We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and drinks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Firehouse

Columbia Firehouse
109 S. Saint Asaph St., Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 683-1776
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 647 restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King St.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food and drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

All 5 of our party had seafood. Mussels were great appetizer.
Great beer selections. Portions perfect. Planned on happy hour but only served at bar. Our table was downstairs. Dark but fun.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    81
    74
    36
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good for a drink, not so much for dinner”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We went to the Columbia Firehouse because our daughter, who moved to Alexandria, had heard about the historic building from friends. We looked at the menu online and it seemed to have a pretty good variety for the five of us. Upon entering, the bar was crowded and very loud, but we ordered a drink and TRIED to talk, but it was useless. We were so relieved when we were taken to a table upstairs. The upstairs is absolutely beautiful, in a Victorian theme with a grand staircases and lovely lighting. Our server regretfully had to tell us that they were out of shrimp (at 8:30pm) so we ordered oysters, steak and chicken pot pie. Oysters were the smallest we've ever had, steak was ok and the chicken pot pie was almost burned and dried out. Needless to say, we will never go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Always a good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Seven of us for dinner on a Saturday night. We arrived early so we had drinks at the bar waiting for our table. The bar service was exceptional which has always been my experience and they have a great beer and wine selection. Our table was ready at our reserved time and we were seated promptly. We had a variety of appetizers and entries, and all of the food was good to very good according to reports from our party. The one aspect of Columbia Firehouse that I do not like is that entries do not come with soup or salad, they must be ordered separately. The service was very good and I continue to recommend Columbia Firehouse.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great service, above average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a big eatery, and we landed here because we couldn't get reservations at choices 1 (Gadsby's) or 2 (Majestic) and wanted a good meal. Everyone was satisfied. We'd been at Mount Vernon all day and were hungry. The kids enjoyed their selections, my steak was appropriately medium rare, and the wine and beer lists were good. Service was efficient, and the atmosphere quite nice. For families, it is a good compromise. A nice atmosphere and good selections for the adults, but also a decent menu for the kids.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's a great space but very noisy. Food is average - service is very good. It's definitely overrated however...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Firehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.