We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Alexandria Mark Center to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking & Wifi Deal!
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Clarkston, Michigan
1 review
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel. The staff was so helpful from our bellhop Justin , the excellent room service delivered our breakfast and dinner timely, hot and delicious. I was concerned when our room was across from the elevators but it was very quiet and we heard no hall notice at all. It is a beautiful hotel and our room was very clean. We pleasantly surprised with the free shuttle service to the metro station every half hour! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our hotel. We were very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Than you for the kind words about Justin and our Room Service team - they love to hear that their service had a positive impact on a guests' stay.
We look forward to being of service to you again soon!

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    291
    148
    82
    61
See reviews for
184
155
75
369
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

I loved this hotel. It was clean, modern and well-maintained. The beds were extremely comfortable and the sheets were crisp and clean. Though not right in DC, the hotel was an excellent value for the money.

The lobby is very inviting and ended up being a great hang out spot, complete with a bar, chairs and tvs. There's also a great pool outside and a patio with more benches, tables, etc. and some great work space for getting online or studying/working on business projects, etc.

I was here for work and attended part of the Animal Rights Conference that was going on that weekend, and have to say the hotel made the best vegan food I have ever eaten. I have never been so thoroughly impressed by a display of 100% vegan food. My only complaint is that the in-house restaurant did not offer any vegan options, and very few vegetarian options.

I have traveled all over the world, and travel frequently for business, and this was, by far, one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel during the Animal Rights Conference. We were very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for the kind words about our Vegan menus during the conference; our Chef and Culinary Team really enjoy creating menus that meet the specific needs of our groups, and they will be excited to read your review.
We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my 13 y.o. daughter, 5 y.o. son and husband. The beds were clean and comfortable. The front desk staff and shuttle drivers were very kind and helpful. We used the free shuttle to the Metro every day during our stay. Sometimes we had to stay on the shuttle while it stopped at the airport on the return trip from the Metro to the hotel. My only complaint about this hotel is the lax standards for housekeeping. The tub tile was moldy when we checked in. The furniture was in need of a thorough polishing/cleaning. For some reason, the outdoor half of the pool was clean, but the inside pool seemed dirty around the filters at the bottom of the pool. There was a lifeguard on duty at all times when we used the pool. We checked out early because our plans changed and we were refunded the full amount for parking.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, September 27, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our hotel. We were very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for the kind words about our staff. I was sorry to learn that you experienced some cleanliness issues during your stay - play accept our sincere apologies. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team, so that improvements can be made.
We look forward to being of service to you again soon.

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

My trip was business and my family came along for leisure. We stayed four nights. I received a very low rate off an online booking site, and of course the negative reviews here stick out, so I was a bit cautioned choosing this hotel. But, again, the rate was wonderful so I thought I would take a chance. Well, I was very pleased with our room. Our room was very clean. Room service was always prompt whether it was breakfast or dinner. The shuttle service was convenient and a money-saver for my family that used it each day to get to the metrorail.

It was difficult to get an elevator in the a.m. One day I did walk down from the 10th floor. There was also a weekend conference going on so parking was difficult. The spaces are very small, and even though I was able to find a space to park my van, it was usually on the bottom floor of the parking structure. I was going to ask for at least one day of parking be credited due to the overcrowding, but when our final bill came we weren't charged for parking at all. I'm guessing others must have complained also. In-room wifi was very reliable.

Overall, I was pleased and would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff - I will certainly share them.
We hope we can be of service to you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, MO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Hilton used to be a grand name, but it isn't too grand at this one. The hotel rents out space for a gift shop and a "Business Center", but you better not count on doing much business in this place. I'm guessing the company that rents out that space does payday loans as well. At least they were prepared for the 6 hour power outage (they had flashlights), but it didn't really matter in the hallways, because they didn't seem to be air conditioned anyway. It was convenient to where our trial was, but for us the location was the best quality about this place, and that was probably due to an accidental siting.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I'm sorry that your visit was not a more pleasant one. While storms caused much of the area to be without power for more than 24 hours, we were fortunate to get our power back after 6 hours. During the outage emergency generators powered our life safety systems and emergency lights, but unfortunately not air conditioning.
We hope to have an opportunity to be of service to you again when the weather is more cooperative!

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

I have to say that this could be a nice hotel if they would revamp the whole thing. Coming in from the Parking Area should give you an idea - the carpet was filthy and needed replaced years ago. The bed was horrible in our room. It was a clean room, but just very outdated. I was disappointed because the rate dictates that this should have been a much cleaner hotel. Hilton needs to get on the ball at this hotel lest they become the next "Holiday Inn"...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry that your visit was not a more pleasant one. I was glad to read that although you were disappointed in the condition of the hotel, that you found it to be clean.

We are in the final stages of design review, and will begin a comprehensive renovation in the winter which will surely address all of the issues that you noted.

Thanks again for the opportunity to address your concerns. We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

I stayed at the Hilton Alexandria Mark Center for two weeks in July on business with the government. Prior to arriving, I had requested a room accommodation for an HDMI input, and received an email confirming same from the Manager, Charlie Banta, that I was upgraded to the 29th floor. The hotel was very nice, upon arriving a bit earlier than check in time, I grabbed a beer at bar and only had to wait around 25 minutes until the room was ready. The room was great, clean, large with a view, a very nice TV and a bed which rivaled my tempurpedic at home. Wireless internet is available, and it is fast enough to support a PS3. If you have a problem, the hotel staff are on it in less than 15 minutes from your call.

I ate at the restaurant, Finn & Porter, about 5-6 times during my stay for dinner, once for breakfast, and twice or so for lunch. I note that there is also a sushi chef at the restaurant who makes tasty rolls. All the meals were good, and the wait staff will gladly modify your order should you have any special requests. Also to note, as I did not have a car, the concierge maintains an extensive list of delivery joint menus to consider.

I ordered room service once for breakfast, picking a delivery window 6:00 to 6:30. The food was delivered by 6:10, and it was good, with a more than ample coffee supply (it's essential).

Since it was an extended stay, I used the in-hotel laundry and dry cleaning service and a same-day turnaround was standard. During the day, there are usually a few cabs in the lot to take you places, or the concierge will call one for you. The shuttle to Pentagon City and Ronald Reagan was also appreciated.

The hotel, as a whole, was very nice place. Unfortunately, without a car, I could not explore the area proper, but the staff will assist you as much as possible to make you comfortable.

There were also an interesting bunch of public conferences occurring during my stay. Visiting those was also an fun way to fill in the non-business hours.

The prices are what I would expect, and what I have experienced for metropolitan areas (New Orleans, NYC, Houston). Keeping that in context, the hotel was a great place to stay, and if you have a vehicle, it's wonderful. Parking was only $9 a day, when I have paid in excess of $35 to keep a vehicle in New Orleans in the past.

I recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, August 22, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for the kind words about our staff - I will certainly share them.
We hope we can be of service to you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.