We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian at its best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of A la Lucia

A la Lucia
315 Madison St, Alexandria, VA 22314-1707
703-836-5123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
A la Lucia is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 641 restaurants in Alexandria
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: North Royal St. (800 Block)
Transit: The closest MetroRail Stop is Braddock Road (Yellow and Blue Lines) Distance 12 Blocks, however walking is not recommended. Alexandria Dash Bus #AT2 and/or #AT5 Bus will stop accross the street from the restaurant.
Concord, NC
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Real Italian at its best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Our party of four arrived around 8:00 p.m. on a Friday evening WITHOUT reservations and was greeted by a real Italian fellow at the front door with a big smile. Table for four he asked, with a very thick Italian accent. We followed this gentleman through a very crowded and noisey restaurant. The wait staff came right away to our table with menus in hand and took our drink order. Each of our meals arrived in a timely fashion and the food tasted great! Later we all dined on gelato deserts. Parking was available on the street just outside the restaurant.
The next time we're in Alexandria we'll be back here again. I highly recommend this place for all.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    48
    34
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great prix fix menu!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My wife and I are frequent guests at A la Lucia and always love their three course prix fix menu ($34 at dinner). The prix fix offers many choices of appetizer, entrees and desserts. You can, of course, choose ala carte instead. On our recent visit, I started with the endive, roasted pear and gorgonzola salad, had the veal scallopini with sage wine sauce as my entree and finished with a ricotta cheesecake (lighter than the NY cheesecake style). All were perfectly prepared -- a genuine taste of Italy.

The service, as always, was flawless. Our waiter eagerly helped with wine choices, and helped us choose our entrees. His advice was spot-on.

We've been to many restaurants in Alexandria and this is one of our favorites. An added bonus is that free street parking is more readily available than metered parking along the King St. restaurant corridor.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, New York
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nice Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The restaurant is close to the Sheraton Suites in a neighborhood area. This place is not located close to King Street. We drove from our hotel and there is ample parking in the area. We had a 7:00pm reservation. The place was packed at this time and we were told that it would be about 15 minutes before our table would be available. We were asked to adjourn to the bar area. I agree with other reviewers about the bartenders. Ordered two glasses of wine, paid the bill and the bartender didn't bring back the change. I didn't like the fact that he assumed the remainder was his tip. Other than this incident, we had a good time. Food was good. Would definitely repeat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

Awesome food. Best I had in Alexandria. It's not the seaside ambiance of a honeymoon restaurant on the shore, but it's an outstanding value and the food is wonderful

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good for neighborhood, but better restaurants on King Street”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

A friend told me that A La Lucia was better than my favorite restaurant on King St so we were anxious to dine there. I went at 6 on a weeknight and it was crowded; I recommend you make reservations. Our food was good, not great, and definitely not a good value. A glass of the house Chianti cost $11 and it was a poor wine. I'm going back to Old Town proper for excellent quality food for the same price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A la Lucia also viewed

 

Been to A la Lucia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A la Lucia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.