We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for business and family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A la Lucia

A la Lucia
315 Madison St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1707
703-836-5123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A la Lucia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 644 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Royal St. (800 Block)
Transit: The closest MetroRail Stop is Braddock Road (Yellow and Blue Lines) Distance 12 Blocks, however walking is not recommended. Alexandria Dash Bus #AT2 and/or #AT5 Bus will stop accross the street from the restaurant.
Boston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great for business and family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was there with 30 colleagues so we basically had a room upstairs with a bar all to ourselves. The appetizers were ok. I love the cap rest salad. My salmon dish was very good! The pistachio cannoli was good. I had a taste of their pistachio gelato which was also good too. It's a bit outside of Old Town downtown but very quaint!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    38
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“A pleasure to eat at A la Lucia.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We were staying at the Crowne Plaza hotel when the A la Lucia was recommended to us by our tour guide.It was the best piece of information she gave us throughout the tour.Located five minutes from the hotel in Madison Street,this wonderful restaurant gave us the perfect dining experience for a family of three.There was an extensive menu,excellent food,a fine selection of wines and a really efficient service.
Wouldn't hesitate to revisit A la Lucia.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“dinner visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

as always, everything was fantastic....the food, the atmosphere and the staff were all great!
this is a great neighborhood gem.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful bit of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great little neighborhood Italian restaurant. Very welcoming staff. Good food. great bread. Nice family place. Bar is very inviting. Bartender makes you feel at home.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Virginia is for 'Pasta' Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Drive through the main drag in Old Town Alexandria and pass about fifty other dining options...Eventually you'll make it to Madison Street's A la Lucia where homemade pasta is served! The pasta has some bite/texture so if you want the mushy, overcooked, sip through a straw senior home style kindly go to the Olive Garden. This pasta is delicious. There's a variety of red sauces to choose from. I sampled three of them. Also, we had the chicken parmesan which was pounded thin and tender. Staff service was gracious. Our table was serviced by approximately five different staff members catering to water needs, appetizer needs...etc. The bathroom was a single unit caught between a bar hallway and dining area. A little too close to the dining room and tables. I can imagine that might be a problem at some point with bathroom deposits.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A la Lucia also viewed

 

Been to A la Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A la Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.