We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Week in D.C., location not ideal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Tooele, Utah
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“For a Week in D.C., location not ideal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Overall, this is a good hotel which is true to the Hampton brand. It is a solid 3 star/diamond hotel with good service, cleanliness and value. If you are staying because your visit takes you to Mr. Vernon or Fort Belvoir, this is the hotel I would recommend. If you're like us and you're looking for a hotel in the D.C. area for your family vacation, keep looking. We were looking for a hotel which was close to D.C., but far enough away that we could pick up good rates. I think we found the rate we were looking for at just over $100 per night, but there is a trade off. If you do not have a car you may find yourself taking the bus or a taxi everywhere. The shuttle that is supposed to be available to take you to or from the nearest metro is only available 8-4 Monday-Friday and sometimes it is not even available then. We had no car and so when we found the shuttle was not available to take us to the metro station, we had to catch the city bus. This hotel really needs to look at extending the availability of the shuttle to attract family vacationers to this location. Again, overall our experience was good, but for a family with kids from out of town looking to go back and forth to downtown D.C. each day they have left me regretting my decision not to stay closer to downtown.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    104
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
148
57
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I never expected this little Hampton Inn in the corner of Alexandria to be so nice. The amenities are nothing less than what I expect from a Hilton Brand hotel. I was impressed from the moment I walked in until I checked out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mitchellville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The Hampton is a top notch hotel with a top notch staff. My room was extremely comfortable and made me fill at home away from home. The bed was very relaxing. I got the sleep I needed to function the next day. The morning robust coffee added to my alertness. My experience at the Hampton was great!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This is a good hotel for budget. Probably $5 - $10 more expensive than Double-Tree or Holiday Inn, but free breakfast can trade off the difference. Our room had small refrigerator and microwave, and they were helpful to eat leftover from dinner at mid night. If they serve breakfast for gluten intolerant people, that would be perfect.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent three mid-week days here to see historic sites and museums and see friends. The rooms were bright and clean and the breakfasts were varied. If you are in a rush, you can make your breakfast to go or just grab a pre-made bag. The location is just outside of Mount Vernon and convenient to everything. Take the nearby Mount Vernon Memorial Highway into Alexandria or DC to avoid Route 1.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Clean, Great Value, all the amenities you would need for a weekend or extended weekend stay. Close to iNova Mt Vernon Hospital which was our first concern. Might have been a few other a little closer but in busier sections of RT 1. Everything you need is easily accessible off RT 1. Old Town Alexandria is about a 10 minute drive and a straight shot on RT1 to King St

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff was absolutely wonderful, and the rooms were very nice! It was in a great location too! Breakfast was delicious and fresh, I couldn't have asked for a better hotel! It was very quiet, the fan on the ac was nice and loud (if you wanted it to be) And the internet had good speed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites® Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., Fort Belvoir and historic Old Town Alexandria. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing indoor pool (Pool Hours Monday- Friday 5p-9p, Sat/Sun 11a-9p), 24-hour business center, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.