We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we've already booked a return stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis
Level Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So good we've already booked a return stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We were so impressed with our stay at this property at the start of our trip that we booked another night for our trip home! The room was laid out well. It was clean and the beds were comfy. The breakfast was standard Marriott fare for this level of hotel. The breakfast attendant was on top of refilling things. The pool area was well maintained and had a lifeguard. The additional benefits were that the room had an individual thermostat and there was a free guest laundry on the first floor. The property seemed quite new and had some very modern decorating. It was quite close to a metro stop, thought we didn't have an opportunity to try their shuttle as we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thrilled to hear that you're already planning to return. Our modern decor, amenities, and staff make it difficult to resist! The staff here at Spring Hill Suites is always pleased to know that we've made an impact on every guests stay and are constantly seeking new and innovative ways to create memorable experiences for everyone. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    103
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
152
47
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boscawen, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We checked in and Nancy at the front desk was very nice. Our room was clean but please note that there is NO STORAGE!!! There are no drawers or place to unpack your suitcase. We were a family of 4 and it was very, very cramped with no place to put any of our clothing or suitcases. There is no room safe either. I requested extra towels and pillows on my reservations. Not only did I not get extras, I only had enough supplies for 2 people. We booked this hotel because they have a hot tub and pool and a business center. We went down to use the hot tub while the kids played in the pool. The hot tub was out of order. This was a Weds and we were told it wouldn't be fixed until Saturday. I asked for dining ideas in the area and Nancy recommended going back into town and dining at one of the exclusive restaurants in Old Town. Those restaurants were way out of our budget with dinners starting at $50 per person. When we asked about other options she could only recommend Applebee's. We had no idea where to go locally to eat. They did have plenty of menus for delivery but we wanted to be out and about in the area since we were there for 6 nights.

We were also told that the Metro and Applebee's were within walking distance and trust me they were not. It would have required walking on the main roads without sidewalks. They do have a shuttle which runs upon request which was nice. However, on Memorial Day Weekend when there was lots of things happening in DC where they had extended hours at all the Smithsonians, concerts, parades, etc. and they shut the shuttle down at 8 pm and didn't offer extended service. There are cabs available at the Metro station but cost varies depending on which company you get.

When we asked for a list of events happening in D.C. we were told that the hotel doesn't provide that information. We were told that all their other hotels in D.C. had that information and if I wanted to know what was going on to look it up on a computer. I asked where the business center was located and if I could use their computer to look it up. I was then informed that the business center was closed indefinitely because both of their computers were contaminated by viruses and out for repairs. At no time did she offer to call or get me any information on events in D.C. It also appeared that the front desk staff had little knowledge of what was available in the area. I will repeat that the front desk staff was super nice and friendly, just not knowledgeable.

Every day, our room was set up for 2 people and we had to keep going down to the front desk for towels. The sink area was very, very dark as well. Housekeeping also never replaced our glasses or ice bucket bags. They took our dirty sheets for the sofa bed but never replaced them. The blow dryer didn't work and neither did the iron in the room. We got to know the whole front desk staff very well because we spent every day going back and forth to get towels, bedding, new iron, new blow dryer, glasses, bags, etc.

By Friday, we were pretty aggravated with housekeeping and the lack of information we were able to get from the front desk. The Manager Rick, came up to our room and was very sympathetic to our experience. He noticed that the reason the sink area was so dark was because the light behind the mirror was out. He did replace it himself. He also acknowledged that the hot tub was out of order but said that we could go next door to another hotel for the hot tub there. There is no pool at that hotel. We had two young children with us so that wasn't an option. He did acknowledge that business center was closed. He also stated we should have received a list of local restaurants upon check in and that the front desk should have gotten information for us on D.C. activities. He provided us with a list of restaurants but we never got a list of activities in the area or in D.C. After speaking with Rick we did get full sets of towels for 4 people the rest of the trip.

