We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, clean, no frills but pleasant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #7 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Arkansas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spacious, clean, no frills but pleasant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

I was visiting my son and his family in Alexandria, and wanted a newer, clean hotel close to my son. This hotel was clean and met all my needs. They have a shuttle to the Huntington Metro which was great for me since my son lives one block form Huntington. Both shuttle drivers were very courteous, and Fred took me right to my son's front door which was an enormous help to me. He was extremely polite and helpful. I appreciate his help with my luggage also. I would definitely stay there again.
Note: I was in room 100 at first which is extremely isolated and decided to change rooms which was very easy to do.

Room Tip: Just avoid 100 unless you want to be isolated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    55
    11
    4
    5
See reviews for
101
35
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We went to DC during the week between Christmas and New Years, and wanted a inexpensive and convenient hotel - we found one.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The parking was free and they provided a free shuttle to the train station. We decided to drive in and found parking for $13 for the day which was cheaper than the 3 of us taking the train in. The drive was only 20 mins. during morning rush hour.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We stayed last weekend at this hotel for a sports event. The staff was very nice. The room was nice and clean. The water pressure in the shower was good too. The breakfast bar was very nice with a good variety of sausage, eggs, yogurt and pancakes made on demand on a conveyor belt.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor. I would recommend a room that is numbered lower such as 1-10 as you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

The shuttle drivers are timely and friendly. Fred is the best. Always has a smile and opens the doors. Most convenient hotel to the metro without being downtown. Two thumbs up.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I stayed here in Jan for 2 nights. The hotel is not really close to any restaurants (and the neighborhood is kind of sketchy to walk in) so you can either get delivery or take a cab to eat somewhere. The hotel is not within walking distance to a metro stop but they have a very nice shuttle driver that will take you to the closest stop with no advance notice required. They will also pick you up from the metro stop within 15 minutes of you calling them (very cool). I switched rooms because the TV in my first room didn't work. Overall, it's an okay hotel, but for what you are paying, you could probably find something better a lot closer to downtown DC, if that is your final destination.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lithonia, Georgia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My family and I made reservations at Holiday inn express & suites Alexandria /fort belvior to put it short the first room 323 had a refrigerator with old food that exploded including soda and old soda bottles in the room not clean we went down to complain and Phil who was very nice switched us to a different room 311 we moved all of our stuff to that room by ourselves and opened the door the room had clean towels but the toilet had urine in it with a soiled piece of toilet paper also the beds were not made and the fridge again trashed we went down again to complain and were moved to 309 where there were handles missing from the drawers and stained sheets that we saw after we slept because we were so exhausted. Hotels.com did not want to refund us our money but holiday inn said they would by denying the charges we have not seen this yet. Of course Amex said they would help us dispute the charge of 155.00 thanks Amex, sorry hotels.com you guys dont help your customers.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

This hotel is a convenient and affordable place to stay while visiting Washington D.C. It is located close to Washington National Airport, and the Huntington Metro Station is only a mile away.

The hotel appears very clean and well maintained. The front desk staff was very welcoming when we checked in, and they gave us recommendations on how to best use the metro, sightseeing, etc ... This was all helpful and much appreciated. The rooms were quiet, and we heard very little outside noise the entire stay. The complimentary breakfast selection offered was typical for a Holiday Inn Express, and the serving / eating area was very clean and well stocked. There was not a charge for parking here; most other hotels in the area do charge a nightly fee.

My only issue would involve the safety of the area. I was only at the hotel for one night, so perhaps that is not long enough to evaluate the neighborhood. We walked three blocks after dark to eat at Five Guys Burger, which we did only because traffic in the area was very heavy at the time. I was walking with quite a few others, but had there been only 2 or 3 of us I don't think I would have felt safe doing this. When we returned from eating, two police cars were in the hotel parking lot with lights on and three people were in handcuffs. The police were searching two cars that were at the Holiday Inn. I know this is not the responsibility of the hotel, but I mentioned it only because it did impact my opinion of the neighborhood.

I would definitely stay here again if visiting D.C. as I have nothing but positive comments about the hotel itself and the employees. As is probably true in any big city, though, I would use caution if staying here solo.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.