We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay if visiting Washing DC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay if visiting Washing DC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Clean room and big enough for 3 adults and 2 kids. The free shuttle service (no schdule, just on call) to and from the Metro station (5 minutes away) is definitely the reason to stay here when planning to visit Washing DC. Parking is very expensive downtown $30+ and many express toll zones on the highway makes it difficult to drive, so take the subway downtown; it takes us approx 45 minutes from the hotel to US capitol by subway (Paper ticket cost an extra $1.00 per ticket so buy the plastic refillable fare card for $5.00 if you plan to use the subway for more than 5 trips). Free use of the washer and dryer (no need to put in coins; you can buy the powder detergent and the softner sheet from their machine) is a bonus. There is a Walmart within 3 minutes drive where you can buy take-out and grocery. Applebees, Vietnamese noodle (Pho) are all down the road. Hotel Breakfast close promptly at 9:30 am (they might tell say close at10:00 am but they put away everything including coffee at 9:30 am.). Leesbury Primium outlet is 50 minutes drive away; be sure to print coupon from the hotel computer and printer (2 workstations) before you head out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for all the details you put in your review this really will help future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    155
    82
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
128
31
7
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My family stayed here for three weeks and we felt very comfortable. The manager, the front desk staff, and all the other workers provided excellent service. The location was a straight line to Old Town. There was a large variety of restaurants and shopping up and down the street from this location. Also convenient to Washington DC as well as to Mt. Vernon. The hotel was very new, very clean and well maintained. The breakfast was very nice too. Plus, the Urgent Care Unit, right across the street was convenient. Overall, an excellent choice.

Room Tip: The mini refrigerators were a bit inconvenient, but there are plenty of good places to eat all aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time to write a review for us we always strive to give excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I have nothing but positive things to say about my stay. It was easy to find just of the interstate. The room was clean, and the service was awesome. Breakfast was included- assortment of cerals, breads, and hot food. The lobby was bright and welcoming and the staff were quick and helpful. I had a refrigerator and coffee maker in the room. I highly recommend this hotel. I am looking forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: high floor, corner room suites are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feed back and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanex
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The only thing keeping this from very good is the breakfast which was terrible - not any where near the par of ones we have had at hampton inns, holiday inn express, residence inn, fairfiled inn, etc. Few choices, rubbery eggs, poor suasage, coffee only passable. Otherwise - nice staff, very clean, attractive environment, conveninet location. A lot of families with young children so it must work well for families.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback. Thank you for all of your compliments regarding our staff, decor, and convenient location. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay as we are currently in the process of making improvements. Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

On December 27 the 4 of us took a ride from Norfolk,VA to see the light show at another hotel. When we checked in we were conveniently placed on the first floor because we had to leave at 5am next morning. One person used business center, 2 went to work out. The best part of the trip was going back to the Springhill after the show. I cannot stress how welcoming, warm, delightful and very assertive the front desk agent was during our brief stay.No wonder your reviews are so great.
She is a jewel and I would love to stay there again. The morning of our departure she went out of her way to tell us goodbye.
Thank you and it was my pleasure, believe me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is a great pleasure to us all hearing how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for all of your kind words regarding our staff. We appreciate all of our guests and are happy to do anything we can to make you welcomed. Thank you for staying at Spring Hill Suites. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My family went on a driving trip in mid-August to Washington. My husband and I and our 3 children (ages 6-11) had a great time at this hotel as our home base to visit all the wonderful Washington museums. My husband found the prices reasonable compared to the much higher priced hotels in downtown Washington. We all loved the complimentary breakfasts, the modern clean comfortable rooms, and the pool. Carlos and all front desk staff (including the new trainee) were simply super and helped us with all our questions during our stay. We have become fans of the SpringHill Suites chain. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Your compliments regarding our staff, modern decor, and amenities are more than gratifying and are greatly appreciated. We hope that you and your family enjoyed your trip and that you'll visit with us again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

SpringHill Suites is awesome... The atmosphere here is very relaxing! There's a gym, pool and jaccuzzi along with the most convienent service around. Great breakfast in the morning and the staff is nice especially Mona, she's really helpful!! Also the lobby is a cool hangout spot with everything you might need!!!

Room Tip: Friendly environment
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your feedback is appreciated. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of some of the complimentary amenities Spring Hill Suites has to offer. Please visit with us again soon so that we may have another opportunity to create another memorable experience for you. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#9 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.