We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Near Fort Belvoir, VA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Harker Heights, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel Near Fort Belvoir, VA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

The Hampton Inn and Suites is a nice hotel conveniently located near Fort Belvoir and South Alexandria. The hotel was exceptionally clean, staff were very friendly and accommodating. The front desk personnel I encountered, Maria, Toronda (hope I spelled that right) and Steven were exceptionally friendly, courteous and certainly understood my sense of humor as well as being very attentive to my requests. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The typical breakfast fare at the Hampton was quite good and it seemed to always have sufficient quantities - no matter the time or the number of guests. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. The prices seemed fair for the region. The only down side is that the iron and ironing board in my room were a but well used and not 100% functional; however, since I only used them once, it was not a big deal. If you are staying in the Alexandria area and have your own transportation - this is an excellent hotel for your stay!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the back of the hotel or the sides are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    104
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
148
57
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
savannah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

One of the most pleasant experiences I have ever had in a Hotel .The staff and accomodations were exceptional. The food was great and the location from my destination was perfect.I will gladly recommend this hotel to many family and friends visiting the Washinton DC area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I stayed at this location on business for six nights in November 2013. The price is right and I upgraded to King Studio Suite for just $10 more per night and I got about 25% more room. Well worth it if you are staying for a while. The property is basically very clean and there were plenty of towels in the room. The bed duvets and sheets are advertised to be clean on arrival, and this offered some peace of mind. I have stayed in other places before where the housekeeper told me they changed the duvets twice per week, “whether they need it or not” but not just because of a new occupant. The microwave and fridge in the room was convenient. The furniture and TV were good shape, and the TV nice sized for a hotel room. It is too bad they don’t get more channels, such as the NFL Network. But there are 35 channels to choose from with plenty of news and weather and local channels. The internet connection is free and works well enough. There is plenty of lighting in all areas of the room, and I had two very large windows with nice blackout curtains. Light, both natural and artificial, is better than average for a hotel. I can see how it may be noisy if the hotel is full and/or you are in the main hallway. I recommend asking for the upper floor (4th floor) away from the elevator and main hallway. I was in Room 437 which was in a small side hallway. The breakfast is satisfactory, but nothing great. That is, there is a good selection of fruit, cereals, bagels/muffins, and oatmeal, and even a novel waffle maker where you can make your own. So in short, it’s probably as good as what most people have available at home, but the eggs/meats by all indications are frozen/microwave or something similar. The eggs are not “fresh” or freshly cooked per se, and the meats are microwave style. The little mini omelets were a bit odd and not so tasty. So neither great or bad breakfast, but fine for the price of the room. If you try to eat between 7-8 a.m., you may have some trouble finding a table. The gym equipment is certainly not for real fitness buffs, but may offer enough of a workout for a time or two, but some laps around the hotel outside will prove plenty safe and a good substitute. The hotel is “no smoking” which really helps with the air quality and freshness of the rooms. Some papertowels hung in the kithenette area would be very helpful and welcome. The hotel staff was very efficient, and I arrived an hour early to find my room ready to check in, and the process took less than a minute. You will need a car to stay here and get around. All in all, this was well worth $139 per night that I paid. I would stay here again without hesitation, but would also be enticed to see what else may be better for a few dollars more.

Room Tip: Ask for a top (4th) floor, away from elevator in a side hallway off the main drag. Room 437 is good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

I stay at this hotel several times a year when I visit the National Capital Region. The hotel is always very clean and the staff is extremely friendly which sometimes can be unusual in the DC area. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

The location of the hotel is perfect for sightseeing the historic sites. A very short distance from George Washington Estate and his Distillery and Gristmill, is very nearby. The complimentary breakfast is complete with fresh eggs, including hard cooked eggs, bacon, hot cereal, biscuits, bagels, Danish, fresh fruit, juices, and the most delicious fresh brewed coffee. A winner for the traveler. Most important is the queen sized bed is plush, comfortable, clean bedding, and white clean duvet covers. The bathroom is spotless and towels fluffy. The hallways and rooms have a clean fresh smell. No perfumed deodorizer smells at this hotel. Friendly and courteous staff make your staff very satisfying.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I chose this hotel to be on the south side of town; the neighborhood is a little "sketchy" as my teenage/ young adult kids say, BUT, the hotel and room were wonderful (and we felt perfectly safe) - everything was clean, bkfst room was big enough, can't beat that nice a room for the price! I'd stay here again, but closer access to I-95 would have been more convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is one of the best Hampton Inn hotels I have ever stayed at. I enjoyed the entire stay from check in to check out. The staff was very helpful in every aspect (i.e., locating restaurants, routes to local attractions and with cleaning my room). I would definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites® Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., Fort Belvoir and historic Old Town Alexandria. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing indoor pool (Pool Hours Monday- Friday 5p-9p, Sat/Sun 11a-9p), 24-hour business center, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.