We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Taunton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Excellent Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Very clean Pretty. Beds comfortable. Jennepher was awesome at the desk; very helpful and nice. The shuttle service to Metro was very convenient and all drivers were wonderful. Especially Shando. Food was good. Wished waffle maker would have been present.
Disappointed hot tub was out of service entire stay. All in all great stay.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper as I am, ask to Not be near elevator. You will hear every ding and peopl...
See more room tips
Green Features: Appreciate it but was glad to get fresh towels daily as to too many of us to find towel hanging space.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It pleases us to know that you enjoyed our modern decor and were able to utilize a few of our amenities. The staff here at Spring Hill Suites is constantly striving to make each stay a memorable experience. We want to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced in regards to the hot tub. Thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    93
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
140
37
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milford, CT
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Very friendly staff, lovely relaxing décor in tones of pale green, turquoise and peach. The suite was large and comfortable, as was the bed. There was even a magnifying mirror in the vanity area. We couldn't';t have been more pleased with our stay. the only downside was the lack of restaurants in the area - all fast food.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

It always pleases us to know that we were able to provide a memorable experience for our guests throughout their stay. Thank you for all your kind compliments in relation to our modern decor suites. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Amazing place!!!..So very clean with awesome breakfast and good Internet connection..
It very near to DC,
I bet you will love the interiors of this hotel..
one of my fav stay ever...Hope to visit again if i come across VA..
Keep it up guys..And keep the existing cleanliness and hygienic atmosphere.!!
Cheers!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay as well as the amenities Spring Hill Suites has to offer. Thank you for your feedback. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I had the most incredible hotel experience ever here. The staff was amazing and helpful in every way. Not only were they kind, but incredibly sincere. In fact, I've never written a review for any establishment before until now. I'm not writing this review because I feel like it, but because it would be wrong to not share the amazing service and experience this hotel provided for me and my family. The desk clerk Jennepher was so so so nice. She always welcomed us back with such kindness and treated us like friends. I think she was the main reason our time spent at this hotel was so pleasant. Best. Employee. Of all. Time. I couldn't even believe it. I'd stay here again in a heart beat. I am so great full.

Room Tip: This place is lovely no matter what room you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the positive feedback. We genuinely appreciate all of your kind words regarding your stay as well as your experience with our staff. Spring Hill Suites takes pride in the comfort and satisfaction of all guests and welcome the opportunity to make any improvements necessary. Receiving positive feedback is always an absolute delight. We thank you and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My family and I stayed here for a week for a mix of business trip and vacation. Ask for the 4th floor to avoid the tour/high school bus groups. Here is our summary:
Suite: The suite is very comfortable for 4 people, complete with a mini kitchenette (bring your own dish soap) and a dish towel is provided. We ate a couple of our dinners in our suite and it was very comfortable. We liked the swivel TV, so that the children could sleep, and we could watch a program in the sitting area.
Housekeeping: The room was always well presented and well cleaned each day. Every other day we did have to request an additional towel (only 3 sets were provided). A couple of days we also had to request plates and/or coffee sachets. In my opinion, more housekeepers are needed for this hotel, to flip the rooms, due to the large groups we encountered during our stay.
Pool: We were disappointed with the pool. The hours were only from 5 - 10 p.m. and it is barely 5' deep. There is a lifeguard on duty, but he spent more time watching his smartphone than watching the people in the pool. If you plan to use the hot tub, ask the lifeguard to turn the temperature up and then wait 15 minutes for the water to be hot.
Fitness Area: Good range of free weights and machines.
Front Desk: Kudos to training the front reception. Everyone was polite, friendly, knew the area, gave great directions for the nature walk to the Metro. Special thank you to Jennifer who helped our family several times during our stay.
Breakfast: Good quality - hot and cold cereal, hot eggs, turkey sausage, bagels, sweet breads, muffins, oranges, bananas, several flavors of yogurt, walnuts, slivered almonds, cranberries, juice, milk, and of course, medium and dark roasted coffee or tea. Thank you for serving breakfast to the bus groups in your meeting rooms, rather than in the main breakfast area!
Shuttle bus: The shuttle bus is shared with the Holiday Inn Express next door and only takes Springhill Suite guests to the Metro (not to Old Town Alexandria). Fred, the driver was very friendly and very accommodating.
Other Guests: This can be a noisy hotel from Friday - Sunday due to bus/student groups, so if you are a light sleeper, bring your earplugs. We were on the front side and the traffic did not bother us, but again, if you aren't used to the sound of traffic, bring earplugs.
Advice to Management: Add more housekeeping staff.
Overall, we really enjoyed this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for the 4th floor (away from any large groups)
See more room tips
Green Features: SpringHill Suites has a card to place on the bed if you want the sheets changed.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We hope that you enjoyed the time you spent visiting our area. Pleased to know that you are fond of our suites, breakfast, and houskeeping since we consistantly working towards making each guest comfortable during their stay.We want to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced as we are in the process of enhancement. Looking forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We booked a room here in Priceline for a 4 night visit to the DC area. This is a clean and friendly establishment and I cant say enough about how comfortable and clean the room was, breakfast was good quality and well stocked and friendly Staff. The shuttle to the Metro was flawless and a necessary perk since there is NOTHING near this location to walk to within a mile.
We learned a valuable lesson on timing and will avoid traveling to DC in the Spring in the future. I am not surprised that we got this room at a reasonable rate since the entire place was teaming with school groups. Although the hotel did a nice job serving the large groups breakfast in a separate area, the noise these kids cause was many times unbearable. They run around all evening until 10pm and start running and yelling again at 6am EVERY morning. We also had to avoid the pool and hot tub because of this. This is a great place to stay if you don't mind being far away from everything and stay here when school groups are not in residence.

Also, make sure your room is not located near the housekeeping supply room on the 1st level, the staff are extremely loud and few speak English when you ask them to pipe down. This could be easily remedied by management.

Room Tip: AVOID room 157, it is directly across from the Housekeeping supply room and you will not sleep at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. So delighted to hear that you enjoyed are suites and were able to utilize a few of our amenities. Our location is the perfect stay for sightseeing and visiting the DC area. We want to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and can assure you that we are currently in the process of making improvements in all of these areas. Your comments are important to us and support our continued effort to develop the perfect atmosphere for each guest. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We stayed here one night on a family road trip and we were quite pleased with the amenities and service. Very new and clean and spacious rooms - the King size suites aren't really different rooms, just one room with a divider, but they fit our family of 4 just fine. Quick service, substantial breakfast included, free parking, and convenient location. Great value for money.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Here at Spring Hill Suites, we encourage all of our guest to take advantage of all the amenities we have to offer and are pleased to hear that you had the availability to do so. We appreciate your compliments in relation to our suites and hope that you will be visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.