We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in many ways” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #11 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence
Goose Creek, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Perfect in many ways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

First of all, we were lucky enough to get a super low rate for Thanksgiving weekend (under 75 per night) for a room with two queen beds, a sleeper sofa and a small kitchen area with a sink, microwave and mini-fridge.
Some of the things that drew me to book this hotel:
1. Free Parking
2. Free Continental Breakfast
3. Free Wi-Fi and internet usage
4. Free shuttle to the Huntington Metro stop.
5. Indoor pool

I stayed at this hotel with my mother, my sister and my 8-year old nephew. It has been difficult, in the past, to find a large enough room in the DC area at a decent price without all of the extra fees added on. The free parking alone saved us over 100 dollars, and made it easy to drive into old town Alexandria for dinner. The use of the shuttle was VERY easy - the hotel is so close that we never waited more than 5 minutes to be picked up.
The room was large, and we really enjoyed having the frosted glass divider at the desk, as it did seem to divide the room into two different spaces, so four people never felt like they were climbing all over you.
The hotel is new, clean and quiet. We heard a little road noise the first night, but we set the thermostat to have the fan running while we slept (instead of on "auto"), so the white noise of the fan blocked out all of the street noise.
The indoor pool was a great treat in November, and allowed my nephew to burn through just a little more energy, and he slept like a baby. There is a lifeguard on duty during pool hours, but you must be 18 to use the Jacuzzi...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on floors 3 or 4 (the pool in on one and the lobby is on two) and away from the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased to hear how comfortable you and your family were during your stay. The entire staff is committed to creating memorable experiences for each guest and genuinely appreciate all of your kind words regarding our decor, suites, and amenities. Please visit with us again soon. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    103
    23
    10
    2
See reviews for
152
47
8
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Orange, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed at this hotel Thanksgiving week with my family and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel was modern, clean, and easy to navigate. The complimentary breakfast was satisfying and plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay during the holiday season. All of your kind words regarding our decor, suites, and amenities are greatly appreciated. Please visit with us again soon. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

The rooms were clean and spacious.
Stuff were knowledgeable and friendly.
Breakfast included - hit the spot.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting an alternative to downtown Washington.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate the kind words regarding our staff, suites, and amenities. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My family and I stayed at the Springhill during a Washington sightseeing trip. It is pretty far away from the city center, museums, etc, but certainly within striking distance. Given the expense of DC hotel rooms, it is a terrific option for a family on a budget.

ACCOMMODATIONS:

Our room was a “studio suite” which is essentially a typical guest room with a small parlor area, comfortable for a family of four. I’ll skip the room details, except to say that it is a fairly new facility and was clean and well maintained. All the amenities and services noted on their website are accurate.

Downsides: The room itself had only a couple of real drawbacks – 1) a lack of drawer space. It seemed designed for the lone business traveler. We simply lived out of our suitcases. 2) There was no safe in the room, which is pretty important if you have a lot of cash, electronics, and other stuff that people like to steal and which you don’t want to carry.

Finally, acknowledging the high cost of the DC area, I felt our room rate was quite expensive for a so-called “limited service” hotel ($229+tax, but went down to $129 on Thursday and Friday nights). As an average, we paid about $160 per night. Taxes added another $16 per night. Having breakfast included probably makes it a worthwhile deal, but you must also calculate the expense of getting into Washington and getting back. More on that later.

LOCATION:

The location is both good and bad; bad because it is still pretty far from Washington but good because it is a) in a nice area and, b) near every franchise and chain restaurant and store you can imagine, so convenient re-supply is just a short drive away.

HOTEL AS SIGHTSEEING LAUNCH PAD:

* Front desk service was very helpful, particularly about sightseeing information and getting around. If you don’t know what you’re doing, they can pretty much train you in about 5 minutes.

* The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle to and from the nearest train station (Huntington station), 7am-9pm. This is VERY convenient because the train station is not walking distance and parking there is expensive. Shuttle service is quick and hassle-free. Tip the driver a dollar or two.

* The hotel sells discounted family-pack tickets for the hop-on/hop-off open-top bus tours, which is THE best way to cover a lot of ground in a short time and get to all the major sights conveniently. The way this works is that you pay cash (no credit card) to the hotel for a portion of the tickets (about $19, presumably their cut of the action) and they give you a piece of paper that verifies that you are eligible to receive the family discount. You then present this piece of paper to the bus driver and he sells you the actual tickets at a discount. It’s simpler than it probably sounds.

USING THE TRAIN SYSTEM:

For tips on using the subway from this hotel, read on . . .

