We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back into time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alexandria
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast
Save
You added Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast to your Saves list
501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Alexandria B&B and Inns
Arlington, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A step back into time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

What a great place to stay and experience Alexandria. The Nagle's are very gracious hosts and the house history is unlike so many other B & B's. Where the house sits, you can walk town, take a water taxi, get into and out of DC. There are so many opportunties. The house is very quiet and welcoming. Thank you Chet and Dorothy for sharing your treasure!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
38
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tahoe City, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Fantastic house that the family restored and furnished with a great eye for detail, as close you can get to staying in an 1820-ish home, but with all the modern conveniences. The hosts are very friendly, entertaining, and knowledgeable. Great restaurant recommendations. We arrived late and they called their favorite french restaurant a few blocks away to make sure they could accommodate us with a meal (which was excellent). The location is super, easy to get to the metro and a block off the main street so it was quiet. We highly recommend! If we ever go back to the DC area, this is the place we'll stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We've been to Old Town Alexandria many times, but this was our first time at Peake Fairfax House and was our best experience. We love the historic nature of Old Town and felt that our stay in this historic home could not have been better. Our hosts, Dorothy and Chet, were welcoming and helpful in making our stay comfortable. We were in the the Poetry Suite, which is cozy but spacious. Staying at the Peake Fairfax House provides comfort with a sense of history, and a personal experience, as well, due to the graciousness and warmth of Dorothy and Chet. We have family in the area and will return (at least, as often as we can get in)!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

After my husband's second deployment to Afghanistan in 2 years, we decided it was time to have the honeymoon we never had. After a lot of searching, we decided that the Peake Fairfax was just the place we were looking for. When we got there we were greeted at the door and made to feel welcome from the first hello. Dorothy and Chet were both warm and friendly and helped us get settled right in. They showed us around their beautiful home and to our suite, that Dorothy upgraded us to for our special time- it was even equipped with a boutique of fresh long stem pink roses. Since we were unsure of the town and where to start, they recommended that we have dinner at this little French place, Dorothy even called and made reservations, and it was wonderful! Some, if not the best food I've ever eaten, I highly recommend the calamari, wow, is all I can say. The Peake Fairfax has the best location, you aren't on the main drag, so you don't get the noise, but within an easy walk to anything you could want. We had breakfast every morning at the time we wanted, none of this having to be down by a certain time; it was catered to us and our wanting to sleep in. Not once did we feel like we were strangers in someone else's home and were even invited to join Dorothy and Chet in their fabulous drawing room for a night of enriching conversation. We had thought that they seemed to be a very welled versed couple and that was proven after a night of hearing about a life that many of us only read about in novels. Such wonderful hosts! If you don't do anything else on your trip, accept their invitation to a night of conversation in the drawing room, you will leave feeling like you are home and that you are staying with long time friends. This is the place to stay if you are in the Alexandria/ D.C. area. In one word; perfect.

Room Tip: The Palladian Suite is amazing, you have a full bath in your suite, an amazing view to the town belo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Beautifully restored early 19th century house with period furnishings. We were welcomed to use the library and enjoyed a 5PM glass of wine with Christian, an enthusiastic and welcoming host. Artwork is everywhere. One block from King Street which has a free trolley. Only one hotel has a better location, and it won't be one of the most memorable parts of your trip as this place was for us. Breakfast was a simple, though elegant, affair. As we are not big breakfast people, this was fine. If you need your bacon and eggs in the morning, you'll want to find a restaurant later - it will be a short walk and your hosts can send you in the right direction.
Our room was a nice size, the bed was VERY comfortable, and the bathroom new and modern. We could see King St from our windows. We will definitely stay here again if we have the occasion to visit the area.

Room Tip: The Paladium has the bathroom attached, the other room you have to cross the hall, but the B/R is st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
little rock arkansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Our stay at this lovely, historic townhouse was the final stop on an historic tour of Virginia that my husband and I made with our close friends in mid-October. Quite often I find that part of the joy of a vacation is to be found in the planning of it and that was indeed the case on this trip as Dorothy was so very helpful and prompt in replying to our emails. This 19th century home is beautiful and made even more so by the presence of its owners, Dorothy and Chet. As others have written in their reviews, the time spent in the parlor sharing a glass of wine and rich conversation with these lovely people was one of the delights of our stay with them. (too, we had the very good fortune of meeting and chatting with one of their sons who was visiting)

Breakfast was served in the dining room each morning with selections of yogurt, fresh fruits, a nice assortment of cereals, breads and hard boiled eggs. Of course, it was elegantly served on fine china and silver which made it taste all the more delicious. Part of the fun of any great vacation is experiencing a good laugh or two........even if the joke is on YOURSELF! Well, that was the case the first morning when I poured myself a much anticipated cup of coffee and helped myself to the cream and SUGAR............or so I THOUGHT! The tiny spoon in the pretty silver container was of course a SALT CELLAR! (with the packets of sugar nearby) Chet is probably still laughing at the site of me in the kitchen puckered and pouring out my brew.

As per our request, Dorothy and Chet made several recommendations for dining during our stay and we especially enjoyed Le Refuge, If you go be sure and try the Coquilles St. Jacques. It was one of the best dishes I've ever had in my life. My husband and our friends enjoyed the dover sole.

Though we had an early departure for the airport, Dorothy and Chet went the extra mile in preparing breakfast for us which we so appreciated. (especially the yummy croissants) We do hope to have the good fortune of returning to the Peake-Fairfax House and all the "wonderful" within sometime in the future. If only our party had known what royal company we'd be keeping in Alexandria we'd have paid more attention to the instruction we received in the proper way to curtsey and bow while in Williamsburg.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Having stayed exclusively in Bed and Breakfasts during the last 7 years, our experience at the Peake-Fairfax was truly exceptional. I spend quite a bit of time picking out the best B&B for each of our trips, so I knew this place would be wonderful. And it was. The owners, Dot and Chet, along with Christian, their son, made our stay very enjoyable. It was such a pleasure spending an evening with them in their parlor during our stay. This family is very unique. To hear about their travels and life experiences is worth the trip alone! Dot is an extrodinary woman. Chet is a very accomplished man and in his retirement he has become a novalist. No wonder their three children are so accomplished, and Christian, who happened to come home during our stay, is a real charmer. Their home is beautiful, decorated with many antiques and the renovation of this 1800's building shows their extreme attention to detail. Breakfast was lovely every morning dining in the beautiful dining room. The table was set with fine china and it was such a pleasure speaking with the other couples also staying at this B&B. The location is fantastic. The B&B is located just a couple of blocks from King street which is the main street through this quaint town. There is a trolley which takes you to the Metro which makes getting around an easy experience. Taking the Metro into DC was quick. We did not have a car and getting around was very easy. We took the Metro from the airport directly to Alexandria and then the trolley dropped us two blocks away from the B&B. Every morning we would take the trolley to the Metro and then the Metro into DC. We also walked several times to the Metro and the walk was quite enjoyable. Their are many shops and restaurants along King Street including many antique shops. When returning to Washington DC, the Peake-Fairfax House will definitely be our home away from home.

Room Tip: Their are only two bed rooms availble for guests on the third floor of the B&B. There is a loft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast

Address: 501 Cameron Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peake-Fairfax House B&B is an 1816 Old Town Alexandria Townhouse, elegantly furnished with period antiques and modern amenities, and on the Historic Registry. Located in the heart of Old Town only 4 blocks from the waterfront and one block from King Street, you will find restaurants, galleries and shopping just steps from your door. 3 guest suites with fireplaces and private baths. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peake-Fairfax House Bed&Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.