We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, great rate, awesome staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, great rate, awesome staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights over the weekend and the hotel was fairly quiet. It looks brand new along with its neighbor. The room rate was $89 for a King Room, which is great for a Hampton Inn. The rooms were clean and comfortable. A good breakfast was included and Internet was fast and free. All this would make it a good choice, but what made these guys outstanding was the way they went above and beyond to help us make emergency repairs to our boat. Yep, they found us a space inside so that we could work on a 30 ft long racing shell overnight! Needless to say whenever we race again at the nearby Occoquan Reservoir we will be staying here. Outstanding.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    133
    83
    22
    8
    5
See reviews for
122
42
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Stayed as family to service member brought to Fort Belvoir for treatment. This hotel is, as has been, a notch above your standard chain hotel. Desk staff friendly, very helpful and answered our questions cheerfully. Room double beds, all standard amenities. No problems as mentioned by previous reviews. Breakfast decent, all in all very pleasant stay. Extra mention to Tamara, hotel staff. This hotel supports the Wounded Warriors Project thanks to her, and makes the stay of soldiers families a little less stressful. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a room with two queen beds. The room was clean, just a little bit on the small side - it would probably have been a bit of a tight squeeze for more than two people. Beds and pillows were very comfortable.
Enjoyed the breakfast - regular selection of hot and cold food but all nice and fresh. The Manager and ktchen staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Hotel is in a very convenient location. We were able to drive to DC and back without any problems.
Checked in was swift and painless. Sorry, forgot her name, but lady who checked us in was super friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

There is no hot tub in the pool area and the swimming pool was too cold for us to enjoy. Management of the pool is outsourced to a third party, and the employee present at the pool (lifeguard) stated that although guests have complained about the cold pool for a month, nothing is done. Children shivering with blue lips and pool empty of any guests as a result. Disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of our pool. We will work with the 3rd party in attempts to get this corrected on a permanent basis. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm Hamptonality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Seeking a safe haven from Hurricane Sandy, we stayed at the Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon in Alexandria, VA. As soon as we walked into their lobby, we were warmly greeted by several staff members. Checking in was easy and friendly. We were invited to participate in their pumpkin carving. A hot meal (lasagna, potato salad, sandwiches, Halloween cookies, etc) was provided, as well as, large pumpkins and carving tools. Everyone was having fun. You couldn't tell there was a dangerous storm outside! Our room was large and very clean. We got a good night's sleep and no worries about the storm. In the morning, a warm breakfast with happy hotel guests, reinforced our idea that we made the right selection in seeking refuge during this dangerous storm. Kudos to the hotel staff who made every effort (successfully!) to make us feel safe and happy!!

Room Tip: We requested a suite with a king bed and sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This nice hotel, I'm sorry to say, has bed bugs. My room and bedding looking nice and clean. However, when I woke up at 2:30 am to use the bathroom I noticed about 10 reddish-brown bugs of various sizes in between the sheets and under my pillow. I reported the problem to the manager in the morning when I checked out. We both went into the room so I could show him the bugs and he said they looked like bed bugs and would contact the exterminator. Other than that, the hotel and staff were fine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeRByrd, Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thank you for bringing this issue to our attention so we could take immediate action to resolve the problem. You have our sincerest apologies for any inconveniences incurred. Steritech, our licensed exterminator, resolved the problem you encountered shortly after it was reported.

Once you notified us of the issue we immediately closed your room and the rooms on either side, below, and above your room. Steritech then inspected the aforementioned rooms and found evidence of pests in only the one room; the one in which you stayed. Next, the exterminator treated the room with a chemical agent. After that, all the furnishings in the room were heated to nearly 130 degrees for several hours to ensure a 100% mortality rate.

Unfortunately, these pests occasionally hitchhike in the luggage of domestic or international travelers and find their way into even the nicest hotels. Once again; you have our sincerest apologies. On your next visit to the area; please, consider staying with us again so we may show you how much you mean to us. Complete guest satisfaction is our highest priority.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paw Paw, West Virginia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed there for a wedding, as did my daughter and her SO. The rooms were average. We had a small plumbing problem, but my daughter's failed completely. There were indicators that the room cleaning between guests was not a thorough as it could be. Several of us had problems reserving rooms at the block rate as the sales staff had not well communicated with the front desk. The breakfast scrambled eggs were the worst I have ever had. Was it all bad? No, the hotel is serviceable, but management needs to start paying attention.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HISMTVERNON, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with a better quality of service. This is not typical of our usual Hamptonality and welcoming staff, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we are all about Satisfaction Guaranteed and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a great stay. We want you to know that we have addressed both our housekeeping and maintenance teams in regards to your stay. We have also looked into the reason you had difficulty making your room reservations and found that it was an online booking and the rooms were set to be made by the original contact via a rooming list. Once we were notified of the situation our sales team took over the booking and made sure that the reservation were secured at the property level. We sincerely apologize again and we hope you will come back and stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Tracey Thompson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites® Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., Fort Belvoir and historic Old Town Alexandria. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing indoor pool (Pool Hours Monday- Friday 5p-9p, Sat/Sun 11a-9p), 24-hour business center, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.