We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Save Saved
You added SpringHill Suites Alexandria to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Alexandria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #11 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Camdenton, Missouri
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We got a great price on this hotel and it was great. Brand new suites and it was great for a family of four with 2 queens and a small pull-out sofa. Charter to the Metro line made Washington DC an easy visit. Also free parking is huge. Security is also great with a police substation next door. Check the rates though -- they seem to vary alot.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Hello Randy1964,

It's truly awesome to know our guests love our hotel.
the price, the location, the 2 Queen beds, pull out sofa,
free parking and most of all, the free hotel shuttle.
Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    78
    16
    9
    1
See reviews for
124
29
7
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for a sightseeing trip to DC. It was a new hotel and everyone in the hotel was very hospitable. The room was clean and sleek. It was a quiet location despite being right off of 95. We used the free shuttle service to the metro which was only about .5 mile away, so it is very convenient for metro riding into DC. The only minor problem was that it took 3 calls and 30 mins. to get someone from the hotel to pick us up from the metro upon our return. Being the metro is about 1-2 minute drive, that seemed excessive. Anyway, overall we were very happy and would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Jimmaw, thanks for the comments about your stay with us.
It's nice to hear that you enjoyed our hotel.
As for the shuttle van times to the metro, we're working on adding a second van to our runs,
the demand has grown much faster, and greater than we expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enola, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The room kept cycling between roasting and freezing, and every time the air conditioner kicked on it woke us up because it was so loud.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear PSD_57,

Thank you for your comment, and feedback..........
As a new hotel, we haven't had any other complaints about our A/C.
Hopefully you mentioned your room number to the front desk, so we
can have Engineering take a look at it, and service that unit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights in order to be close to Washington and Mount Vernon (George Washington's house). Like all Springhill suites we found this one to be clean and comfortable. It looks just like the picture on the website. There is a king bed and a partition dividing the sofa bed. You have a mini fridge and micro. It was comfortable for a family of four. There is a shuttle to the train you take to Washington, although we used our car. To Mount Vernon it is a short drive. We did not check out the indoor pool this time or try the bkfst. Wifi is complimentary and so is pkg.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear trakme7. Thank you for choosing the Springhill Suites Alexandria.
We are so delighted to hear that your four nights stay with us was an enjoyable one.
Guest really love our spacious rooms, with free WiFi, and complimentary breakfast.
We look forward you having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

First and foremost, I always chose Marriott because I have always had great experiences with Marriott hotels. I checked in on a Saturday night, and stayed through Wednesday. We were placed in a room on the ground floor which smelled like chlorine, probably because the pool was on the same floor. However, I don't believe the chlorine made it into the pool because the water was cloudy and murky. The pool was quite possibly the smallest I have ever seen at a hotel. On Monday morning when we woke up, we noticed ants on our nightstand. We called the desk and they sent someone in with a 'Raid' can. I asked her if there was anything else they could do because I did not want to inhale pesticide. She didn't understand what I was saying because she didn't understand English. Someone else knocked on the door, they spoke for a minute and then they came back with a rag and wiped the nightstand down. At this point we left and went to the front desk and asked for a manager who was not there. I spoke with a young man named Joshua, who was extremely friendly and helpful, who wanted to help but stated that all the rooms were occupied. We contacted multiple hotels in the area, and they were all booked, probably because we were attending a conference at the Gaylord that 3500 people plus were attending. So we stayed. We went back to the conference for a few hours and when we returned so had our ants. This time they were along the baseboards of the room, including behind the bed. We called the front desk and Josh sent the cleaning woman up again and she sprayed all along the floor. I asked to have the manager call me, which he did, super friendly, but not very helpful. I was offered a comp but why would I want to stay in another Springhill Suites if I had issues with this one. Long story short, the ants came back again on Tuesday night. When we called the front desk this time at 9:30pm, I was told the maintenance and housekeeping people were gone for the evening. In addition, the beds were not very comfy and the room was noisy at times. Overall this is a shame, because the rooms are large and spacious, and the hotel is only a few months old. Springhill was a great value - nice bathrooms, and overall friendly staff, however that is all void when you have to share your room with bugs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear DomenicaP, thank you for your comments, and feedback. During that time period, every hotel in the area, including us were sold out, which made is challenging when we're at full capacity.
We respected your privacy by not entering the room during your stay since you placed a do not disturb sign on your door. I understand to have valuables in the room, and was not comfortable with us entering in your absence.
Since you departure , our local pest control company has enter the room, and treated it for ants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iuka, Mississippi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

This is a great place to stay especially for the price. The only problem that we had was that when you use a debit card there is an additional fee.We were charged 70.00 that would be returned after 5-7 days.The hotel did not tell us ahead of time about this charge. There is a sign at the very end of the counter that explains this but it is not where it should be. There was a wonderful Ruby Tuesdays whithin walking distance from the hotel and it seems to be a very safe neighborhood. The shuttle will take you a short drive to the Metro or to the free trolly on King Street. This hotel has a great hot breakfast. The rooms are really nice, new and super clean.This hotel has also has a great exercise room that is very modern. We would stay in this area again when we return to DC.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear Tinabug54. It's always nice to hear that our guests love our hot breakfast, clean rooms, and other amenities like the exercise room. and yes , having the Restaurants like Ruby Tuesdays near-by, and the free shuttle in Old Town Alexandria definately is a plus.
We so happy to hear that when to return to the DC area, we would be your hotel of choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

First time at a Springhill Suites property. Old Town Alexandria was all sold out, so I stayed at this property on Marriott points.
Nice greeting by fron desk staff. Very nice spacious room. Notified front desk that a light bulb was out in the room. Do not know if it was out when I checked in.
Free Coffee all day and evening long was a nice added touch. Clean lobby/eating area.
Breakfast was ok. Self made waffles were ok, as were cold cereals, fresh fruits and bagels. Did not eat the flat pancake like scrambled eggs or the sausage patty
Cinnamon danish looked stale. Muffins were cold. Juices were good.
A "do not disturb" sign was in not in the room, so I was unable to put it on the outsdide of the door. Accordingly, the maid only wanted to make up the room, three times in the morning before ten o'clock, as in every ten minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlutc300, General Manager at SpringHill Suites Alexandria, responded to this review, July 25, 2011
Dear Penguinitis. Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us.
Breakfast meats, and eggs are rotated daily. The choices are bacon, sausage patty, or breakfast links. The eggs are either scrambled, egg patties, or omelette.
I'm glad to hear that you enjoy our hot coffee 24 / 7 in the lobby, friendly staff, and spacious rooms.
It's good to hear your stay was on points, and we welcome you back anytime at the Springhill Suites Alexandria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SpringHill Suites Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Alexandria

Address: 6065 Richmond Highway, Alexandria, VA 22303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#11 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Alexandria 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your SpringHill Suites Alexandria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Alexandria Hotel Alexandria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SpringHill Suites Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.