We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at SpringHill suites Alexandria Virginia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at SpringHill suites Alexandria Virginia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Just came back after a 3 nite stay @ SpringHill by Marriott @ Alexandria VA. Overall I would recommend this hotel to family with young children like myself.

Clean modern décor, ample suite with most amenities, free parking / wifi / breakfast, short driving distance from Old Town and DC , reasonable prices....although pool is small and cramped.

Since I travel with young children, complimentary breakfast is important ( little tummies need to fill up before touring around! )

Special kudo 4 "Sara" and the team manning the breakfast corner! I own retail business and would hire her in a heart beat!

Room Tip: rooms away from elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a thrill knowing that you and your family enjoyed your visit with us . We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Our entire staff is committed to providing each guest with the service and comfort they deserve to create memorable experiences each stay. Please visit with us again soon to enjoy more of the staff, our convenient location, and complimentary amenities we have to offer. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    98
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
144
45
8
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The staff here is outstanding -- helpful in every way (front-desk staff, lifeguard, metro shuttle drivers). Breakfast was great. The hotel is clean and new-looking. We used the Metro shuttle every day and had excellent experiences with it. The pool is a bit small so in June, it was crowded with kids and families. The hotel is close to the metro, Old Town Alexandria, as well as Wal-Mart and some fast food. We would absolutely stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are always delighted to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and all of your kind words in relation to our staff, modern decor, and amenities are all greatly appreciated. Please visit with us again soon. We look forward to seeing you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were staying in Springhill for our trip to Washington. We don't want to be in city, hence we took this hotel since its close to metro. Very good choice. Clean rooms, well stacked breakfast, friendly staff, shuttle to nearby places, and eisenhower metro. Enjoyed the stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

It pleases us to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your compliments in relation to our staff, modern decor suites, and amenities. Our entire staff is eager to create memorable experiences for each of our guests and we hope that we will have another opportunity to do the same for you once more in the near future. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shimla, India
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights as a part of a group. The hotel is located away from habitation and any kind of township is around 10 miles from here. There is a Papa John Pizza that delivers to the room in around an hours time. Other than this one is pretty hard pressed for any thing else.
The rooms are small and would have been much better if the suites are done away with and the rooms are converted into double rooms. As it is the sofa cramped up into the living space was very uncomfortable and a negative space was created by partitioning the room into bedroom and living room.
The hotel has practically zero service. There was no one to give directions to the room, the microwave in the room was practically useless. Any request to the front desk was met with a denial. The hotel has around 150 suites and barely 10 tables for breakfast. The breakfast too was uninspiring and cold. The taxi arranged by the hotel to take us to the Dulles airport charged a heavy premium. Overall a very unsatisfying stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. The comments and/or concerns of each guest are important to us and will be utilized to make any improvements necessary. Please excuse us as we are in the process of enhancement in all the appropriate areas. We thank you for staying with us and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I am a little freaked out with hotels in general, what with sleeping on pillows and sheets that have had heaven knows what happen on them-- people tend to treat hotels like rental cars-- very poorly. All that to say I was pleasantly surprised by the Springhill.

When I checked in the front desk was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean, except for the glass partion which had smudged, greasy finger prints on it from the last guests. Laundry is free which is great for a family staying 6 days.

Breakfast was good every day and had a good selection of protein, not just frozen bread products. They did shut down early on the 4th and when I told someone she said, Oh I don't know I don't work breakfast. But as that was a small hitch it is forgivable.

Some of the other reviews refer to noise, but it has to be kept in mind that it is a set up for a family hotel. The problem is really with poor parenting not poor hotel management.

The metro stop is conveniently located and we drove to it every day to avoid waiting for the shuttle, it cost $4.85 to park daily- a bargain in my opinion. People who complain that nothing is in walking distance need to understand that the locals walk a lot more than most of us do, a DC block was twice as long as a TX suburb block. We averaged 10miles a day walking while in DC.

OVERALL if you are looking for a good family - style hotel this one worked VERY WELL for our family of 5 (2 adults, teenager, 2 kids).

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are always delighted to hear our guests enjoyed their stay and we appreciate your feedback. With our modern decor and variety of amenities such as our complimentary breakfast, wifi, and laundry facility, it is easy to find Spring Hill Suites the perfect hotel for family vacations and extended stays. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay and we hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Nancy, the front desk person was extremely helpful, super friendly and very professional in helping me on my family's trip. She made it sooooo much easier for our family to have fun. I wish that there were other people at other hotels that were just half as great as she was and I would love to stay at Springhill Suites all the time. You need to hire more people like her !!!!! She was definitely the star of the show !

Room Tip: Go for the 2 queen and pull out couch room as they have a lot of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're delighted to hear that our staff was able to assist your family and how much you enjoyed your stay. Although we receive positive responses from our guests frequently, we never grow tired of hearing from you. The entire staff here at Spring Hill Suites understands the importance of meeting the needs of each guest and is always eager to do so. Please visit with us again soon so that you may experience more of what our hotel has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We like staying at Springhill Suites when we travel. This one is located only a mile from the DC metro which was a great way start touring in the city. It is also close to Alexandria which has a great atmosphere. The staff here were also very friendly and helpful from what we experienced. We even lost a phone after checkout and the staff found it and held it for us to return several hours later to get it. Would stay here again if in DC area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our entire staff makes the satisfaction of each guest a priority and we are thrilled to be given the opportunity to assist you. We are constantly looking for new and improved ways to provide our guest with quality service and anxiously await the next opportunity to assist you in anyway we can. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Alexandria, VA hotel's guestroom suites are furnished with a light, contemporary touch, maximizing comfort and style. Take our complimentary shuttle to Huntington Metro, just one mile away, and explore Washington, DC's monuments, museums and top attractions. At our all-suite Alexandria hotel, guests enjoy many modern amenities, including free hot breakfast, shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.