We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Clermont
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for three nights while attending a wedding. The ultra modern setting was interesting once you got used to it. The only problem we experienced was that there seemed to be no fan in the bathroom for air circulation after showers. We did enjoy our stay and the staff was very friendly and willing to help. Liked the sitting area in the room. Quite a bit of road noise, so I would suggest rooms situated away from the roadway.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to hear you were please with our staff and modern decor. Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced and are currently making improvements. Thank you for visiting with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    93
    16
    10
    1
See reviews for
140
37
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our first room had a bad mildew smell, so we got switched to another room which smelled fine. Until the Air conditioning kicked on, and then the mildew smell was back. Other than that, the hotel was very nice. Breakfast was good, staff was friendly, and there was a shuttle bus to the nearest Metro which was convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We're glad to hear you enjoyed some of our amenities and the staff. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay as we are in the process of making improvements. Please visit with us again soon so that you may further enjoy our hotel and all it has to offer. Looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

My family stayed here for a birthday event nearby. Everyone was very happy with the accommodations. Room had a couch area with microwave and refrigerator, a large desk area, very good lighting (a must for me!), a large flat screen tv visible from all living areas, a very comfortable bed and a tub/shower/toilet area with separate sink area. Toilet was very quiet, whuch is nice if you are sharing the room. Very large mirrors. My only complaint was that the water pressure in the shower was low.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Your shared feedback is appreciated. It is a pleasure knowing you and your family enjoyed your stay and we want to thank you for your kind words regarding our modern decor and suites. Our genuine apologies to you and your family for any inconveniences you experienced throughout your stay as we are presently making improvements. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you and your family will visit with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights whilst visiting Washington. The hotel is on a main road in Alexandria but backs onto woods.It's minutes away from the Old Town and the metro station to take you into the heart of DC.We had a room at the back and it was very quiet but we had family staying at the front and they had no comnplaints re noise. The rooms are modern, very clean, spacious and have everything you need. It's a mini suite with an opaque glass partition where the desk is located. There's a comfy sofa/chaise longue and kitchenette with fridge,sink, microwave and coffee maker. Bed was very comfy, bathroom clean and funtional. Great morror over the washbasin! The hotel gives a complimentary hot breakfast buffet including scrambled eggs, sausages, waffles, toast,pastries, cereal etc. There's a gym, small pool and jacuzzi and my only minor gripes are related to that. No showers/changing room at the pool and pool only open evenings at weekdays and from 10am weekends which meant I couldn't have my early morning swim before breakfast. There's small selection of food and drink for sale by reception and it was very reasonable priced. Staff were efficient,friendly and helpful. This is agreat place to stay if visiting DC/Alexandria and Mt. Vernin is 10 mins away.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed the staff, modern decor, convenient location, and amenities throughout your stay. We appreciate all of your compliments. The staff here at Spring Hill Suites is dedicated to providing quality service to each guest and we would like to aplogize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Thank you for staying with us and please visit us again soon. We're looking forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel was very clean and everything seemed new. The free breakfast was wonderful, and the kitchenette in the room was a nice touch. If you arrive at this hotel after 4PM, there is no parking in the front. The majority of the parking for this hotel is at the rear of the building, down a hill, with an expanse of dark woods surrounding it. As a female, I was NOT comfortable parking down there, and one night I actually sat in my car in the loading area at the front of the hotel until someone parked up front left. The side exit door outside my room was full of spiders. My hotel room stank from the down pillows on the bed, and when I complained of this, I was told by the rude front desk attendant that there should be foam pillows on the bed. Whoever told him that was mistaken, they were all down pillows. The thermostat was just inside the door, and the AC unit was in front of the window on the opposite side of the room. The distance caused it to turn on and off frequently. The unit itself was very loud, and at night it woke me up each time it turned on. The hotels website, and even documentation in the room states that complimentary coffee is available throughout the day into the evening. There was no coffee, and the front desk attendant told me that they dont do that anymore. They wanted $6 for a Starbucks coffee from the little snack area at the front desk (HA!) The coffee maker in the room was junk, and the cups that fit in it are really small. The hotel was nice in appearance, but all the little irksome things combined made for a bad experience for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I regret that your stay with us was not a problem-free one. After reviewing your comments, I am disappointed to find so many issues with your past stay that could have been avoided. Moving forward, I have coordinated with my front desk staff and housekeeping supervisor on the issue of the pillows in the room, so that they will be no mistake as to the layout in the rooms in the future. Furthermore, the in room documentations are in the process of being updated to abide to our new policies regarding coffee. I am also looking into the issue of the $6 Starbucks coffee. Our Starbucks Frappuccino coffees are actually $3.I will review our front desk scanners to make sure they maintain accurate amounts of our marketplace items. In conclusion, I want to thank you for taking the time to comment on our property. We here at the SpringHill Suites are proud to provide a product that will have guests return to stay with us again. Thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to servicing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We found SpringHill while on the road, searching for a hotel. We were accommodated very quickly. Our room was very modern and clean, we were amazed by the space! We were all in the same room without being jammed together!
The beds were very comfortable, even the pullout!
The breakfast had a lot of choices! Everyone was happy!
This stay showed us again that you can ALWAYS trust a Marriott!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We would absolutely agree that our Spring Hill Suites by Marriott location can always be trusted as well as enjoyed. Our staff, convenient location, modern decor, and amenities aid in making each stay memorable. We hope that you will visit us again soon and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlawn, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We just stayed at this SpringHill Suites and it was great. It was a short drive to/from DC. The bed was very comfortable and the room very clean. It was perfect for a family of 5. The staff was very nice. The free breakfast was good. The kids liked the waffle maker. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words in relation to our staff, modern decor, and amenities. We hpe that you will visit with us again soon and look forward to seeing you. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#10 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#16 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.