We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place walking distance from the Potomic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A la Lucia

A la Lucia
315 Madison St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1707
703-836-5123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A la Lucia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 670 Restaurants in Alexandria
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Royal St. (800 Block)
Transit: The closest MetroRail Stop is Braddock Road (Yellow and Blue Lines) Distance 12 Blocks, however walking is not recommended. Alexandria Dash Bus #AT2 and/or #AT5 Bus will stop accross the street from the restaurant.
Baltimore Maryland
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice place walking distance from the Potomic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very nice Italian restaurant close to the river. The food was very good and the wait staff was excellent. My family had Easter dinner and ordered from the regular menu. They also had a special price fixe that day. Bread with olive oil was served with the meal. After dinner we all had cappuccino. They came in very large cups and served hot. Excellent!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    48
    12
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem near Old Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our "go-to" place in Alexandria when we want good Italian food. Always consistent food and good wine pairings. Our only complaint is about the tables in the rear dining room. If you're stuck at a table along the wall there will be no privacy at all. You are literally inches away from your neighbor. They would do us all a favor by taking one out. A minor annoyance, however.

Try for a table up front or in the middle of the back room and you'll have a wonderful experience!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Keys to Success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Consistent good food with moderate prices. If you are a regular, this is the place home away from home in OldTown, Alexandria. The staff is almost the same since they opened 7 years ago! The owner is the key to their success, because he can keep the same staff year in year out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We dined here last night. It was early on a Saturday. We were the only diners but an hour later the restaurant was filled.

The menu is varied. The waitress was very helpful guiding us on what she thought were the best dishes. I had the veal scallopine with fontina cheese and fresh green beans. It was delicious and finished with the pistachio gelato. The two other guests dining with me were equally impressed with their entrées. The wine list was very adequate. A delicious focaccia and bruschetta were served while we awaited our main course.

I recommend this restaurant. There are other Italian restaurants in this neighborhood and this one scores higher.

Very family friendly!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
1 review
“Best in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We go there at least once or twice a month ...I normally order the trio ( pick appetizer, main dish and desert ) price $ 35..not bad at all..services are great and very friendly. Always make reservation since is always busy specially saturday night.
Wine list only Italian . Their seafood with black pasta very unique and delicious.
Great and romantic place !

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A la Lucia also viewed

 

Been to A la Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A la Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.