We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over the top and outstanding!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Orbitz.com
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Augusta, Georgia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“Over the top and outstanding!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

My adult daughter and I stayed here for an overnight to set us up for a day trip into the city of D.C. We had a very pleasant greeting when we walked in and were practically given a tour of this modern sleek looking place. Our room was adequately cooled when we walked in and we were amazed at the spaciousness of it. There was a very nice, modern looking pull out couch, and an extra sink at the entry side of the room for making coffee or tea. There was also a fridge here. The computer center was by the couch and screened off from the bed and TV area. TV was brand new flat screen with the channel info in the booklet by the computer station. There were tiny bullet lights over each bed - very nice for late reading with another person in the room. The towels were fluffy and in good condition. We had shampoo and conditioner, hand lotion and shower gel, plus two bars of soap and a hygiene pad for cleaning off makeup. The only thing missing was a suitcase rack - unless I missed it in the huge closet that was over by the window. All light bulbs worked and there were plenty of electrical outlets throughout the room. The carpeting looked great and everything was very clean and fresh.
Near the elevator is a business center with two computers and printers for the guests' use.
Breakfast was excellent with all the usual buffet items including waffles, bagles, toast, very good muffins, cold and hot cereal, heaps of bacon, egg patties, orange juice, bananas and apples, jam, cream cheese, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There were several groups of youth there but the food was replenished all morning long, without having to ask.
The pool opened at 5PM on weekdays. It isn't a large pool but the hot tub was really nice. There is a lifeguard on duty, which I think is Virginia law.
The free shuttle service was always ready to take us to Huntington Metro Station. They were very prompt and friendly and came to get us as soon as we called them when we got back. The manager made sure we had their business card with the phone number with us for our return shuttle request.
I was really impressed with our stay here - we felt very safe and had no trouble locating the place. It sure gave an upscale feel and I hope we will be able to visit again. Thanks so much for your outstanding service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    71
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
111
28
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I am currently staying in this hotel. I had requested for a quiet room, but they gave me a room near to the swimming pool and faced the main road. The pool is supposed to be closed at 10 pm. It is now 11 pm but they don't enforce the rule despite my complaint to the front desk. The wall is very thin. You can hear the guests next door speaking.
The hotel is new. If they had handled my request well and I could get a quiet room, I will easily give it a 5. But they have messed up my sleep and my preferance for a quiet room.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't ask for room 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, and feedback on your recent stay with us. I regret your stay was not satisfactory, I will admit that every hotel in our area was sold out due to the Girls Scouts, and room 202 was selected for you because it was at the end of the hall to avoid foot traffic, and other guest walking pass your room. I was surprise to learn that you mentioned noise from the pool, since the pool is located on a different floor to your room. I do hope you will reconsider, and give us another oppertunity to serve you in the future. I encourgae you to contact me directly, so I can offer you something more accomodating for your next visit to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley Heights, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here the week before my daughter's Alexandria wedding and before the rest of my family and friends arrived. From beginning to find my way around Northern Va. to the wedding weekend, the location proved to be perfect. The hotel itself was beautifully maintained and impeccably clean. The staff was constantly busy keeping everything spotless! Carlos and David were exceptionally helpful with answering questions and offering every help in assisting the family and friends as they arrived. The rehearsal dinner was held in one of the conference rooms and it worked perfectly for visitors to get acquainted in this comfortable environment. Having the bridal party and family and friends feeling so comfortable, safe and content meant alot to all of us. With very spacious rooms for the bride and bridesmaids to dress, it is a perfect place to make wedding memories. I will most definitely recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the D.C. area. Thank you Carlos and staff for everything!

Room Tip: The handicap room was MORE than adequate and spacious for my 90+yr. old parents and they were very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed here for a visit to Washington DC. It's convenient to DC and more than $100 per night cheaper than if we had stayed in town. Very very easy to get to DC. The hotel offers a free shuttle to the Metro station. The Metro is a safe 1/2 hour ride (maximum) to the heart of DC and the Metro staff made learning the system a snap!

The hotel itself was great. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff (especially Audrey) were all very nice and extremely helpful. The breakfast was a perfect way to start the day. I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I stayed here for business for a week. This was an outstanding hotel. The big draw for me is the location. It is about 2 minutes from the beltway. Traffic is minimal here (compared to DC proper). The rooms and hotel were very well maintained. Breakfast buffet is nice, but average. Not much for variety, but it gets the job done. Of note was the fitness area and pool. The fitness area was very well equipped and spacious. There are ellipticals, exercise bikes, treadmills, free weights, and other equipment for guests. I did not have a single issue while staying at this hotel. Stay was extremely professional and polite. I will be back here again everytime I come out this way for business.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

We were greeted by Audrey upon arrival. She was super friendly & willing to help us out with all of our many questions. Our room was very clean & spacious. Thank you for helping our family have a wonderful stay on our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, NC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed here for a mini vacation for the weekend. The hotel was very clean as was the room. The beds were comfortable with lots of pillows. The morning deluxe continental breakfast was good and well stocked. It was close to alot of the chain restaurants, so there was many choices around for dinner. I would stay again without hesitation. The 4 stars is because I could hear the noise on the road in front of the hotel while in bed, but it did not keep me up. Ask for the back of the hotel when you book a reservation, just in case your a light sleeper.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria
Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#7 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.