We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and affordable Ethiopian plates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caboose Cafe & Bakery

Caboose Cafe & Bakery
2419 Mount Vernon Ave, Alexandria, VA 22301-1352
703-566-1283
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 30 Bakeries in Alexandria
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good and affordable Ethiopian plates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Good and affordable Ethiopian plates. $10 vegan meal included an entrée and two sides -- chosen from five options -- plus injera or rice. The flavor and spices were really good, but I was a little disappointed by the inconsistent reheating. The cabbage and potato dish ranged from cold to steaming hot. My friend’s salad, while tasty, seemed to lack dressing. Service was pleasant and attentive. It would be nice if management installed a shade on the front window. As the sun came out, it became unbearably bright, though there were enough empty tables that we could move to another. I would be happy to go there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Omed6304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden surprise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We just stumbled upon this little local restaurant for dinner quite by accident, but were so impressed that we went back three nights later for a second time (our anniversary). The lamb kabobs are spectacular as was the beet salad, and the ceviche salad. The homemade bread and homemade hummus were also spectacular. On the second night I tried the Ethiopian sampler and found everything to be very, very good. My wife had the eggplant parmesan which I even enjoyed (I'm not an eggplant fan) and don't forget the couscous! The restaurant is not that fancy, and the service was good, but nothing special, but the food was absolutely fantastic. The day in between we went to Vaso's Greek restaurant, which is rated #1 in Alexandria, and it was very good, but not nearly a good as the unassuming Caboose Cafe.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Underwhelming cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The lunch was only average. The jicama and mango salad with chicken forgot the chicken. Just a few thin slices laid on top. It made for a very expensive plate of jicama and mango. My husband had a Cuban sandwich or should I say their idea of one. It had very dry chorizo on it and the bread was dry except for the red oil dripping out of it from the sausage. The flavor was not at all what a Cuban sandwich should be. It was also overpriced for the small size. I'll give the other location a chance but was not impressed with what we had.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jdb1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
159 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“An unexpected treasure. Looks like a simple coffee shop but dinner is great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

The caboose is a very friendly neighborhood cafe serving muffins lattes and sandwiches by day. At night it turns into a relaxed and delicious dinner spot. The owners are Ethiopian and while my husband opts for one of their comforting dinner items, spaghetti chicken pram, Etc. I always get one their Ethiopian Chicken inflay or beef zizitibs are 2 of my faves. Caboose also has a lovely patio -- prefect for people and dog watching

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kaj2600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Came with high hopes but went away disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We went to Caboose Cafe on a Friday evening for dinner. It was listed in a vegetarian dining guide, so we thought we'd give it a try since we were in the area.

We sat outside on the patio, which is a lovely setting!

We ordered some drinks and the Ethiopian vegan sampler for two. Sadly, it took more than a half an hour for the food to come out. The food was alright when it was served.

I asked what fresh juices they had, and I was told the orange juice was freshly squeezed. However, what I was served did not taste freshly squeezed.

I don't think we are likely to dine there again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank maverickflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caboose Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Caboose Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing