We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bike and boat!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bike and Roll Alexandria

Bike and Roll Alexandria
Alexandria Waterfront, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)
+1 202-842-2453
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 24 Activities in Alexandria
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: From our Alexandria location, we offer two amazing full day adventures to George Washington's Mount Vernon. "Mount Vernon by Bike and Boat" includes: bike rental, helmet, lock, Mount Vernon admission, bike pick-up from Mount Vernon, and Potomac Riverboat Co. ticket back to Old Town Alexandria. "Mount Vernon by Bike" includes full day bike rental, helmet, lock and Mount Vernon admission; bike both ways. 24 hour advance reservation required.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Bike and boat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We did the bike/boat combination to Mount Vernon and it was great. They are very customer service oriented with information, directions etc. We had planned to bike both ways but when we saw this option we gave it a try. Glad we did!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    3
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Decatur, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“You will rock & roll with these folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I looked online for the best deal and I liked what Bike & Roll had to offer. I called them to test their customer service skills. I liked what I heard. They were very accommodating. They are located in the perfect part of town. Leslie and company gave me good directions and made me feel good about my choice. I was pleased to know that they had outlets in other cities. I do this a lot and I'll make them my number one choice.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bike and Boat Alexandria to Mount Vernon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We called Saturday morning at the last minute and were very graciously accommodated with a late reservation. The bikes we rented were in great shape; comfortable and easy to ride. With the exception of the challenges of a hot, humid day and a few steep hills near Mount Vernon the bike ride was scenic, relaxing and smooth. The nine mile trail is quite busy with bikers and joggers as well as with park rangers along the way. Take something to drink and a snack......or even a lunch as there are several picnic spots.
Allow at least an hour for your bike ride and a minimum of 2 or 3 hours to view Mount Vernon.
Afterwards, we relaxed at the wharf and enjoyed the shade, a cool drink and a wonderful breeze as we waited for the 4:00 boat departure.
The boat tour was narrated by Captain and Crew with interesting and off beat historical tidbits as well as information about the Potomac Waterway.
We arrived in Alexandra around 5:15 after a brief stop at National Harbor.
I would recommend this tour as a wonderful way to combine a scenic bike ride, boat trip and not-to-be missed tour of Mount Vernon. It really takes a full day to do it justice, but well worth the time and money.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Mount Vernon Trail and Monuments by Bike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had a Groupon for 2 all-day comfort hybrid rentals. The bicycles perform well on the Mount Vernon Trail, where the occasional crack and wooden bridge can make for a bumpy ride. They provide you with helmets (highly recommended) and U-locks (great if you want to stop by the monuments and walk around). Picking up and dropping the bicycles off was a breeze. Will definitely rent bicycles from them in the future.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Mount Vernon bike and boat experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We have used bike and roll in other cities and have never been disapointed. This location has a self guided tour that takes you along a paved trail to Mt. Vernon. Tickets to Mt. Vernon are included then you leave your bikes there and take a boat back to Alexandria. This tour was delightful. The bikes are well maintained and have comfortable seats. The bike ride part was long enough to get good exercise and we could go at our own pace. The scenery was beautiful. The tickets to the boat ride and to Mt. Vernon were ready when we arrived and the staff was friendly.

A couple of suggestions if you take this tour:
1. Take a bottle of water! There is no place to purchase water along the way since this is a bike ride along the river and through woods.
2. Use a helmet! For some reason, the staff didn't offer us helmets, but they were available when we asked for them. There are parts of the trail that are rather steep declines and you can get to pretty high speeds.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bike and Roll Alexandria also viewed

 

Been to Bike and Roll Alexandria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bike and Roll Alexandria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.