We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A la Lucia

A la Lucia
315 Madison St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1707
703-836-5123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A la Lucia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 650 Restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Royal St. (800 Block)
Transit: The closest MetroRail Stop is Braddock Road (Yellow and Blue Lines) Distance 12 Blocks, however walking is not recommended. Alexandria Dash Bus #AT2 and/or #AT5 Bus will stop accross the street from the restaurant.
Alexandria, Va.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

On special occasions we have the three course dinner here, and it is always fabulous! On regular visits, I'm more likely to have a salad and appetizer, and I've always been very happy with the choice. The fresh pastas are always delicious, and the gelato is wonderful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    39
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent meal for a large family group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

On December 19, 2013, I visited A La Lucia in Alexandria, Virginia, with a group of 12. We had made a reservation, and when we arrived at the restaurant, we were promptly seated at a large round table in a private room in the back of the restaurant. We ordered the fixed menu for about $34 a person. For this price, we received an appetizer, entree, and dessert. Our food was excellent. Mussels, soup, salad, calamari, black linguini, salmon, coffee panna cotta, chocolate mousse — all was delicious and perfectly prepared. Our waiter was outstanding. The arrival of each course was perfectly timed and our water glasses were rarely empty. The evening couldn’t have gone better — we were able to visit with family and friends and enjoy a delightful meal together.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had not been here in a while and were delighted to find it quite literally better than ever. From the delicious, well-prepared food to the friendly, efficient wait staff we thoroughly enjoyed an unhurried dinner. We recommend it highly - and will be back. A small bonus - easy parking by comparison to most Alexandria restaurants.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endwell, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellence in Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It had been 4 years since my last visit and nothing had changed in those 4 years regarding the superb food and service. Wine, mussels appetizer, seafood ravioli and chocolate cake were the items I ordered and it was all delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Excellent service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Décor is not the best but the food and service more than make up for the decoration. I had the special - black linguine with lobster. Wonderful! A must try if you like off the beaten path dining!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A la Lucia also viewed

 

Been to A la Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A la Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.