We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location. Good staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We like staying at Springhill Suites when we travel. This one is located only a mile from the DC metro which was a great way start touring in the city. It is also close to Alexandria which has a great atmosphere. The staff here were also very friendly and helpful from what we experienced. We even lost a phone after checkout and the staff found it and held it for us to return several hours later to get it. Would stay here again if in DC area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our entire staff makes the satisfaction of each guest a priority and we are thrilled to be given the opportunity to assist you. We are constantly looking for new and improved ways to provide our guest with quality service and anxiously await the next opportunity to assist you in anyway we can. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    93
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
140
37
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Springhill Suites in Alexandria for one night. After being duped by Priceline for a "guaranteed" 3 star hotel in Charleston, SC, we were very apprehensive about this hotel. Fortunately, we were relieved by the many niceties the hotel has to offer. The room was spacious; a wet bar, fridge, couch, and desk were all comfortably arranged. Plenty of outlets and area specific lighting (desk, wet bar, over head each bed, reading lights for bed, etc). The vaulted ceilings gave the room a luxurious feel to it. Breakfast was included (always a plus) and we had no complaints. Only a 20-25 minute drive to D.C. in traffic! Everything a three star hotel should have; we would definitely return.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests were comfortable during their stay and are happy to return. our convenient location and complimentary amenities make Spring Hill Suites the perfect hotel for a family stay. We hope that you and your family will visit us again soon to enjoy more of what we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA USA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Here for a family event. The room was comfortable and the location is convenient. The free breakfast was just OK - and very crowded. Parking was free - a plus. And weekend rates (with lobbyists, bureaucrats and politicians vacating DC) are very attractive.

Room Tip: The rooms have a strange layout. The loo is in a separate compartment from the shower and main sink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Spring Hill Suites. We are delighted to know that you were comfortable during your stay and took advantage of some of the complimentary amenities we have to offer. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were so impressed with our stay at this property at the start of our trip that we booked another night for our trip home! The room was laid out well. It was clean and the beds were comfy. The breakfast was standard Marriott fare for this level of hotel. The breakfast attendant was on top of refilling things. The pool area was well maintained and had a lifeguard. The additional benefits were that the room had an individual thermostat and there was a free guest laundry on the first floor. The property seemed quite new and had some very modern decorating. It was quite close to a metro stop, thought we didn't have an opportunity to try their shuttle as we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thrilled to hear that you're already planning to return. Our modern decor, amenities, and staff make it difficult to resist! The staff here at Spring Hill Suites is always pleased to know that we've made an impact on every guests stay and are constantly seeking new and innovative ways to create memorable experiences for everyone. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boscawen, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We checked in and Nancy at the front desk was very nice. Our room was clean but please note that there is NO STORAGE!!! There are no drawers or place to unpack your suitcase. We were a family of 4 and it was very, very cramped with no place to put any of our clothing or suitcases. There is no room safe either. I requested extra towels and pillows on my reservations. Not only did I not get extras, I only had enough supplies for 2 people. We booked this hotel because they have a hot tub and pool and a business center. We went down to use the hot tub while the kids played in the pool. The hot tub was out of order. This was a Weds and we were told it wouldn't be fixed until Saturday. I asked for dining ideas in the area and Nancy recommended going back into town and dining at one of the exclusive restaurants in Old Town. Those restaurants were way out of our budget with dinners starting at $50 per person. When we asked about other options she could only recommend Applebee's. We had no idea where to go locally to eat. They did have plenty of menus for delivery but we wanted to be out and about in the area since we were there for 6 nights.

We were also told that the Metro and Applebee's were within walking distance and trust me they were not. It would have required walking on the main roads without sidewalks. They do have a shuttle which runs upon request which was nice. However, on Memorial Day Weekend when there was lots of things happening in DC where they had extended hours at all the Smithsonians, concerts, parades, etc. and they shut the shuttle down at 8 pm and didn't offer extended service. There are cabs available at the Metro station but cost varies depending on which company you get.

When we asked for a list of events happening in D.C. we were told that the hotel doesn't provide that information. We were told that all their other hotels in D.C. had that information and if I wanted to know what was going on to look it up on a computer. I asked where the business center was located and if I could use their computer to look it up. I was then informed that the business center was closed indefinitely because both of their computers were contaminated by viruses and out for repairs. At no time did she offer to call or get me any information on events in D.C. It also appeared that the front desk staff had little knowledge of what was available in the area. I will repeat that the front desk staff was super nice and friendly, just not knowledgeable.

Every day, our room was set up for 2 people and we had to keep going down to the front desk for towels. The sink area was very, very dark as well. Housekeeping also never replaced our glasses or ice bucket bags. They took our dirty sheets for the sofa bed but never replaced them. The blow dryer didn't work and neither did the iron in the room. We got to know the whole front desk staff very well because we spent every day going back and forth to get towels, bedding, new iron, new blow dryer, glasses, bags, etc.

By Friday, we were pretty aggravated with housekeeping and the lack of information we were able to get from the front desk. The Manager Rick, came up to our room and was very sympathetic to our experience. He noticed that the reason the sink area was so dark was because the light behind the mirror was out. He did replace it himself. He also acknowledged that the hot tub was out of order but said that we could go next door to another hotel for the hot tub there. There is no pool at that hotel. We had two young children with us so that wasn't an option. He did acknowledge that business center was closed. He also stated we should have received a list of local restaurants upon check in and that the front desk should have gotten information for us on D.C. activities. He provided us with a list of restaurants but we never got a list of activities in the area or in D.C. After speaking with Rick we did get full sets of towels for 4 people the rest of the trip.

In all, it was all the little things that ruined it for us. If it wasn't for the clean room and friendly front desk staff, we would have looked elsewhere and checked out. The amenities we should have had, we did not have. During our entire stay, the hot tub was never repaired and the business center was never re-opened. If you are looking for a comfortable room for an extended stay for a family with children, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the elevators. Walls are thin and you can hear the elevator all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments in relation to our modern decor and staff. Comments from our guests are not only important to us, they also aid us in making necessary improvements to ensure every guest is comfortable throughout their stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay as we are currently in the process of enhancement in all of these areas. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very clean Pretty. Beds comfortable. Jennepher was awesome at the desk; very helpful and nice. The shuttle service to Metro was very convenient and all drivers were wonderful. Especially Shando. Food was good. Wished waffle maker would have been present.
Disappointed hot tub was out of service entire stay. All in all great stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper as I am, ask to Not be near elevator. You will hear every ding and peopl...
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciate it but was glad to get fresh towels daily as to too many of us to find towel hanging space.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It pleases us to know that you enjoyed our modern decor and were able to utilize a few of our amenities. The staff here at Spring Hill Suites is constantly striving to make each stay a memorable experience. We want to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced in regards to the hot tub. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, CT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very friendly staff, lovely relaxing décor in tones of pale green, turquoise and peach. The suite was large and comfortable, as was the bed. There was even a magnifying mirror in the vanity area. We couldn't';t have been more pleased with our stay. the only downside was the lack of restaurants in the area - all fast food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It always pleases us to know that we were able to provide a memorable experience for our guests throughout their stay. Thank you for all your kind compliments in relation to our modern decor suites. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.