We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel building but very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Abingdon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Old hotel building but very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The room was nice sized, clean, and quiet. The A/C worked very well. The only complaint my husband had was a lack of TV channels. Breakfast was good - standard buffet of scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, etc.. Outside hotel doors only open with a room key making the security very good. Even though it is an older building it is in very good condition.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    83
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
121
41
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business July 8 and 9. This hotel is close to Ft Belvoir and a clean, comfortable place with nice staff. It is just a short drive from the Fort. The hotel is quiet and there is lots of parking around back. I recommend this hotel to business travelers.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. It was very comfortable and well furnished. The free hot breakfast and business center we well appreciated. The pool has a lifeguard. The staff were extremely helpful with our early check in and late check out needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King of Prussia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

If you have business at Fort Belvoir, or in that direction, I recommend you look elsewhere for a hotel. This hotel can only be entered from one direction on the highway, and exiting the hotel is a challenge, requiring you to drive through gas stations to egress. The rooms are comfortable, but show wear. It has a large patio that would be a nice outside gathering site, but they only have a few chairs strewn about, and no shade. The pool, strangely, has very limited hours. The breakfast and the beds were of the quality I have come to expect from a Hampton Inn. one small thing: where were the warm cookies? In the future, I will not stay at this hotel. There are numerous others in the area that are worth considering.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Arther P of King Of Prussia,

I am sorry to hear that your stay at our hotel was a disappointment to you. I understand that it can be a challenge to get in and out of the hotel. We try to give you and our other guest visiting Fort Belvoir the best options as the concrete median across from the hotel does not allow you to cross the very busy highway. We appreciate you letting us know that your room was comfortable but was showing wear I had my maintenance and housekeeping team check the room to make sure the future guests that stay with us would be happy. As for the limited pool hours unofrtunately, Fairfax county law requires when any guest is in the pool area we must have a lifeguard on duty. I am sorry that you have decided not to stay at our hotel in the future but we understand


Again. thank you for your feedback.


Sincerely,

Tracey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

This hotel for the most part, was very clean and VERY affordable. The hotel seemed fairly new and well appointed. We received a full breakfast in the morning, not a continental breakfast, making the value unbeatable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped in for one night. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was typical Hampton Inn fare although because the hotel was in the south I had the thought that the breakfast would be better than the usual spread for a Hampton Inn. Anyway, room was very clean, and bathroom too. Staff were very informative about attractions in the area. Great place to stay as a base for touring around the area. Also no charges for parking and also free shuttle to metro to go into DC.

Room Tip: This Hampton Inn is very close to Mt. Vernon, maybe a five minute car ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My mom was in Inova Mt. Vernon hospital. We stayed at another hotel first which was a HUGE
Mistake!!! The staff at this hotel were warm and very concerned about our comfort. There was a Huge church thzt was staying this same night 6/28/13 and the manager on duty made us feel as we were the only guests. We had to come back on 7/2 to see momma at the hospital and never dreamed of staying any where else! The room was clean bed was comfy, breakfast was great all in all awesome!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites® Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., Fort Belvoir and historic Old Town Alexandria. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing indoor pool (Pool Hours Monday- Friday 5p-9p, Sat/Sun 11a-9p), 24-hour business center, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.