We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make sure you book the shuttle bus ahead” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Make sure you book the shuttle bus ahead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here for two days on a family visit to Washington. The hotel was great. The room big enough for four people and with a nice working desk to do emails, etc. Wifi internet was free and worked well. Breakfast was the typical Springhill one, nothing fancy but good enough to keep you going for a while. You could walk to the metro stop for Washington but it was raining so we decided to take the shuttle. This is the only downside of the hotel. The shuttle was very busy all night long and when we came back from a tiring day in DC, we had to wait for it to come back three times until we finally fit. There is not a lot of options for dinner in walking distance but if you have a car you can drive down to the centre of Alexandria which is a little gem. We also visited the Masonic memorial and took a very interesting tour there.
Used the fitness room and whirlpool in the hotel, both fine. Would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feed back. So pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay here at Spring Hill Suites and were able to take advantage of several amenities we have to offer. We appreciate the compliments you shared in relation to our suites. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with the shuttle services and hope that you will be visiting with us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    102
    19
    10
    1
See reviews for
150
46
8
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth uk
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ensure you tell the receptionist your name so that you at least get on the shuttle bus, also no restaurants within walking distance but hotel provided extensive take out menu's for delivery. Breakfast was fine and rooms with seating ideal when travelling as two couples so we could socialise.

Room Tip: The shuttle bus service could be better managed perhaps taking the names of the party waiting to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feed back with us. We are thrilled to know that you were pleased with our suites. We appreciate all of your input and hope that you will have the opportunity to utilize some of the other complimentary amenities we have to offer at you next visit. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We came up during a busy Labor Day weekend and had a very comfortable stay. The rooms were very roomy and noise level was kept in/out very well. We didn't hear any noise from our neighbor's like when we go to other hotels. The shower room was large and had plenty of room to move around. We even had a computer desk and chair, which was very useful and there was a coffee table that splits into 2 end tables along with a sofa bed. There was 5 of us and we had plenty of room for our stuff and to move around and relax comfortably after long days of sight seeing. Location was also great for us since we visited the local restaurants around Alexandria frequently. I will be staying at this hotel again for sure whenever I come back to the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We genuinely appreciate all of your kind words regarding your stay here with us. So pleased to hear that you were comfortable in your suite throughout your stay. Knowing that you'll be back again is an absolute delight! Thank you and we are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed overnight Sat/Sun on a walk in. Good experience with check in staff thanks Seleena. Weekend price of $99 was a bit more than we had been paying, but worth it. Location beside Interstate meant a ride to any eatery, but plenty of choice nearby. Large, very clean rooms. Bit strange with tv in between bed and living space. Decent breakfast, but it was a bit of a bun fight Sunday morning, with a couple dozen small kids present.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are pleased to know that your experience with check-in was pleasant and intend to continue to produce an enhanced quality of customer service for each guest. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and are in the process of making improvements in all of these areas. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Everything was fine except our particular room location, which backed up to the elevators. We got a hissing sound every few minutes all night long. We stayed in room 119, in the basement floor. I don't know why the laundry room, exercise room, or one of several other utility rooms on that floor couldn't have been put next to the elevators instead of a guest room. Also, there are meeting rooms directly across the hall which contributed to a noisy atmosphere, at least until 10 PM. Should have asked for another room, but we were already settled in and I thought the elevator noises would stop in the late night. Wrong.

Room Tip: Avoid room 119; it backs up to the elevators and is noisy all night long. It is also across the hal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We appreciate your input and hope that you were pleased with our modern decor and complimentary amenities. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay. Our entire staff understands how important it is to make every attempt to ensure the comfort of each guest here at Spring Hill Suites. It is a priority to us and would be our pleasure to do anything we can to meet your comfort level and provide the quality service you deserve during your future visits. Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am a loyal Marriott member so I always look to Marriott while traveling. The Springhill suites are a great location when doing business in DC and a great price. its a very typical SpringHill with a great breakfast. Price was very reasonable for the area. My only complaint is its a bit of a pain getting into the hotel. Also the set up of the room was a little strange with the TV right between the sitting area and sleeping area. Overall a pretty nice place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your review and would like to thank you for being a loyal Marriott Rewards Member. It pleases us to know that you were satisfied with your stay here at Spring Hill Suites. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and hope that you'll have the opportunity to return for another visit. Looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a pretty standard Springhill Suites until you start dealing with the staff. We had to come to DC on zero notice due to a family medical emergency; once the staff found that out they went out of their way to be helpful and part of the solution. They made it clear that they were genuinely concerned about our family, AND they were going to go out of their way to help make our stay comfortable. This seems like a small thing until you're in a crisis, and a group of strangers shows you some kindness.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Thrilled to know that our staff was able to accommodate your needs throughout your stay. Here at Spring Hill Suites we make each guest and their comfort level a priority. We hope that all is well with you and your family and that you'll be able to visit with us again soon. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#14 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Alexandria, VA hotel's guestroom suites are furnished with a light, contemporary touch, maximizing comfort and style. Take our complimentary shuttle to Huntington Metro, just one mile away, and explore Washington, DC's monuments, museums and top attractions. At our all-suite Alexandria hotel, guests enjoy many modern amenities, including free hot breakfast, shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.