In all, it was all the little things that ruined it for us. If it wasn't for the clean room and friendly front desk staff, we would have looked elsewhere and checked out. The amenities we should have had, we did not have. During our entire stay, the hot tub was never repaired and the business center was never re-opened. If you are looking for a comfortable room for an extended stay for a family with children, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room AWAY from the elevators. Walls are thin and you can hear the elevator all night long
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments in relation to our modern decor and staff. Comments from our guests are not only important to us, they also aid us in making necessary improvements to ensure every guest is comfortable throughout their stay. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay as we are currently in the process of enhancement in all of these areas. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very clean Pretty. Beds comfortable. Jennepher was awesome at the desk; very helpful and nice. The shuttle service to Metro was very convenient and all drivers were wonderful. Especially Shando. Food was good. Wished waffle maker would have been present.
Disappointed hot tub was out of service entire stay. All in all great stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper as I am, ask to Not be near elevator. You will hear every ding and peopl...
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciate it but was glad to get fresh towels daily as to too many of us to find towel hanging space.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It pleases us to know that you enjoyed our modern decor and were able to utilize a few of our amenities. The staff here at Spring Hill Suites is constantly striving to make each stay a memorable experience. We want to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced in regards to the hot tub. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milford, CT
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very friendly staff, lovely relaxing décor in tones of pale green, turquoise and peach. The suite was large and comfortable, as was the bed. There was even a magnifying mirror in the vanity area. We couldn't';t have been more pleased with our stay. the only downside was the lack of restaurants in the area - all fast food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It always pleases us to know that we were able to provide a memorable experience for our guests throughout their stay. Thank you for all your kind compliments in relation to our modern decor suites. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Amazing place!!!..So very clean with awesome breakfast and good Internet connection..
It very near to DC,
I bet you will love the interiors of this hotel..
one of my fav stay ever...Hope to visit again if i come across VA..
Keep it up guys..And keep the existing cleanliness and hygienic atmosphere.!!
Cheers!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the amenities Spring Hill Suites has to offer. Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had the most incredible hotel experience ever here. The staff was amazing and helpful in every way. Not only were they kind, but incredibly sincere. In fact, I've never written a review for any establishment before until now. I'm not writing this review because I feel like it, but because it would be wrong to not share the amazing service and experience this hotel provided for me and my family. The desk clerk Jennepher was so so so nice. She always welcomed us back with such kindness and treated us like friends. I think she was the main reason our time spent at this hotel was so pleasant. Best. Employee. Of all. Time. I couldn't even believe it. I'd stay here again in a heart beat. I am so great full.

Room Tip: This place is lovely no matter what room you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We genuinely appreciate all of your kind words regarding your stay as well as your experience with our staff. Spring Hill Suites takes pride in the comfort and satisfaction of all guests and welcome the opportunity to make any improvements necessary. Receiving positive feedback is always an absolute delight. We thank you and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My family and I stayed here for a week for a mix of business trip and vacation. Ask for the 4th floor to avoid the tour/high school bus groups. Here is our summary:
Suite: The suite is very comfortable for 4 people, complete with a mini kitchenette (bring your own dish soap) and a dish towel is provided. We ate a couple of our dinners in our suite and it was very comfortable. We liked the swivel TV, so that the children could sleep, and we could watch a program in the sitting area.
Housekeeping: The room was always well presented and well cleaned each day. Every other day we did have to request an additional towel (only 3 sets were provided). A couple of days we also had to request plates and/or coffee sachets. In my opinion, more housekeepers are needed for this hotel, to flip the rooms, due to the large groups we encountered during our stay.
Pool: We were disappointed with the pool. The hours were only from 5 - 10 p.m. and it is barely 5' deep. There is a lifeguard on duty, but he spent more time watching his smartphone than watching the people in the pool. If you plan to use the hot tub, ask the lifeguard to turn the temperature up and then wait 15 minutes for the water to be hot.
Fitness Area: Good range of free weights and machines.
Front Desk: Kudos to training the front reception. Everyone was polite, friendly, knew the area, gave great directions for the nature walk to the Metro. Special thank you to Jennifer who helped our family several times during our stay.
Breakfast: Good quality - hot and cold cereal, hot eggs, turkey sausage, bagels, sweet breads, muffins, oranges, bananas, several flavors of yogurt, walnuts, slivered almonds, cranberries, juice, milk, and of course, medium and dark roasted coffee or tea. Thank you for serving breakfast to the bus groups in your meeting rooms, rather than in the main breakfast area!
Shuttle bus: The shuttle bus is shared with the Holiday Inn Express next door and only takes Springhill Suite guests to the Metro (not to Old Town Alexandria). Fred, the driver was very friendly and very accommodating.
Other Guests: This can be a noisy hotel from Friday - Sunday due to bus/student groups, so if you are a light sleeper, bring your earplugs. We were on the front side and the traffic did not bother us, but again, if you aren't used to the sound of traffic, bring earplugs.
Advice to Management: Add more housekeeping staff.
Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor (away from any large groups)
See more room tips
Green Features: SpringHill Suites has a card to place on the bed if you want the sheets changed.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope that you enjoyed the time you spent visiting our area. Pleased to know that you are fond of our suites, breakfast, and houskeeping since we consistantly working towards making each guest comfortable during their stay.We want to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced as we are in the process of enhancement. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Alexandria, VA hotel's guestroom suites are furnished with a light, contemporary touch, maximizing comfort and style. Take our complimentary shuttle to Huntington Metro, just one mile away, and explore Washington, DC's monuments, museums and top attractions. At our all-suite Alexandria hotel, guests enjoy many modern amenities, including free hot breakfast, shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.