We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Visiting DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Albany, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for Visiting DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here 3/21 - 3/24. Convenient to the Metro station. Rooms, halls, reception area were all spotless. Free breakfast was always well stocked and clean. Front desk was always friendly and helpful. We will probably come back to DC again soon and this will be the place we will stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are excited to learn that you will be staying with us again in the future. Thank you for all of your kind words in relation to our convenient location, modern decor, and complimentary amenities. We are looking forward to seeing you again at your next visit. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    90
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
137
36
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wheaton, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Arrived early evening after long day of driving. Room had air purifier running and window opened. Smelled like someone had smoked in the room. This was disappointing. Other than that, room was clean, bathroom showing age but clean and pool was fine. Breakfast was okay too.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Sorry you were not satisfied with your stay. We had no intentions of renting the room you stayed in that evening but because you were sent from the courtyard we tryed to do our best to accommodate you as it was our last room available that evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I just want to say how nice the hotel was. It was remarkably clean and wonderful staff. Estela, Audrey, and Tori were especially wonderful to us they made us feel over comfortable. The beds are to die for and the rooms are wonderful. ne of the nicest hotels ive been in and will be going back to stay when im there. tommy and Debbie branagan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so pleased you ejoyed your stay. We always stirive to be as hospitable as can be and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Wow. Huge. Space galore. Fridge. Microwave. Toilet/shower separate from sink. Only one TV!? It did swivel. Was adequate for a standard room, but not this oversized room. Would hace expected two set ups. Room 111 too close to pool - hallway smells of chlorine but did not penetrate to room. Check-in clerk seemed nervous and overwhelmed. First set of keys did not work, had to go back to lobby. Breakfast was typical. Coffee was decent. Probably would return.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We were happy to hear you loved our suties and hope to see you again. also we would like to apologize for the strong chlorine smell this is something we will definitely look into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer Glen, Il
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great choice for families who want to experience Washington DC without paying a big price. The rooms were large and the beds were comfortable. The breakfast was hot and plentiful with a variety of choices. We took advantage of the complimentary shuttle to the metro station. Our driver's were prompt and very informative. We were fortunate to have Fred as our driver. He was courteous and you can tell he enjoys his job. Overall, I can't complain about anything about our experience at this Springhill Suites.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had a pleasent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX Hook 'em Horns!
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We waited almost too late to book our spring break trip so we consider ourselves very fortunate to have found this hotel. Free Internet and breakfast make this a huge draw for someone like me traveling with kids. The room was plenty big for me and my two kids, and having the fridge and microwave was nice so we could have drinks and snacks without going downstairs and paying the high prices in the snack shop. The hotel is located very close to restaurants and grocery stores. Having a free shuttle to the metro was nice too, and the driver was always prompt and courteous. The front desk staff was superb, extremely friendly and professional. Free guest laundry was a huge bonus! Our room faced Richmond Highway and I suppose the traffic could get loud, but we always travel with a white noise machine so the noise was never an issue.

A couple of drawbacks (though these would not keep me from staying here again):

* the pool is small and opens at 5:00 pm during the week. This is probably fine due to the fact that most folks are out touring the city, but it would be nice to have the pool available on a rainy morning. There were two lifeguards- one allowed the kids to stick their feet in the hot tub, the other one didn't and was extremely rude about it. I don't know why kids aren't allowed in the hot tub anyway but this guy was awful about it.
* my key never worked in the exterior doors, even after being rekeyed any number of times. Not a huge deal but sort of inconvenient when you're parked around back.

All-in-all, a wonderful stay at a wonderful property. We're already looking ahead to another stay this summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so glad you and your family had a pleasant stay and we look forward to you coming to stay with us this summer. Also thank you for the time you took to send us a rewiew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great choice for families who want to visit Washington DC. This hotel is at the end of the Yellow Metro line, with a free shuttle service operating during the day until around 9 pm. Worked great for us. The Huntington Station is nearby and shuttle was always quick both ways. Trip to The Mall was about 45 minutes, which is not too bad. We would catch the subway usually just after 9:30 am to avoid the extra $1/trip peak time charge and get to our museum of choice around 10:30 am or so. For our 4 day visit, just paying for paper tickets for each trip worked out ok. For longer stays the 7 day pass might be an ok deal. In retrospect, the electronic card ticket probably would have saved us a few $'s ... if you are going to make more than 5 trips then this starts to save you some money. Overall the subway was fine but still lots of walking since there are limited subway options around The Mall.

In terms of the hotel, free parking, free internet and free breakfast were all big draws for us. As well, the price was very reasonable. The breakfast was very good for us ... many options including hot items, oatmeal, eggs, bacon, etc. Also an exercise room with treadmill, etc.

The rooms were very nice ... clean and well laid-out with 2 Queen sized beds.

The only minor drawback is a very small pool, but you can't get everything and that is the standard now for new hotels.

We really have no complaints. Staff were very nice, clean, new hotel, close to subway, etc.

For someone who does not want to deal with the stress of driving/parking/etc in Washington DC I think it is a very good option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.