We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful bit of Italy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A la Lucia

A la Lucia
315 Madison St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1707
703-836-5123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A la Lucia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 668 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Royal St. (800 Block)
Transit: The closest MetroRail Stop is Braddock Road (Yellow and Blue Lines) Distance 12 Blocks, however walking is not recommended. Alexandria Dash Bus #AT2 and/or #AT5 Bus will stop accross the street from the restaurant.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful bit of Italy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Great little neighborhood Italian restaurant. Very welcoming staff. Good food. great bread. Nice family place. Bar is very inviting. Bartender makes you feel at home.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    48
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Virginia is for 'Pasta' Lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Drive through the main drag in Old Town Alexandria and pass about fifty other dining options...Eventually you'll make it to Madison Street's A la Lucia where homemade pasta is served! The pasta has some bite/texture so if you want the mushy, overcooked, sip through a straw senior home style kindly go to the Olive Garden. This pasta is delicious. There's a variety of red sauces to choose from. I sampled three of them. Also, we had the chicken parmesan which was pounded thin and tender. Staff service was gracious. Our table was serviced by approximately five different staff members catering to water needs, appetizer needs...etc. The bathroom was a single unit caught between a bar hallway and dining area. A little too close to the dining room and tables. I can imagine that might be a problem at some point with bathroom deposits.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Homemade pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Excellent dinner in old town! off the beaten path. Free parking on the street and easy to get to. The meal was amazing from start to finish!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great service ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

... Even better food. Veal was done perfectly. Salads and soups are very good. Highly recommended. --------------------

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa.
Top Contributor
351 reviews 351 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“A la Lucia - Bella, bella, bella!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We dined at this lovely neighborhood Italian restaurant recently whilce visiting Old Town Alexandria recently for a birthday celebration and oh my was it excellent.

We were seated promptly, provided with excellent and efficient service and adored the wonderful food. My wife had their salmon which she loved and I had one of the most tender, wonderful Veal chops I have ever had anywhere!

Their wine list is a good one with reasonable prices.

It is located on Madison and Royal streets just about 8 blocks north of King St in a residential area so you can walk it but we took a cab from our hotel down King st near the Metro.

I can highly recommend this truly fine Italian restaurant to you and you too will say it is bella, bella, bella! Enjoy!

Ciao!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A la Lucia also viewed

 

Been to A la Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A la Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.