The subway – or Metro – is a very good way to get into Washington from the Springhill. The Springhill is at the outmost reaches of the subway system and at the very end of the line. As mentioned above, the station is not really walkable from the Springhill but you can get a complimentary ride from the hotel. You can also drive to it if you don’t mind paying to park.

Notes about the subway:

First, the train isn’t cheap for a whole family but probably less expensive than parking in DC and certainly less of a hassle. Rates are based on two things: where you are going and at what time of day you are going -- the farther your destination, the more expensive and if you are riding at peak times (rush hour), the more expensive. For example, we rode into Washington (from Huntington station to Smithsonian station) during off-peak. It was $2.40 per person for a total of $9.60. However, rates did not go down until 7pm and our kids were exhausted, so we came back at peak time and the tickets were $3.90 each for a total of $15.60. That was a total of $25.20 for the day. On some days, we spent even more depending on where we were going. Ultimately, we spent more than $80 on the subway over three days. If you plan in advance (we did not) and do some homework, there may be more inexpensive ways to use the subway. Here’s a link to the metro map (again, the Springhill is closest to Huntington station at the bottom) . . .

http://www.wmata.com/rail/maps/print_map.cfm

I have used subways throughout Europe and North America and I think the DC system is the least intuitive and most complex to figure out. The guy who designed the ticket machines must have been smoking dope, directional signage was installed by a drunk, and don’t even think of asking the booth attendants for help unless you are amenable to a ritual humiliation. Nevertheless, once you figure it out, it isn’t hard. Follow this link to get some preparatory training on how to cope with the ticket machines.

http://www.wmata.com/fares/purchase/vending.cfm

In sum, the Springhill Suites is a good option for families who want to sightsee in Washington and I would recommend it.

Hope this helps.

.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, January 23, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so delighted that you and you family enjoyed your stay. We can easily agree that Springhill Suites is the perfect location for sightseeing the surrounding area. Our entire staff is committed to creating memorable experiences for each guest and we are please to have been able to assist you and your family throughout your stay. All of your kind words in relation to our staff members, modern suites, convenient location, and complimentary amenities are greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay as we are in the process of making improvements. Please visit with us again soon. We look forward to the next opportunity to accommodate you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Brand new hotel not far from the metro station. Excellent hot breakfast included. Rooms very modern and spacious. Very clean and most comfortable. Complimentary shuttle services to
Metro and restaurants. Quick and easy trip from Alexandria to Washington, DC. Hotel offers an exercise room with many different machines.

Room Tip: I'm sure most of the rooms are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, January 24, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate your compliments regarding our modern suites, convenient location, and complimentary amenities. Please visit with us again soon. We look forward to the next opportunity to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We stayed there last weekend, we were looking for something reasonable in price, not to far from DC. The service was great and the hotel is very nice. Free breakfast!, free parking!, free Wi-Fi and free shuttle to the metro stop (located 1 mile away).
Very convenient!
We will be back in December with my relatives that will be visiting for christmas!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your kind words regarding our complimentary amenities and convenient location. Looking forward to seeing you at your next visit. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I have just recently moved to the DC area. It has been a big change, and quite challenging. However, if it was not for the hotel staff here at Spring Hill Suites in Alexandria, I would not have had the assistance, and enjoyable experience that I have been fortunate to have been blessed with.
Several people that have been the most amazing and helpful people you will ever meet that I would like to mention are Carlos, Kyle, David, Rick and of course the most awesome driver you will ever know- Fred. These guys are more than just hotel employees, they have become my friends. These are the friends that you can rely on, and know that they will be here for you. They do everything they can to insure each and every visitor is not only comfortable, but is provided for on every level . This hotel has become a home for me, and it is here that I have built a family.
Anyone in the future that is looking for a place to stay, I HIGHLY recommend this hotel. You will never find a better staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, February 1, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are so delighted to learn about your experience and that you enjoyed your stay. Our entire staff is committed to creating a memorable stay for each guest throughout every visit. We thank you for your kind words regarding our staff as it is always a pleasure meeting guests for the first time. We hope that you will visit with us again soon. Looking forward to seeing you again. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#13 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#15 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Alexandria, VA hotel's guestroom suites are furnished with a light, contemporary touch, maximizing comfort and style. Take our complimentary shuttle to Huntington Metro, just one mile away, and explore Washington, DC's monuments, museums and top attractions. At our all-suite Alexandria hotel, guests enjoy many modern amenities, including free hot breakfast, shuttle service to Old Town Alexandria, WiFi and parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.