We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great all the way around!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast
Save
You added Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast to your Saves list
501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great all the way around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at Peake-Fairfax for 3 months during the summer while we worked in the DC area. There is not one bad thing to say about the place. The owner and family are extremely nice and accommodating. If you have any questions about the area, issues while visiting, or just want to have a conversation with someone, I guarantee someone in the house will take more than enough out of their schedule to help out.

If you're looking for a hassle-free place to stay, you will not regret choosing Peake-Fairfax. Believe me when I say that anytime someone mentions they are visiting the northern-Virginia area, I will recommend Peake-Fairfax over any other option.

The location is especially good for anyone visiting the Old Town Alexandria area. Peake-Fairfax is a 5 minute walk to the waterfront area, great restaurants, shops, etc. It is also only 1 block away from a free trolley stop, which conveniently takes you to the nearest metro station in less than 10 minutes. So even if you plan on visiting the downtown DC or the National Mall, Peake-Fairfax is still a great option. The nearest metro station takes you straight into the city.

Enoy your stay! There's absolutely no way you won't.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

From the very start we were welcomed into the peake fairfax as if we were family. The place is so gorgeous I had to double check what we were paying! On top of the gorgeous decor the staff (family) that run this place make you an amazing breakfast and are very accomdating. I would definitely recommend this place to any one and would come back without hesitation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Not a bad thing to say about the experience, the family, the home. Fantastic location. Delicious breakfast. Comfortable AND nice lodging - with some history to boot. And, the family is so much fun! Incredibly attentive and helpful from the first contact via email to the bagged breakfast that was left for us for our 4am departure. I cannot say enough good things. My ordinarily picky husband declared that we will never stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

You cannot beat the location of the Peake-Fairfax House for enjoying Old Town Alexandria, and the sites in Washington, D.C. We especially enjoyed a Father's Day brunch with Dorothy and Chet and the other guests. Beautiful art on the walls, comfortable rooms, great location!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great location, lovely family. Very enjoyable. Steps from King Street. The Nagle's have great recommendations for restaurants and other activities.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Peake-Fairfax House is a very good choice for several reasons: the lodging is close to King Street and key historic, culinary, and waterfront attractions. We enjoyed having the town at our fingertips. The price is reasonable, and the accommodations are lovely. We appreciated the healthy breakfast choices and being invited for a glass of wine in the library with hosts Chet and Dorothy during the cocktail hour.

You do need to be in fairly good shape to access your room- the rooms are a full three flights up the stairs. So, keep that in mind when packing a suitcase.

In sum, we had a memorable (restful and joyful) weekend and a big reason is because our get away was not only close to our home but one that transported us to another time and place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Excellent location for walking around historic Alexandria and also for access to central Washington. Great hospitality and healthy choice for breakfast. Lovely rooms with beautiful decor and all modern facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

Address: 501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peake-Fairfax House B&B is an 1816 Old Town Alexandria Townhouse, elegantly furnished with period antiques and modern amenities, and on the Historic Registry. Located in the heart of Old Town only 4 blocks from the waterfront and one block from King Street, you will find restaurants, galleries and shopping just steps from your door. 3 guest suites with fireplaces and private baths. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.