We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, standard place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent, standard place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I was here for 4 weeks due to work. The hotel is pretty much like most Hampton Inns I've stayed at, although they don't keep the breakfast area open for snacks throughout the day. The room lighting is sufficient for lounging but not for working. The gym is nice. I didn't use the pool. The area around the hotel on Rt 1 is a bit sketchy, so I'd recommend going to Old Town Alexandria, Kingstown, or Potomac Mills for dinner, shopping, and entertainment.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    104
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
148
57
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grapevine, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed over Thanksgiving weekend, and we enjoyed this hotel. The room was really nice! We had one of the king rooms in the middle of the hall that had a sofa bed. It had plenty of room! We also liked how the vanity area is outside of the room with the tub and toilet. My only criticisms of the room were the VERY thin walls (we could hear the people next door cough!), and the pillows. Hampton seems to have gone to the non-fluffy, feather-type pillows, and we just hate them!

Breakfast was good, and the staff kept the food replenished. Coffee was always very hot! The room was also large enough to accommodate a crowd.

Room Tip: The king rooms in the middle of each floor are huge!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Checked in on a Friday night with plans to visit Mt Vernon on Saturday. When I walked in, there was no one at the front desk. I waited, looked around, began to get slightly impatient. Finally another guest said "oh she is helping that party in the breakfast area". A few minutes later, an associate appeared. We were checked in with no problems. I inquired about some delivery menus, as it was getting late for our little one and there is really nothing nearby. I was given a nice bundle of options. We found our room with no problem. After staying in a king suite on a recent trip, the room seemed small by comparison, but it was a typical Hampton Inn room. Comfy, clean...but LOUD! Oh my goodness! I could hear every shower turn on in the rooms around and over us, people walking, doors closing, people talking....Not used to a Hampton being so noisy. Breakfast was okay - typical unappetizing eggs, but again, with so many other choices, no one is going to starve! If we were to stay here again, I think i would opt for the king suite, just for the quiet factor. Also the rate was excellent - $77 on a Friday night. If you need to go to Northern VA/DC but dont need to stay right downtown, this would be a good option for the price! Also the italian restaurant right next door is EXCELLENT!!!! Super fast delivery too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights over the weekend and the hotel was fairly quiet. It looks brand new along with its neighbor. The room rate was $89 for a King Room, which is great for a Hampton Inn. The rooms were clean and comfortable. A good breakfast was included and Internet was fast and free. All this would make it a good choice, but what made these guys outstanding was the way they went above and beyond to help us make emergency repairs to our boat. Yep, they found us a space inside so that we could work on a 30 ft long racing shell overnight! Needless to say whenever we race again at the nearby Occoquan Reservoir we will be staying here. Outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed as family to service member brought to Fort Belvoir for treatment. This hotel is, as has been, a notch above your standard chain hotel. Desk staff friendly, very helpful and answered our questions cheerfully. Room double beds, all standard amenities. No problems as mentioned by previous reviews. Breakfast decent, all in all very pleasant stay. Extra mention to Tamara, hotel staff. This hotel supports the Wounded Warriors Project thanks to her, and makes the stay of soldiers families a little less stressful. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a room with two queen beds. The room was clean, just a little bit on the small side - it would probably have been a bit of a tight squeeze for more than two people. Beds and pillows were very comfortable.
Enjoyed the breakfast - regular selection of hot and cold food but all nice and fresh. The Manager and ktchen staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Hotel is in a very convenient location. We were able to drive to DC and back without any problems.
Checked in was swift and painless. Sorry, forgot her name, but lady who checked us in was super friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

There is no hot tub in the pool area and the swimming pool was too cold for us to enjoy. Management of the pool is outsourced to a third party, and the employee present at the pool (lifeguard) stated that although guests have complained about the cold pool for a month, nothing is done. Children shivering with blue lips and pool empty of any guests as a result. Disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of our pool. We will work with the 3rd party in attempts to get this corrected on a permanent basis. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites® Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., Fort Belvoir and historic Old Town Alexandria. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing indoor pool (Pool Hours Monday- Friday 5p-9p, Sat/Sun 11a-9p), 24-hour business center, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.