We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
“Will definitely stay here again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Very nice hotel with friendly staff, especially Danette at the front desk, who all ensured that we were accommodated well. We were pleasantly surprised. The complimentary breakfast was enjoyable.

Room Tip: Our room was in the back of the hotel. Quiet and allowed us to enjoy a restful night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
Thank you so much for placing this nice review.

Please let us know that next time you are in Alexandria.


Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    49
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
90
33
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enola, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed in a king feature suite with a whirlpool tub--a great way to relax after a long drive! The suite was spacious and very clean, and the bed was very comfortable. Instead of having to leave the hotel when we got hungry in the evening, we were able to buy snacks in the little shop next to the front desk and had a great chat with Danette. She's a hoot! The complimentary breakfast was a bit disappointing. The scrambled eggs were pretty flavorless and the bacon tasted strange, but the cinnamon bun was outstanding. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, September 13, 2011
We want to personally thank you for taking time to write a nice review about the Holiday Inn Express Alexandria. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Alexandria.



Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We arrived late friday night and were well received by Edric at the front desk. He allowed us to inspect 2 rooms before settling in, gave us extra room keys with no problems and at 2AM he didn't hesitate to open up the breakfast pantry and give me 2 containers of milk for my son. Even giving me the choice of whole or skim!! It's the little details that make the difference.

The next day we took the shuttle to the train station to DC for the day. Getting caught up, we realized at 7:40 we had 20 minutes to take a 30 minute trip back before the shuttle service cut out at 8. When i called the desk i was told it would be no problem, the driver would wait. But then the trains screwed up and all said and done we got back to the metro station at 8:45...........and there was the driver waiting for us, stepstool and all. wow. just wow.

We left the next day and were told we could come back later in the day, leave our car in their lot and use the shuttle to and from DC, even after we checked out!! who offers that?? Even the worker cleaning up let me in the closet to fill up a bowl of cereal after breakfast was OVER for 20 minutes and everything had been put away. I've been turned away at other places before 20 min BEFORE breakfast is over. Absolutely fantastic customer service all around.

The only negative was that the pancake machine wasn't working either day and just kept saying to replace the bag..... I was really looking forward to pancakes or waffles..... but the cinnamon rolls, eggs, bacon and even biscuits with gravy made up for it...

Room Tip: Bottom floor actually has easier access to the rear parking lot which coincidentally has more/closer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We appreciate you taking time to write this informative review. I apologize for the pancake machine not working. We have it back up and running as of today. I'm glad to hear that Edric went the extra mile by opening the kitchen to provide milk. Please let us know if you are back in our area so we can make a reservation for you.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We recently went on vacation to Myrtle Beach, and on our way back home to Montreal, we visited the Washington DC area. We had arrived in town much later than expected, and were trying to find a nice, clean, economical hotel for the night. The hotel we had just lived in for 2 weeks was nice and we wanted to keep the good feelings going.

Our original plan was to only stay the night, and then leave the next day first thing in the morning.

After visiting a couple of hotels that were not very clean, we drove by the Holiday Inn Express on Richmond highway. We had stayed in some Holiday Inns many years ago, and those were not as nice as we would have wanted.

However, it was late, we were tired, and figured we would take a chance as the outside of the hotel was exceptionally well groomed and fresh.

The young gentleman at the front desk greeted us with a welcoming smile, and found us a room. There was a large convention in town, and we got hte last room available. After spending 2 weeks in a resort town, where the hotel staff are "supposed" to cater to their guests, it was quite a refreshing change to meet Phil, with his sparkling personality, and great attitude. He made us feel at home, and gave us a lot of great ideas to visit the city the next day (not originally part of our plan). Phil, gave us suggestions on bus tours, using the metro to get into DC, offered us the hotel's shuttle service, and even offered to keep our luggage during the day while we visited. Although we really wanted to stay another night, there was simply no rooms available. Phil even tried to find us a room at their sister hotel, but with no luck. He really went the extra mile, and has completely changed our view of the Holiday Inn Express hotels……..so much so, that for the next three nights, when staying in hotels, we specifically looked for only Holiday Inns or Crowne Plazas.

The hotel itself was absolutely stunning….probably one of the nicest rooms we have stayed at in years. My wife loved the gym (with those cool aerobic machines with the TV sets built in). Our bed was so comfortable, we just went mattress shopping to try to get the same feeling, and have decided to remodel our bedroom after the room we stayed in. Quite an impact, I must say.

Breakfast was much better than we expected, especially the scrambled eggs….so fluffy.

All in all, our stay at this hotel FAR EXCEEDED any expectations we ever had, and really helped make our vacation that much more enjoyable.

Thanks again for the hospitality……thanks again to Phil for making a big difference for our family…..and we will come back and see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
John,

Thank you so much for your kind words. We strive everday to exceed our guests expectations. To actually see this in writing puts a smile on all of our faces. Glad to hear you enjoyed our eggs and the fitness room. We are a fairly new hotel so to hear that the condition is brand new makes our housekeeping staff feel very special. We hope that when you travel to DC again you will select our hotel. Keep in touch.

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grasonville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This is the newest property within the area and has always been affordable and available. The front desk staff is very professional and I really enjoy when Danette isworking, her smiles are very welcomed after a hard travel day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 29, 2011
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to post a great review. We look forward to seeing you again!

Amanda Sellman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

This is a new hotel in an area that is being revitalized. The accomodations were perfect, clean, quite, bright and comfortable. The morning breakfast was fresh and plentiful, including healthy options and sweets. The coffee was brewed just right, and very hot at all times throughout the day. The location was easily accessible to scores of fun places to eat and shop. The location is also easily accessible to the metro to downtown DC.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This hotel was amazing. From the time we checked- in with Antwane, to breakfast with Nancy in the morning and then to check-out with Phill was all a great experience. This staff super professional and very helpful. I loved the modern atmosphere and the spacious rooms. Anytime we are in the area your are sure to have our business again. My family and I really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnExpressAlx, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, responded to this review, August 18, 2011
Thank you so much for your response. We really appreciate you taking your time to post a wonderful review. We are glad to hear you will be coming back.

Have a wonderful day!

Amanda Sellman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Address: 6055 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#5 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#12 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir Hotel Alexandria
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Alexandria-Fort Belvoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.