We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We choose DC as our family vacation this year and stayed here over the 4th of July for 4 nights. The room was wonderful, very spacious and nicely decorated. The staff was very helpful and friendly, always happy to help out with anything we needed. Good breakfast in the morning, lots of variety. My only negative would be the pool, it was small and the hours are odd because there has to be someone on duty so it wasn't open until 5pm during the week but 10am on weekends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your compliments regarding our modern decor suites, complimentary breakfast, and staff. Spring Hill Suites is a great selection for family vacations. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay as we are in the process of making improvements. Thank you for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    78
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
123
29
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
State Road, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel in the heart of the commerial business district. Good for travelers or if you have a car do not mind driving a few minutes to get to dinner and entertainment.

The place is decked out nice and was exceptionally clean. The rooms are spacious and give a nice work desk and couch to relax on. I found it an enjoyable place.

If I had to find a fault it was that the breakfast area was so busy that I gave up trying to eat there. Instead I found nice little place downtown that served a super breakfast with great coffee.

Room Tip: We spent 1 whole day just laying on the big L-shaped couch relaxing. Wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It pleases us to know that you were comfortable throughout your stay and enjoyed our modern decor suites. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with breakfast and are confident that the enhancements we are in the process of making would be more appropriate. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I recently attended a conference in Alexandria, Virginia requiring me to stay for 3 nights. The conference was located close to Route 1, so I chose Spring Hill Suites, because it would be close and also because it received good reviews on Trip Advisor. I wasn't disappointed. My room was a queen suite with a large television that could be viewed from either the bed or the "living area". The room also had a small fridge and microwave. I especially liked using the fitness center that contained 2 elliptical machines as well as treadmills and weights. There was also a pool that I didn't use. The breakfast was exceptional for a chain, offering hot entrees as well as delicious fresh fruit. The hotel also offered a shuttle to "Old Town" Alexandria. Between certain hours they would take you and pick you up. The price was $143 per night with a AAA discount. One of the conference attendees told me she stayed in downtown "Old Town" and paid $99 per night. I didn't ask her what hotel it was or what she thought of it, but the rate for Spring Hill shouldn't have been that much higher, given the location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our modern style suites and took advantage of a few amenities Spring Hill Suites has to offer. We hope to see you again soon and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I have no idea how this hotel is rated so high. The sound isolation in this hotel is the worst I have ever seen. I could hear people talking from both adjacent rooms, people talking in the hallway, people talking outside in the parking lot and people walking/running on the floor above (absolutely unacceptable). It was as if it was built with single-home cheap construction standards and not hotel standards. If you value quietness at all, I would not risk staying at this hotel because your "experience" will be completely determined by your neighbors (which we had kids beside/above us). You can just jump on the floor and feel the floor/walls shaking.

For this reason alone, the hotel cannot get higher than a 2/5. We immediately asked to switch rooms and they could not because they were "full" which seems to be the response/excuse they will use to anyone who claims something is wrong (see other reviews).

Not only that, the shower did not even work when we checked in and had to wait >1 hour to get it fixed. How did they even clean the room before that then!? The room layout is awkward although quite large. Some towels/bed sheets were slightly stained. Wifi is good. Breakfast is good for being included.

For having the worst noise isolation I have ever seen in a branded Hotel, I would never stay here again or recommend this to anyone. Unless you can guarantee a room on the top floor at the end of the hallway, I would not risk it. Treat this as a very cheap motel under the guise of a new/modern hotel with hotel amenities. They definitely cheaped out on the construction standards for a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Past Guest, we at the Springhill Suites Alexandria would like to thank you for your comments, and feedback. Notifying us of your experience is very important to us, as it helps us know areas where we need to improve upon. We have forward the comments about the building's insolation to our Corporate office. As a three year old hotel, built and open in May 2010 we are sold out 5 out of 7 days on any given week. We do appologise that we were unable to move you to another room due to the high occupancy, however, can be challenging at times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Exceeded expectations. Exactly what we wanted and more. Alexandria is a cute town, but the drive to Old Town is 10 minutes away. Hotel was clean, friendly. Our room was spacious. Breakfast was better than expected. We didn't get a chance to use pool, but my husband liked the gym. Only complaint is what a few hotels are doing, blanket on top and under comforter. I prefer a washable duvet. I don't like touching unwashed bedding of others.

Room Tip: get a room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments. We are thrilled knowing that we were successful in exceeding your expectations. We do agree that Spring Hill Suites is a great hotel for family vacationing. Our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay. Thank you for choosing Spring Hill and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting friends in Alexandria. Our short stay was wonderful! As soon as we entered to check-in, we were cheerfully greeted by Tori who was extremely efficient and just genuinely pleasant. Our check-in literally took seconds and Tori provided suggestions about restaurants in the area since we told her that we would be looking to eat dinner soon. What a fabulous way to begin our stay!

Our room was clean, spacious, and again just a pleasant surprise. Once we settled in we decided to get a bite to eat. There were many places to eat along the same road that were very close, however we decided to take a short drive to see what was a little further. When we returned, our children went into the pool and we were all greeted by the very friendly lifeguards who had clean towels placed over each chair waiting for guests to use the facilities. We had breakfast in the morning near the lobby. The food was good and there was plenty for everyone. I was really impressed when I saw one of the employees taking apart the ice dispenser tray and thoroughly cleaning the machine very early in the morning.

This hotel is really clean,organized and well-run. More importantly, I could tell the employees enjoyed working there. Did I mention how clean it was? :-) I hope to return to Alexandria and stay at this hotel once again. What a gem!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're pleased in knowing you enjoyed your stay. The entire staff is committed to creating a memorable experience for each guest and we are confident that goal was reached by all of your kind words. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, IN
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here with our 2 teenage sons for 4 nights to sight see in DC and Alexandria. While the location is not really within walking distance of a Metro stop, the shuttle to the Huntington Yellow Line stop was reliable and prompt. All we needed to do was call, and they were there within about 10 minutes. King Street restaurants and shopping were only about a 5 minute drive away as well. The hotel was very clean and had a great modern decor! The staff was friendly and helpful without being overly intrusive. We also used the pool and exercise room which were also very clean. There was even a lifeguard at the pool. We would definitely stay again if in the DC area.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and genuinely appreciate your compliments in relation to our modern decor suites, amenities, and convenient location. We're certain Spring Hill Suites is the perfect hotel for family vacations. Thank you for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.