We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peake-Fairfax - Bed and Breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast
Save
You added Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast to your Saves list
501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Yorba Linda, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peake-Fairfax - Bed and Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Great location, lovely family. Very enjoyable. Steps from King Street. The Nagle's have great recommendations for restaurants and other activities.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Peake-Fairfax House is a very good choice for several reasons: the lodging is close to King Street and key historic, culinary, and waterfront attractions. We enjoyed having the town at our fingertips. The price is reasonable, and the accommodations are lovely. We appreciated the healthy breakfast choices and being invited for a glass of wine in the library with hosts Chet and Dorothy during the cocktail hour.

You do need to be in fairly good shape to access your room- the rooms are a full three flights up the stairs. So, keep that in mind when packing a suitcase.

In sum, we had a memorable (restful and joyful) weekend and a big reason is because our get away was not only close to our home but one that transported us to another time and place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Excellent location for walking around historic Alexandria and also for access to central Washington. Great hospitality and healthy choice for breakfast. Lovely rooms with beautiful decor and all modern facilities.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

What a great place to stay and experience Alexandria. The Nagle's are very gracious hosts and the house history is unlike so many other B & B's. Where the house sits, you can walk town, take a water taxi, get into and out of DC. There are so many opportunties. The house is very quiet and welcoming. Thank you Chet and Dorothy for sharing your treasure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Fantastic house that the family restored and furnished with a great eye for detail, as close you can get to staying in an 1820-ish home, but with all the modern conveniences. The hosts are very friendly, entertaining, and knowledgeable. Great restaurant recommendations. We arrived late and they called their favorite french restaurant a few blocks away to make sure they could accommodate us with a meal (which was excellent). The location is super, easy to get to the metro and a block off the main street so it was quiet. We highly recommend! If we ever go back to the DC area, this is the place we'll stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We've been to Old Town Alexandria many times, but this was our first time at Peake Fairfax House and was our best experience. We love the historic nature of Old Town and felt that our stay in this historic home could not have been better. Our hosts, Dorothy and Chet, were welcoming and helpful in making our stay comfortable. We were in the the Poetry Suite, which is cozy but spacious. Staying at the Peake Fairfax House provides comfort with a sense of history, and a personal experience, as well, due to the graciousness and warmth of Dorothy and Chet. We have family in the area and will return (at least, as often as we can get in)!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

After my husband's second deployment to Afghanistan in 2 years, we decided it was time to have the honeymoon we never had. After a lot of searching, we decided that the Peake Fairfax was just the place we were looking for. When we got there we were greeted at the door and made to feel welcome from the first hello. Dorothy and Chet were both warm and friendly and helped us get settled right in. They showed us around their beautiful home and to our suite, that Dorothy upgraded us to for our special time- it was even equipped with a boutique of fresh long stem pink roses. Since we were unsure of the town and where to start, they recommended that we have dinner at this little French place, Dorothy even called and made reservations, and it was wonderful! Some, if not the best food I've ever eaten, I highly recommend the calamari, wow, is all I can say. The Peake Fairfax has the best location, you aren't on the main drag, so you don't get the noise, but within an easy walk to anything you could want. We had breakfast every morning at the time we wanted, none of this having to be down by a certain time; it was catered to us and our wanting to sleep in. Not once did we feel like we were strangers in someone else's home and were even invited to join Dorothy and Chet in their fabulous drawing room for a night of enriching conversation. We had thought that they seemed to be a very welled versed couple and that was proven after a night of hearing about a life that many of us only read about in novels. Such wonderful hosts! If you don't do anything else on your trip, accept their invitation to a night of conversation in the drawing room, you will leave feeling like you are home and that you are staying with long time friends. This is the place to stay if you are in the Alexandria/ D.C. area. In one word; perfect.

Room Tip: The Palladian Suite is amazing, you have a full bath in your suite, an amazing view to the town belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

Address: 501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peake-Fairfax House B&B is an 1816 Old Town Alexandria Townhouse, elegantly furnished with period antiques and modern amenities, and on the Historic Registry. Located in the heart of Old Town only 4 blocks from the waterfront and one block from King Street, you will find restaurants, galleries and shopping just steps from your door. 3 guest suites with fireplaces and private baths. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.