We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, hotel still needs some work.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
New Orleans, United States
1 review
“Great staff, hotel still needs some work.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The staff at this location almost make you forget about the lack of certain things...but not completely. The air conditioning was an issue. It didn't get cool enough for me during my stay. I live in the south and like it cold inside, hot outside. The walls are not the thickest and the noise could be an issue if you spend a lot of time in your room conducting business. Overall my stay was good. The staff at this location is just excellent. I stay a week and they were consistently amazing day and night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    87
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
131
42
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed and took advantage of the Mt Vernon option. The hotel was clean, the staff was nice and they had a good mix of complimentary breakfast items. My children loved the cookies in the lobby! Convenient location to shopping and Mt Vernon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This hotel was less expensive than other hotels in the Washington D.C. area but, despite the high quality of the room, it was over-priced for being so far outside of Washington D.C.. This hotel is convenient, however, if you are going to Mount Vernon or need a hotel close to the AMTRAK Auto Train station, which is only 4 miles away. The hotel is located on US 1 but, it seemed that the restaurants (mostly fast food) were located on US 1 headed back toward Washington D.C. We decided to eat in our room. The rooms were extremely comfortable and provided a great night sleep with the most amazing pillows. There was a good assortment of food at Breakfast that was constantly replenished, even up to a few minutes before Breakfast ended. Overall, a very nice overnight stay; if a little expensive.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

As a veteran traveller I appreciate cleanliness, comfort, easy check in and out and security. But one of the most important is the attitude of the staff. The Hampton Inn in Alexandria VA had one of the most helpful, friendly staffs I have ever encountered. They were Outstanding! Friendly, cheerful, helpful and knowledgeable. This facility is indeed fortunate and must be doing something right to retain these fine folks!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Slovak65,

Thank you for staying at the Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir. We really appreciate and value your feedback on your stay. We are so happy to hear that you had an excellent experience at our hotel and that every employee you encountered helped your visit to our area be a memorable one.

Thank you for your kind thoughts about the staff and we look forward to having you visit us again.

Sincerely,


Tracey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wood Dale, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed in room 317, that had a king size bed. The room was clean, an a good size. and while the hotel was full we heard very little noise.
The front desk staff was very good, friendly, and helpful.
The free breakfast was plentiful, good, with a large selection.
If stopping to see Mount Vernon, this hotel is very close.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

First-thing's-first. We chose a hotel that was too far from Washington D.C. Having never been to the area, I thought a six-mile drive to the closest Metro wouldn't be a problem. The one main road that goes to the metro made a drive that should have taken less than ten minutes take about a half-hour each way.

This Hampton Inn is typical in many ways. The rooms are cofortable and clean. The free breakfast is good. They have a nice indoor pool, and free wifi. But the best part of our five night stay was the staff. Every person we encountered was friendly and helpful. From the front desk staff, to the housekeeping and breakfast attendants, they were all wonderful.

There is nothing in the way of food around this place, except for a Roy Rogers restaurant across the street. So if you are driving in from D.C., be sure to stop somewhere on the main highway, or it's roast beef and chicken for dinner.

The Hampton Inn is just a few miles from Mt. Vernon, which is well-worth a half-day visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayonne
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Your are only about 3 miles from Mt. Vernon. The staff is excellent. The front desk supervisor, Toronda, couldn't be more helpful and nice to everyone. The room was clean and the decor nice. Very quiet. Definitely will go back again when we can. Highly recommend this hotel. Breakfast was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites® Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., Fort Belvoir and historic Old Town Alexandria. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing indoor pool (Pool Hours Monday- Friday 5p-9p, Sat/Sun 11a-9p), 24-hour business center, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.