We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fall off the bone braised pork” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Firehouse

Columbia Firehouse
109 S. Saint Asaph St., Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 683-1776
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 627 restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King St.
DC
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fall off the bone braised pork”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Went here with some friends last friday night. If you do go and you dont want to sit in the dark area in the back and it can be dark ask to sit on the left as you walk in. the place is an old firehouse and the part on the left is the garage i believe. Very open and bright. there are some seats on the patio but those fill fast and people do wait for those. service was great and very helpful and knowledgeable of the menu. started off with onion rings and a sausage and cheese appetizer. chicken sausage had a little kick but we sent both platters back empty. We had four different entrees. the pork was exceptional, my wife's steak was cooked to perfection. she likes it well done, and they did it without burning it. I would also highly recommend the beef ribs stroganoff. Again the meat just fell off the bones. So tender. Dessert was also great. They have a sample platter that has 6 large bite size desserts on it. easy to share for a table of four but we also ordered a couple full desserts as well. the chocolate Pot De Creme. it was like a fancy pudding. Excellent

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    79
    63
    31
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester NY area
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great menu, food and decor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Right off of King Street.in an old firehouse.
Huge menu. Great food. Bar service was right on.
Moderately priced. Can bring children here..

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“nice location, good seafood”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

I was part of a group of 4 adults and one teenager who had dinner at the Columbia Firehouse in August 2013. Three of us ordered mussels, and the mussels were very good in a generous portion. The ribs were described as "so-so." The lighting was very dark, so it was difficult to read the menu. The service was good. I had been to the restaurant in July and had an appetizer made with osso buco which was delicious; my companion had a seafood appetizer that was also very good. Stick to the seafood and you won't go wrong!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malvern, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A great evening meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This restaurant felt authentic from the moment we walked in the door. The food and service were excellent and the menus choice was varied.

I loved the setting and being surrounded by soft lighting and candles. Really atmospheric.

I had a salad which was fresh and tasty but the rest of my party went for burgers which were stacked high, cooked as ordered and very tasty.

A great dining experience

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quality food and excellent drafts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We ere there for a lunch. They serve a limited menu for lunch but the quality was excellent. Service and draft beers were very satisfactory, too. We will visit it again for dinner!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Firehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.