We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Urban Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast to your Saves list
501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“An Urban Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Peake-Fairfax House sounded like just what we were looking for when we visited Washington DC in June, and we weren't disappointed. The location is perfect: right in the heart of Old Town Alexandria and an easy walk and Metro ride to the city. Dorothy and Chet couldn't have been more hospitable, and we very much appreciated their suggestions for restaurants and museums as well as their wonderful croissant for breakfast. Their home is truly a treasure, full of period paintings, furniture, and collectibles. This is surely the place for pure comfort and insiders' comments in beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver,bc
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

If you have never been to Washington the the Peake-Fairfax House is an excellent base. Your hosts discuss your plans with you and make very informative suggestions about sights, pace and restaurants. Being so close to Kings Street in Alexandria means that your evenings can be spent at interesting restaurants an easy walk away (Okay, I did some shopping too.). In five nights we had lots of choice and enjoyed the atmosphere. Chet suggested we see Mt Vernon, an easy drive away and we were so glad we did. Arlington Cemetery was a few train stops away and we had no difficulty getting into Washington each day. We walked to the train each morning and gratefully road the free trolley down Kings Street each night.
Breakfasts were healthy (cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, croissants and boiled eggs or cheese). I liked eating at the dining table with fellow guests and sharing insights and travel experiences. The rooms are on the third floor so be prepared to get your cases up the stairs ( worth the climb). Dorothy and Chet kindly washed some clothes for me which when you are travelling a long time is much appreciated. Linens are changed after 5 days so ration your towels accordingly.
Our stay at the Peake-Fairfax House was a highlight of a three and a half week trip on the East Coast. All the Nagles are WONDERFUL hosts and a stay with them is excellent value.

Room Tip: Choose the Palladian Suite because it has its bathroom ensuite and has black out blinds. The Poetry...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Peake-Fairfax House was perfect for our mini vacation in Old Town Alexandria. The Nagles are wonderful hosts and we thoroughly enjoyed our talks with them. We purchased one of Chet's books and can't wait to read it. We were treated as part of the family (and maybe we are!). It was extraordinary to find a connection with not only a place in England but also a family name. We will certainly return to Peake-Fairfax House when next in Alexandria.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Posting this review is like sharing the name of my favourite two-table restaurant: I'm afraid I'll never get reservations again! Peake-Fairfax House is a gem of a B & B and the Nagles are gracious and engaging hosts. We came to explore the sights of Washington, but were charmed by lively Old Town Alexandria and the Nagles’ elegantly restored home. Indeed, Peake-Fairfax House makes Mount Vernon and Arlington House look a bit shabby! We chose the Poetry room because we were intrigued by the name. It was truly lovely. The walls of the room are adorned with the works of one of their sons, an accomplished poet. Sightseeing is equal parts exhausting and exhilarating and after a day of rushing about, it was a treat to “go home” and ponder a poem before falling asleep. And as we tucked ourselves into our four-poster bed, I couldn’t help but think: George Washington should have been so lucky.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely. Just go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast would always be my first choice when visiting the DC area in the future!!! The Nagle's are great hosts and their place feels like home. Chet has so many wonderful stories to tell and I can't wait to read his books. Dorothy has decorated her home with so many fascinating pieces of art that I could have spent a whole day talking to her about each piece.

Morning breakfast was great and the place settings for breakfast was very fancy and much to my liking. We met their son who in his own right was just as interesting as his parents. They are very easy people to talk to and their 19th century home was just a fun place to visit.

The house is situated in a great location to get over to DC for any sightseeing visits. It was a true pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Either room is very nice but one has a attached bath room while the other is just outside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Peake-Fairfax House was the perfect accommodation for my recent trip to DC with my wife, my twin brother and his wife to celebrate our 60th Birthday. The hospitality shown to us by the Nagle family was top notch. The accommodations were warm, friendly and home-like. We were treated like members of the family and/or old long lost friends. The conversations were always engaging, fascinating and very delightful. Chet and Dorothy had great Old Town dining recommendations and were very helpful in everyway. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was attending an architectural convention. My wife is from Virginia came with me. We found the Peake-Fairfax House the perfect location for each of us. I could catch the Metro for downtown DC and she could explore Old Town Alexandria.

The location met those goals. But the experience exceeded them. The house was just great. According to the Nagles, the house dates from 1812. The interiors are well restored. Those liking great, healthy breakfasts, this is the place.

The Nagles are great hosts. Good conversation and great restaurant recommendations. A winner every evening. Stayed 6 nights. Will return.

Room Tip: Either room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

Address: 501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peake-Fairfax House B&B is an 1816 Old Town Alexandria Townhouse, elegantly furnished with period antiques and modern amenities, and on the Historic Registry. Located in the heart of Old Town only 4 blocks from the waterfront and one block from King Street, you will find restaurants, galleries and shopping just steps from your door. 3 guest suites with fireplaces and private baths. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.