excellent clock radio/mp3 player but the time had not been adjusted for day light savings time and there was no way for the guest to change this without a screwdriver. I mentioned this to the front desk 3 times and it was never adjusted. This is minimal attention to detail the Staff should stay on top of. The room was kept very clean. In most hotels these days you see cards asking for help with the environment by reusing your towels. That is, a towel hung up will be reused; a towel on the floor will be replaced. I always hang the towel up; this is one of the only hotels that actually did not replace it so they get points for helping the Chesapeake Bay stay just a bit cleaner. When I go back to this area I will use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Although road noise was not a problem, rooms on the east side are away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I was more than pleased with the service and value. I came in as a last minute check in and was treated like a long time customer. Special care and attention were given to my situation.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This was a pretty nice place to stay, other than a couple things. The staff was great, the ample breakfast was served in the nice and open lobby, and the room and common areas were very clean. However, the nice big/open dining area was also quite cold. When we stayed there, it was overcast and cool outside, but the A/C was cranking in the lobby, making breakfast a bit uncomfortable if you were sitting under a vent. Also, the A/C in the room was a bit off, perhaps because of the thermostat. It would get really cold, and then get really hot, making sleep a bit difficult. Oh, on the sleep subject, both of our beds were quite soft, and we don't sleep well on soft beds... But all in all, this place is OK to come back to after a long day out sightseeing! Finally, its 1 mile from the Metro station :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, April 29, 2012
Dear schoolybear,

I'm happy that you decided to stay with us, and I'm glad you enjoyed your time here. I am sorry about the temp in the breakfast area being to cold. Your comments will be passed on tho the appropriate departments. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip!

^Katie
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Wonderful time at the hotel for 5 nights on our school trip to Washington DC. Very helpful, pleasant and friendly staff and shuttle drivers. Very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Not an easy walk from the Metro, but a shuttle is offered, only until 8 pm. Decent breakfast. Thin walls. Noisy kids next door. The front desk did at least temporarily quiet them down when asked to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Travel_guy815,

irst of all, thank you very much for your recent stay. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

Ben J
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This place was a HOME AWAY FROM HOME for me...Im not from the area and I stayed three nights, I didnt know my way around...the staff at this hotel were more then helpful...they talked with me several times on my cell when I got lost in the city...GREAT! The rooms were good and room service was Great!...I picked this hotel in Va because I stayed at another Holiday Inn Express in FL and it was good and the reviews for both hotels were GOOD,so I tried this Holiday Inn in Va and it was a good choice .I booked this trip online and there was a problem with my room when I got here, so the GM at this site UPGRADED my room to a KING with whrilpool! WOW, NICE!!! Over all good hotel and service....I would and i am going to stay again...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
#8 of 50 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Embassy Suites by Hilton Alexandria-Old Town
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.