We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Town Charming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast
Save Saved
You added Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast to your Saves list
501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Edwardsville, Illinois
1 review
“Old Town Charming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Peake-Fairfax House was the perfect accommodation for my recent trip to DC with my wife, my twin brother and his wife to celebrate our 60th Birthday. The hospitality shown to us by the Nagle family was top notch. The accommodations were warm, friendly and home-like. We were treated like members of the family and/or old long lost friends. The conversations were always engaging, fascinating and very delightful. Chet and Dorothy had great Old Town dining recommendations and were very helpful in everyway. We will definitely stay again on our next trip to DC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
34
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was attending an architectural convention. My wife is from Virginia came with me. We found the Peake-Fairfax House the perfect location for each of us. I could catch the Metro for downtown DC and she could explore Old Town Alexandria.

The location met those goals. But the experience exceeded them. The house was just great. According to the Nagles, the house dates from 1812. The interiors are well restored. Those liking great, healthy breakfasts, this is the place.

The Nagles are great hosts. Good conversation and great restaurant recommendations. A winner every evening. Stayed 6 nights. Will return.

Room Tip: Either room should be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you have an appreciation for homes from the early 1800’s Federal period, then you will find the Peake-Fairfax house to be something very special and with great character. It is larger than you might expect, nicely restored and beautifully appointed. Dorothy Nagle had been an art dealer so you will find much to enjoy including a large 17th century tapestry in the Poetry room.
The home sits in a lovely area of Old Town Alexandria where a stroll in any direction is enjoyable. The location is close to everything and just one block from King Street which is populated with many restaurants and shops. Mount Vernon is just minutes away and that is a must see if you have never been there.

New Year’s Eve is special in Old Town as they have music and entertainment in more than twenty locations. Fireworks along the river topped off our evening.

Chet and Dorothy Nagle are most gracious hosts and were a pleasure to get to know. We were celebrating our 25th anniversary and were surprised with a vase of roses in our room when we arrived. They made reservations for us at their favorite little French restaurant for New Year’s Eve and hosted us by the fire in their large and beautiful drawing room prior to dinner. Over Champaign and hors d’oeuvres, we got to hear about Chet’s most interesting background and career around the globe. You must make time to hear his stories and check out his thriller novels as well.

It was a great way to start the new year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Gentil, Gabon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

It all began when we decided to spend Christmas back in the US in a "nice" place, not in some routine hotel. We found Peake-Fairfax B&B on the internet and began corresponding. Our first pleasant surprise was that they would take us into their family home for two-plus weeks right through the holidays. But as soon as we arived we understood: this family is amazing. They are the very notion of hospitality, graciousness, warmth and kindness. They thoughtfully accommodated our every need and tolerated all our comings and goings with perfect aplomb. If we put on Trip Advisor everything they did for us, they would be deluged with expectations, so just suffice to say the house, the location, the parking, the local advice - all these merit anyone's choice to stay there - but the Nagles are in a class by themselves and we are truly grateful to have gotten to know them. Stay at the Peake-Fairfax for any goood reason: romance, convenience, charm, healthy food, or just go there so you can know the Nagle family. But go.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed for a week and we had a wonderful time. Location was perfect, right in the heart of Old Town Alexandria, and within walking distance to both a free trolley and the train. The house is a restored colonial that is decorated beautifully. The owners Dot and Chet were the perfect hosts, charming and accommodating. We felt welcome in their home and they were always on hand if we needed anything, from packing breakfast to go when we had an early start, to inviting us to join them for a glass on wine the last night of our stay. Highly recommenced for anyone looking for a place to stay in Alexandria, hope to go back again one day!

Room Tip: Stay in the The Palladian Suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My mom, sisters and I spent this past weekend at the Peake-Fairfax House to celebrate my baby sister's 50th birthday, and I must say, it was spectacular! The home is beautiful, the Nagle family is wonderful, friendly and welcoming, and the town of Alexandria is gorgeous! We were just a block from the main shopping thoroughfare of King Street, and just a few minutes drive to National Harbor and Mt. Vernon. If you are looking for a delightful B & B in a delightful town, be sure to visit the Nagle family at the Peake-Fairfax House. You will NOT be disappointed!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We had a wonderful time celebrating our 5th anniversary with the Nagles!! The house is beautifully decorated and loaded with charm. Great location in Alexandria. Their hospitality was greatly appreciated--they even made our anniversary dinner reservation at a local French restaurant. The Nagles provided a delicious breakfast each day, and they were sure to provide food that was safe for my food allergy. We highly recommend this B&B!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

Address: 501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peake-Fairfax House B&B is an 1816 Old Town Alexandria Townhouse, elegantly furnished with period antiques and modern amenities, and on the Historic Registry. Located in the heart of Old Town only 4 blocks from the waterfront and one block from King Street, you will find restaurants, galleries and shopping just steps from your door. 3 guest suites with fireplaces and private baths. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.