We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere, great service, above average food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbia Firehouse

Columbia Firehouse
109 S. Saint Asaph St., Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
(703) 683-1776
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Columbia Firehouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 644 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $31 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Old Town
Cross street: King St.
South Orange, New Jersey
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, great service, above average food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a big eatery, and we landed here because we couldn't get reservations at choices 1 (Gadsby's) or 2 (Majestic) and wanted a good meal. Everyone was satisfied. We'd been at Mount Vernon all day and were hungry. The kids enjoyed their selections, my steak was appropriately medium rare, and the wine and beer lists were good. Service was efficient, and the atmosphere quite nice. For families, it is a good compromise. A nice atmosphere and good selections for the adults, but also a decent menu for the kids.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    86
    41
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

It's a great space but very noisy. Food is average - service is very good. It's definitely overrated however...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sat. Apr 6, 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I attended a private dining experience and we were able to select from two menu choices. I had a starter of carrot and ginger soup - which was delicious. The second course was a grilled breast of chicken over green beans and mashed potatoes. It was just average - with basically no flavor. The chicken breast was thin and dryed out and the beans and potatoes were bland. The dessert was a pear and apple crisp with ice cream and that was pretty good, but the crumb topping overpowered the icecream and fruit filling. The price tag for this meal was $32. I left disappointedin the food. The service however, was outstanding! The decor and atmosphere was also very lovely. Perhaps I'll go back for another try and see if the food is better when ordering from the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Decent but certainly not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Went there Easter Sunday for dinner Open Table for reservation basically walked in and was seated within minutes of arriving. Placed order for drinks received glass of wine $9.00 probably 1/4 full where we are from $9.00 would bring 2+ glasses of wine (similar brand) same amount. Bottom line food order was similar if your looking for decent size drinks and modest food portions this is not the place to visit. Food was well prepared but small portions

GREAT decor lots of fine wood and stained glass for my pocketbook just a little over the top

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas/fort worth
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We got the mussels. Yum! Loved the fries and bread that came with. Overall experience was wonderful. Historic and beautiful building. Highly recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Columbia Firehouse also viewed

 

Been to Columbia Firehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbia Firehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.