We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spring Break in D.C.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Austin, TX Hook 'em Horns!
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spring Break in D.C.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We waited almost too late to book our spring break trip so we consider ourselves very fortunate to have found this hotel. Free Internet and breakfast make this a huge draw for someone like me traveling with kids. The room was plenty big for me and my two kids, and having the fridge and microwave was nice so we could have drinks and snacks without going downstairs and paying the high prices in the snack shop. The hotel is located very close to restaurants and grocery stores. Having a free shuttle to the metro was nice too, and the driver was always prompt and courteous. The front desk staff was superb, extremely friendly and professional. Free guest laundry was a huge bonus! Our room faced Richmond Highway and I suppose the traffic could get loud, but we always travel with a white noise machine so the noise was never an issue.

A couple of drawbacks (though these would not keep me from staying here again):

* the pool is small and opens at 5:00 pm during the week. This is probably fine due to the fact that most folks are out touring the city, but it would be nice to have the pool available on a rainy morning. There were two lifeguards- one allowed the kids to stick their feet in the hot tub, the other one didn't and was extremely rude about it. I don't know why kids aren't allowed in the hot tub anyway but this guy was awful about it.
* my key never worked in the exterior doors, even after being rekeyed any number of times. Not a huge deal but sort of inconvenient when you're parked around back.

All-in-all, a wonderful stay at a wonderful property. We're already looking ahead to another stay this summer!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are so glad you and your family had a pleasant stay and we look forward to you coming to stay with us this summer. Also thank you for the time you took to send us a rewiew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    93
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
140
37
8
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great choice for families who want to visit Washington DC. This hotel is at the end of the Yellow Metro line, with a free shuttle service operating during the day until around 9 pm. Worked great for us. The Huntington Station is nearby and shuttle was always quick both ways. Trip to The Mall was about 45 minutes, which is not too bad. We would catch the subway usually just after 9:30 am to avoid the extra $1/trip peak time charge and get to our museum of choice around 10:30 am or so. For our 4 day visit, just paying for paper tickets for each trip worked out ok. For longer stays the 7 day pass might be an ok deal. In retrospect, the electronic card ticket probably would have saved us a few $'s ... if you are going to make more than 5 trips then this starts to save you some money. Overall the subway was fine but still lots of walking since there are limited subway options around The Mall.

In terms of the hotel, free parking, free internet and free breakfast were all big draws for us. As well, the price was very reasonable. The breakfast was very good for us ... many options including hot items, oatmeal, eggs, bacon, etc. Also an exercise room with treadmill, etc.

The rooms were very nice ... clean and well laid-out with 2 Queen sized beds.

The only minor drawback is a very small pool, but you can't get everything and that is the standard now for new hotels.

We really have no complaints. Staff were very nice, clean, new hotel, close to subway, etc.

For someone who does not want to deal with the stress of driving/parking/etc in Washington DC I think it is a very good option.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled you and your family enjoyed your stay look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

very nice, centrally located property on Richmond Hwy - close to everything. all suite rooms, very large and accomodating. They have a fridge, microwave, coffee maker and sink area in the room. great separate desk workspace. The only drawback is there are only 2 teeny drawers if you have clothes that do not get hung, it makes it a little cramped. Metro station right across the street for quick trip into DC. adequate meeting rooms. The breakfast is your standard continental bar - bagels, cereal, waffle making, muffins. coffee is good - all free with stay. Rooms are reasonably priced for the area, one of the best properties if you need to be in the city but don't want the DC prices. Staff is very gracious, service is excellent overall. the indoor pool and exercise room are adequate. Free wifi is a bonus - and they have hardwire connections in room as well, which is good for travelers whose companies will not grant them wifi access on their secure computers. Overall, would def recommend this property and would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your review we are glad you enjoyed your stay . We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The staff here were all very hospitable, and anxious to be of help--we had help with dining suggestions and directions, Metro to the city, being sure we were in a quiet area of the property since they had a high school group in house, etc. Everyone seemed anxious to make you happy. The shuttle to the Metro was very prompt and helpful. Our room was very clean and nice, and the beds great. I would LOVE to have the same shower head here at home--it was so soft and yet plenty of pressure. The free breakfast was great--plenty of choices. It was a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks so much for the time you took to write this review we always try to be as hositable as can be and we are glad to know it made a difference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel in Old Town Alexandria. We stayed her for a conference and had a great stay. Staff was great and gave us lots of options for food and entertainment. The hotel is a bit hard to find without a GPS but there's plenty of parking and a parking garage. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was great with good options and plenty of places to sit. The rooms are very nice and spacious. Great, modern and sleek decor. I like that the toilet is separate from the sink and shower. All for under $90! You're right down the street (about 3 min drive) from restaurants, movie theatre and the I-95 connector. Also, they have a shuttle that will take you there if you don't drive; and they'll take you to the nearest metro train station. Great choice!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your time durring your conference hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My colleague and I stay at the Springhill Suites while we were on a business trip last week. Our stay there was great, the staff was extremely hospitable especially Mona and Tori. The rooms were very clean and smelled good, housekeeping did a wonderful job. I was pleased to learn that the hotel is only a couple years old, and this is evident in the décor and the set up of the welcoming lobby. The breakfast was decent; there was a lot of variety to choose from. Overall I really enjoyed my stay, and plan on staying here the next time I’m in Alexandria, Virginia.

Room Tip: High floor facing the front of the hotel are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
We really appreciate your review we always try to make our guest feel at home. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Clean room and big enough for 3 adults and 2 kids. The free shuttle service (no schdule, just on call) to and from the Metro station (5 minutes away) is definitely the reason to stay here when planning to visit Washing DC. Parking is very expensive downtown $30+ and many express toll zones on the highway makes it difficult to drive, so take the subway downtown; it takes us approx 45 minutes from the hotel to US capitol by subway (Paper ticket cost an extra $1.00 per ticket so buy the plastic refillable fare card for $5.00 if you plan to use the subway for more than 5 trips). Free use of the washer and dryer (no need to put in coins; you can buy the powder detergent and the softner sheet from their machine) is a bonus. There is a Walmart within 3 minutes drive where you can buy take-out and grocery. Applebees, Vietnamese noodle (Pho) are all down the road. Hotel Breakfast close promptly at 9:30 am (they might tell say close at10:00 am but they put away everything including coffee at 9:30 am.). Leesbury Primium outlet is 50 minutes drive away; be sure to print coupon from the hotel computer and printer (2 workstations) before you head out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for all the details you put in your review this really will help future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.