We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Woodbridge, United States
1 review
“Great job...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

To the hotel and staff great job in making my stay at your hotel a very good one. It's in good spot because of the federal rearrangement and tourist in this area. It's on a bus line route if your guess don't have a car to explore the area well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    86
    23
    8
    5
See reviews for
130
42
8
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trumbull, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We made the reservation last second (for the school break) for a D.C. vacation, and did not expect to select the Hampton Inn. I am so glad we did. Room and hotel- immaculate. (see pictures) AC worked well. All staff, from night manager to front desk to service workers were accomodating and pleasant. The price was markedly less than anything comparable on King Street or in D.C. Also, they didn't hit you with extras. Free wi-fi, free parking, excellent free breakfast.

You do have to drive to catch the Metro, but honestly, it didn't matter. We've stayed in Alexandria before, and it took us as long to walk back to our hotel as it did to drive to the Metro.

Pool perfect for the kids (agreed with another reviewer an extra hour on each end would have been good) .

Cookies and newspapers in the lobby, bagged snacks to take into D.C if you can't catch breakfast. If you forgot something they have it. And even if they didn't, everything is close.

Check out as simple as it gets.

Favorite thing: Room - clean, large, perfect.
Least favorite: the fact that I went swimming with my phone in my pocket.
Recommend: 100%

THANK YOU HAMPTON INN

Room Tip: 4TH floor suites are only a few bucks more, well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I read decent reviews on the hotel and it was priced right. Checked in late on a Friday night and the check-in process was quick. The lobby is neat and clean as well as the hallway leading to our room on the 4th floor. I was very happy to see the room was clean and had modern furniture. Bathroom was spotless as well! Immediately my sons took advantage of the free wifi and logged in easily on their ipads.

Free continental breakfast. Wasn't sure to expect but they have something for everyone. Scrambled eggs, hard boiled eggs, plain oatmeal with toppings on the side, dry cereal, hot waffle station, fresh fruit, yogurt, coffee, juices, assortment of bakery items. Was very happy and left the breakfast area satisfied (typically I leave free continental breakfast areas looking for a restaurant to eat in because the "free" breakfast is awful -- not here, you'll be quite satisfied).

My ONLY complaint has to do with the hours of the indoor pool. If you travel with kids who like to swim (and you purpously look for a hotel with an indoor pool) they are going to want to swim. The weekday hours are 5pm - 9pm and weekend hours are 11am - 9pm. We checked in too late on Friday, out all day saturday between sightseeing and an evening family party. We were hoping to get in a quick swim Sunday morning before checking out. Check-out time is 11am and that's when the pool opens. My kids were very disappointed that they couldn't swim. My sister-in-law stayed at a nearby hotel (she used points for a free stay) and their pool opened at 8am so they were able to swim before check out.

I would reccomend this hotel to anyone. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Every thing you would expect is there and all the help go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant experience. Well situated in the historic district. when I return to Charleston for my next trip i will be heading directly to this Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg VA, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is a pretty clean motel. Even though it is in a busy area, it does not look as though it has been used hard. Room was quiet and pleasant. Everything in the room was in great working order. Thermostat in room was very efficient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Although we typically like to stay in the city when in DC we were not able to on our last trip due to the Cherry Blossom Festival. This however, was a great find. It is about a thirty minute (or less) drive to DC, very affordable, and very nice and clean! Especially compared to everything else in the Fort Belvoir area, it is extremely nice!! Plus it was much more affordable than anything else in the area.

It is also just around the corner (less than 5 minutes) from Mount Vernon which we decided to visit on our way out of town because we were so close. Also not far from downtown Alexandria so I would highly recommend this hotel if visiting Alexandria.

Very spacious rooms and also had lots of plugins by the bed for your phone, laptop, etc. Lots of parking with multiple key-entry doors so that you can park closer to your room.

It has a nice looking pool but unfortunately I didn't bring a swim suit!

Of course like other Hampton Inns it had free breakfast in the morning which was an added bonus.

We really enjoyed are stay and will probably be visiting again since it is so much more affordable than a downtown DC hotel!!

Room Tip: There is only one set of elevators so if you are on higher floors or have lots of luggage I would su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a group of friends on a weekend DC excursion. The hotel is about 15 minutes from the Huntington metro stop, which isn't too far. The room was clean and stylish and well insulated (we did not hear any noise from neighbors or people in the hall). The continental breakfast was on par with other major chains--enough to get you started in the morning, but not enough to write home about. My only complaint is that the hotel pool has wacky hours: M-F 5 to 9 pm then Sa-Su 10-9. It's pretty clear that this place caters to business travelers. Even still, some more pool time would have been welcome.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites® Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., Fort Belvoir and historic Old Town Alexandria. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing indoor pool (Pool Hours Monday- Friday 5p-9p, Sat/Sun 11a-9p), 24-hour business center, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.