We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Contemporary Atmosphere with Old Fashion Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #10 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
GreatLakes
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Contemporary Atmosphere with Old Fashion Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Decent hotel with moderate rates in an expensive Washington DC suburb. Clean and new.

Pros: Quiet rooms. During our four night stay, we meet and interacted with many staff members and they were all first-class. Very good continental breakfast with lots of choices compared to other "free" hotel breakfasts. No reason for anyone to walk away hungry. Convenient parking area. Very close to Mount Vernon. Complimentary shuttle service to Metro stations during business hours.

Cons: Rooms on small side and crowded with furniture expecially when luggage was added. Beds hard. All white down comforters lumpy & heavy. Indoor pool was cold.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    104
    28
    10
    5
See reviews for
148
57
8
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Our shower head malfunctioned to the extent that only a trickle was coming out. After reporting the problem, they gave us a new one, which had been replaced while we were touring.

It was Easter weekend and we had our 2 year old grandson with us and the staff made sure he had a couple plastic eggs at breakfast. When they saw him later that day, they remembered his name, which was impressive.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Stayed with our family of 5 for 6 nights to tour D.C. area. I will start by saying we are reward members and came from another Hampton in Gettysburg that was fine. Came to check in at 6:45 p.m. on Sunday and greeted with a rude "I'll see if your room is ready." No hello or greeting. I asked what time check in was as I was surprised our room wouldn't be ready at almost 7 in the evening and was told "3:00" in a tone that was annoyed I asked. Room had just been completed. Asked for info on DC and surrounding area. "What do you mean D.C.?" was the response I got. Got to our room and while all was clean we noticed 2 towels. Went down to ask for more as we had a family of 5 and was told in a rude tone again. "We're out of towels. We were sold out last night. Won't have more til tomorrow." Again evening staff was annoyed at question. When we went to put our kids to bed had 4 pillows for 5 people. Went down to desk "we're out of pillows." Out of pillows, at a hotel? I will say the morning staff at the desk and breakfast area were very friendly (although tried to buy stamps....yep, out of stamps but at least they were polite.) Each day we came back to room it was 1/2 clean. One bed not made one day, had to ask for more toilet paper after returning one day from touring even though roll was left empty so told us no one had even checked what we were in need of or cleaned the bathroom all week. No wash clothes left. Had to go ask for those as well and given 2 for family of 5. 3 of 5 nights at the pool-out of towels. Be prepared for noise factor of rooms above, stomping easily heard. Pool hours are only 5pm-9pm each day. No morning hours. I understand why it would be closed during afternoon as this seems to be the case in surrounding areas. Bathroom by the pool "out of service" so trekked kids back to the room (with no towel as they were continuously out by the pool.) As a Hampton fan, not our best experience for service. Unfortunate since we were here 6 nights. I did tell a morning staff person about this and she was very kind and apologized but nothing improved. When I checked in I reminded the person checking me in that it should show we are Hilton rewards. 1/2 way thru the week double checked at the front desk this was done at check in-no. Many small things but all added up to a lot of annoyance. Continually made to feel like we were putting the evening/night staff and cleaning people out by staying here. Plus side-breakfast was great as usual for a Hampton and staff in that area were very attentive and friendly. We probably could have stayed a lot closer and not spent much more than we paid here and gotten more for our money. I'm rating cleanliness as poor based on how our room was left each day but overall grounds was average.

Room Tip: 4th floor so you don't hear the stomping above you. Floors must be thin here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

The staff is the best. We stayed here for 5 nights visiting DC. Rooms are very clean. Stay here you won't be sorry. Close to all the tourist areas. Free shuttle service.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
194 reviews 194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

As a Hilton Honors Silver, I have stayed in many Hilton family properties and Hampton is one of my favorites. This particular property is about 15 miles from Washington, DC. It is located on Richmond Hwy or Rte 1 South. It is not located near a Metro but it is close to Mt Vernon, and a great stepping or stopping off point for travelers traversing this corridor.

This is a larger sprawling property with four floors. It was a hike to my room from the outside as there are only two smaller entrances other than the front door. The rooms are very clean and my basic room was spacious enough. It was half the price of similar properties in the DC area so it is a huge plus. Also, there is free parking and wi-fi which you can't get in the metro DC area.

The gym is one of the largest I have seen at a Hampton. The pool is decent sized too. There is always a nice hot breakfast. While not as. Nice as a four-star property, it is more than just three stars. Fantastic value. I would stay there again. There are restaurants in driving distance as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

just wanted the staff to know what a great place you have. we stayed for four nights and couldn't have been treated better anywhere else. the breakfast was different every morning and I enjoyed talking to the general manager at breakfast. he went out of his way to make sure you were being taken care of. would recommend this hotel anytime. we were there the week after christmas from florida and it was convenient to everything. will definently go back again. thanks again to the staff....

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen County, NJ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

A great place to stay…clean and friendly. We only stayed one night to rest up before we embarked on our auto train trip the next day. For the price, it was a great deal. The lady at the desk was all alone and handling multitudes of unexpected check-ins but was composed, efficient and had a great sense of humor. Breakfast was nice for the kids right before we had to leave for our 2nd leg of our vacation travel. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites® Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., Fort Belvoir and historic Old Town Alexandria. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing indoor pool (Pool Hours Monday- Friday 5p-9p, Sat/Sun 11a-9p), 24-hour business center, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.