We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and affordable Ethiopian plates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caboose Cafe & Bakery

Caboose Cafe & Bakery
2419 Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA 22301-1352
703-566-1283
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #210 of 670 Restaurants in Alexandria
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good and affordable Ethiopian plates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good and affordable Ethiopian plates. $10 vegan meal included an entrée and two sides -- chosen from five options -- plus injera or rice. The flavor and spices were really good, but I was a little disappointed by the inconsistent reheating. The cabbage and potato dish ranged from cold to steaming hot. My friend’s salad, while tasty, seemed to lack dressing. Service was pleasant and attentive. It would be nice if management installed a shade on the front window. As the sun came out, it became unbearably bright, though there were enough empty tables that we could move to another. I would be happy to go there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hidden surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just stumbled upon this little local restaurant for dinner quite by accident, but were so impressed that we went back three nights later for a second time (our anniversary). The lamb kabobs are spectacular as was the beet salad, and the ceviche salad. The homemade bread and homemade hummus were also spectacular. On the second night I tried the Ethiopian sampler and found everything to be very, very good. My wife had the eggplant parmesan which I even enjoyed (I'm not an eggplant fan) and don't forget the couscous! The restaurant is not that fancy, and the service was good, but nothing special, but the food was absolutely fantastic. The day in between we went to Vaso's Greek restaurant, which is rated #1 in Alexandria, and it was very good, but not nearly a good as the unassuming Caboose Cafe.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Underwhelming cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The lunch was only average. The jicama and mango salad with chicken forgot the chicken. Just a few thin slices laid on top. It made for a very expensive plate of jicama and mango. My husband had a Cuban sandwich or should I say their idea of one. It had very dry chorizo on it and the bread was dry except for the red oil dripping out of it from the sausage. The flavor was not at all what a Cuban sandwich should be. It was also overpriced for the small size. I'll give the other location a chance but was not impressed with what we had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure. Looks like a simple coffee shop but dinner is great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The caboose is a very friendly neighborhood cafe serving muffins lattes and sandwiches by day. At night it turns into a relaxed and delicious dinner spot. The owners are Ethiopian and while my husband opts for one of their comforting dinner items, spaghetti chicken pram, Etc. I always get one their Ethiopian Chicken inflay or beef zizitibs are 2 of my faves. Caboose also has a lovely patio -- prefect for people and dog watching

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Came with high hopes but went away disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to Caboose Cafe on a Friday evening for dinner. It was listed in a vegetarian dining guide, so we thought we'd give it a try since we were in the area.

We sat outside on the patio, which is a lovely setting!

We ordered some drinks and the Ethiopian vegan sampler for two. Sadly, it took more than a half an hour for the food to come out. The food was alright when it was served.

I asked what fresh juices they had, and I was told the orange juice was freshly squeezed. However, what I was served did not taste freshly squeezed.

I don't think we are likely to dine there again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caboose Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Caboose Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caboose Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.