We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good quality & service at an affordable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #9 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plumsteadville, PA
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“Very good quality & service at an affordable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed here in November 2011. This is right on the Richmond Hwy which is an excellent location for getting back and forth to the DC Metro Station at Huntingdon. The Hotel offers a free shuttle ride to and from the Station. GREAT shuttle driver (Fred) was very personable, most accommodating. Also, the front desk (Antwan?? I know I must've spelled his name wrong!!) was extremely cordial and really helped us in every way possible.

We had a Suite which, in addition to a very comfortable bed, included a desk, sofa and tables, and a mini-kitchen with a fridge and microwave...it even had a kitchen sink.

The only thing I would change is the "unit" for heating and air conditioning. It was a little noisy.

The complimentary breakfast was pretty good, very much what you'd expect from this sort of offering. The young lady that maintains the breakfast buffet was so sweet, and really did a good job on keeping up with the task at hand.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Guest

Thank you so much for taking time to write such a nice and detailed review. Antwane and Fred are very special to us here and we are glad to hear they made a great first impression. Thank you for talking about our ideal location for other guests to read and give us a try. We hope the next time you are in Alexandria you will come and see us again!

Have a wonderful week!

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    65
    14
    5
    6
See reviews for
110
43
10
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caldwell, ID
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Picked this off tripadvisor based on other people liking it. Great place to stay, clean, good breakfast. Very nice. We agree with everyone that Da'Nette was great! Get tips on nearby tourist attractions from front desk. Learned about free bus service in Old Town Alexandria. Also appreciated Nancy at breakfast, Fred on the shuttle car and Edric at the front desk.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Guest

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. Also glad to hear you decided to stay with us due to reading our trip advisor reviews. We strive everyday to make our guests feel welcome and somewhere you can be "You", please stay with us again if you are in the Alexandria area.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I have no hesitation in recommending the Holiday Inn Express in Alexandria for stays around the Washington, DC area. The hotel is easy to find and access from the Interstate. Da'Nette, the front desk receptionist, was enthusiastic and helpful upon our arrival and was available for any and all issues and questions. The room itself was large and cozy, and I can't say enough good of the comfortable bed and pillows. I certainly got a good night's sleep after a long day of walking around the DC area!

The bathroom was exceptionally clean and roomy, and although we didn't use it during our short stay, the kitchenette is a definite bonus for longer visits and included a small refrigerator and microwave. The breakfast provided the next morning was well done and includes all of the usual Holiday Inn Express items. I will certainly use this hotel if I ever find myself in northern Virginia/Washington, DC again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, November 22, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words. Glad to hear you really enjoyed your stay. Please keep us in mind the next time you are traveling to Alexandria.

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We recently stayed here for two nights and found the staff to be very nice and helpful, the room and bed very comfortable, and the location very convenient. It was a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Wish I could have stayed a little longer the room was so nice. Edric was helpful in getting me there as GPS took me down the road. As soon as I walked into the room I was impressed. Wish the bed had a little more cushion but not bad at all. I didn't pay for the room so I can't speak to the value.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

My husband and I just returned from 2 days in Alexandria Virginia and this hotel. Located on busy Richmond Highway near many other other motel chains this hotel is a bargain. It is immaculate and well run. Check in was easy. Our room, a king suite, was huge with large TV, comfortable bed, and roomy bathroom. Breakfast, while not gourmet was tasty and varied-eggs, pancakes, cereal, muffins etc. The coffee was delicious. The eating area was clean with comfortable seating. We chose this hotel because of the location, shuttle to the metro-which was so convenient, free parking and price. We travel frequently and I do a lot of research before choosing hotel and dining spots. Those on Trip Advisor who gave this hotel high marks were absolutely right.
I have to mention 2 people who gave us exceptional service: Asmeron is the weekday shuttle driver. He picks you up with a smile and takes you to the Metro. And there he is again at night arriving quickly and with the same friendly way even though he has been doing this for hours. DaNette checked us in efficiently and with a smile. She answered all my endless questions with such patience. Holiday Inn Express is lucky to have these employees.
We will return to Alexandria and we will definitely stay here. I have 3 suggestions for the management: Upgrade your bed pillows; display/offer area brochures and maps for guests; indicate in the elevator that the location of the dining area is on floor 2 not floor 1.

Room Tip: Become a priority club member
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Customer service was outstanding. Danette ford went above and beyond to make our one year anniversary a memorable occasion. We are sure to stay at holiday inn express again because of her wonderful service!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express® Hotel & Suites Alexandria - Fort Belvoir is set just off historic Route-1/Richmond Highway near Old Town. Business and military travelers benefit from having the I-495 Capital Beltway and I-95 within two miles of the hotel's door. Alexandria, VA is just across the Potomac River from Washington, DC. While you're here, you can securely communicate with clients via the free high-speed, wired and wireless Internet access. The Business Center and meeting room make it easy to get work done so you can enjoy the area. We're just an eight-mile drive from Ronald Reagan National Airport (DCA). The hotel's leisure guests love Alexandria, VA, as well. We're close to Historic Old Town Alexandria, George Washington's Mount Vernon, National Harbor, Tanger Outlets, Arlington National Cemetery and about eight miles from the attractions, museums and monuments of this nation's capital. You can go shopping in Old Town Alexandria, tour the artwork at the Athenaeum and then wrap up the day with dinner and a drink at Gadsby's Tavern. Our guests love the complimentary shuttle to the nearby Huntington Metro station. You'll be energized to see the sights thanks to the free Express Start Breakfast Bar. Enjoy the comforts of home, a 24-hour Fitness Center and more from our hotel's perfect location in Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.