We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Heidelberg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

The rooms were extremely clean. We stayed in a suite that was spacious and had a nice layout for a family. What I love about Hampton Inn is that they launder the duvet covers after every guest and our sheets were crisp and smelled freshly laundered. (I have stayed at hotels with higher ratings only to turn back the duvet to find stains, so I am a little scarred...lol). Parking is plentiful and the lot is well lit at night. The staff is AMAZING. They were so eager to help whenever needed. The hotel does offer a FREE shuttle to Mt. Vernon, Ft. Belvoir, and the metro stations. I used the service a few times and have zero complaints. The driver was always punctual and gave great suggestions about visiting the area attractions. I will definitely be staying here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    90
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
134
43
8
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Brand New Hotel, with plenty of space to park. The rooms are nice, with a refrigerator and microwave. Flat screen LCD TV, comfortable bed, and a very large restroom. The breakfast was alright with plenty of options to chose from. The house keeping lady showed up at my door at 8 am.

The only reason I'm giving this a 4 is because we stayed here because we were touring DC, and this is not the ideal location if you are touring the DC area, it is a very long ride down route 1 south with plenty of traffic lights in between!

If you are coming here to tour DC stay somewhere closer!

It is very close to Mount Vernon Though.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We live about 4 hours from Mt. Vernon, so we could travel in the morning and still visit Mt Vernon in the afternoon. This Hampton was quite close to Mt. Vernon. We were also close enough to Old Alexandria to be able to spend the evening there. Between this Hampton and old Alexandria were numerous places to eat and shop. We were also close enough to be able to park at the subway station and take the subway into Washingotn DC the next day. The young lady in charge of the breakfast area was quite nice and very accomodating. She even went in the back to get me a different banana when she noticed those she was putting out were spotted. The breakfast was quite adequate and good. We appreciated having the mini frig in the room as we were able to have cold drinks and snacks during our trip as well as on our return trip home. The hotel is only several years old so things were in good shape. I did not like the ill- fitting toilet seat; it was too small for the circumference of the toilet bowl and slid from side to side! We also had an issue with the housekeeping staff near check out time. As we packed our car, we kept the Do Not Distrurb sign on the door. Our son remained behind in the room as he finished getting ready to leave. Even before the appointed check out time of 11:00, a housekeeper barged into the room without even so much as a knock. She totally startled my son who was luckily dressed by then. It was only 10:45, we had asked for an extended check out time which was until noon, and we had the Do Not Distrub sign on the door so this was a bit upsetting to us. We did quietly report this incident to the front desk. Otherwise, we had a pleasant stay at this Hampton location. I would recommend it as long as you have a vehicle with which to get around the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

i stayed at the Hampton Inn Fort Belvoir area in August for 2 nights. The staff at check in were sufficient and friendly. Exceptional easy check in was provided. The rooms were large with simple decor as well as the bathroom. The room consisted of a microwave and fridge which was convenient. The hotel has a laundry room, indoor pool and fitness center. The business center located in the lobby as well as a lounge. Free parking also. The hotel is truly home away from home and would recommend. I will definatly return.

Room Tip: any room is a great room. there's not much of a view except of Richmond highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Very nice hotel and friendly staff. great location very convinient. Would return.

Room Tip: found out that there's fitness room, laundry, and inside pool on 2nd floor so i guess its the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We got very lost on our way to the hotel. We rang and the gentleman at reception was really helpful. When we arrived, he also helped us order a pizza delivery directly to our room. The next day they helped us find Mount Vernon.

The room was big and the beds were comfortable; the complementary breakfast was good quality.

Old Town Alexandria was easily accessible from the hotel and was a great final location for our wonderful holiday around Washington.

For all the good things we can say about the hotel - and there are many - it is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that really made the difference with this hotel. They were all great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This hotel is new and in good shape. Just a few issues I had included the loud air conditioner unit which woke me up almost every time it cycled on. Also the exhaust in the bathroom did not work so had a steamed up mirror for awhile. Another issue is the pool hours. During the week the pool is only open from 5-9 pm. On the weekends the hours are better, 11am-9pm. I guess they can't get a lifeguard to work during the week. Fairfax County requires lifeguards at all public pools. Other than these issues, the breakfast was good and the staff were helpful. There are no restaurants within walking distance but not far by car. There is a 7-11 around the corner from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Address: 8843 Richmond Highway, Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area, Alexandria, VA 22309
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#17 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn & Suites® Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Area hotel is just minutes from downtown Washington, D.C., Fort Belvoir and historic Old Town Alexandria. Enjoy spacious rooms and suites with complimentary internet, flat screen TV, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and more. Additional hotel amenities include complimentary parking, complimentary hot breakfast, state of the art fitness center, refreshing indoor pool (Pool Hours Monday- Friday 5p-9p, Sat/Sun 11a-9p), 24-hour business center, and meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South Hotel Alexandria
Hampton Inn And Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.