We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and Wonderful Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Alexandria Mark Center to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking & Wifi Deal!
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Navarre, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel and Wonderful Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while attending a training conference in December (the conference was hosted at a different hotel that was more expensive). The Hilton was close by and had a better rate, so I stayed there and drove to the conference each day. The hotel was clean, service was friendly--especially in the Finn & Porter restaurant. I had to pay for internet service in the room each day, but it was easy to connect and worked well. The restaurant was the best part of my stay. The food was delicious and the service was excellent. I highly recommend the sushi, but the menu items were equally as impressive. The wine list is also extraordinary, with several hundred wines to choose from. Truly an outstanding restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words about Finn and Porter.
We hope to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,
Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    251
    130
    72
    57
See reviews for
159
141
67
316
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying at the Hilton Alexandria on December 3rd. The front desk was very friendly and efficient at both check in and check out. I had dinner in the restaurant on two evenings. I have never really enjoyed sushi before, but after having the sushi in their restaurant, I am hooked. I had it both nights. The guest room was very comfortable and clean. Also - the Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries were a very nice touch. I will definitely return to this property the next time I need to stay in the area. I will recommend it to anyone who will listen.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the kind words about our Front Desk team, and about Finn and Porter.
We hope to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,
Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort worth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

a little isolated, but a nice facility. rooms were large. plenty of parking, much under cover (albeit a little confusing at first as to where it wasn't reserved). large party checking in before me made the wiating line to check in long and slow-but staff apologized and acknowledged this was unusual.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, January 18, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to be of service to you again.

Best Regards,
Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Our stay was amazing! The staff is friendly and service fast. From the moment we checked in to the moment our driver dropped us off at the airport, the staff spoke to us like we were old friends. Would recommend this hotel to my family and friends. This is our second stay at this hotel and we would come back again!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I was very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable visit, and that you have stayed with us before. Thank you for the kind words about our staff.
We look forward to being of service to you again.
Sincerely,
Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We visited friends for Thanksgiving and had a very nice stay. We chose this hotel for its proximity to our friends' home in Alexandria and for the "Weekender Deal": $89/night for two nights and the third was free. Free parking, too. When we checked in we also received vouchers for one free breakfast (skip the pancakes--very rubbery).

The staff was pleasant and professional. A business traveller used to other Hiltons may find this hotel dated and in need of a facelift, but to our family (who is used to the Motel 6 level of decor), it was just fine.

Our room was in the "Retreat" section, which has larger rooms. Parking was close, too. The room was clean and overlooked the lake with fountain (which the kids liked). We were on the entry floor so I can't comment on the elevators. The staff said the hotel was pretty quiet as it was Thanksgiving weekend, so no noise issues for us.

This hotel is not near a Metro station but it is next to I-395 which gives you access by car to downtown Washington. We saw a shuttle but didn't need to use it so I can't comment on its reliability.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2009
Thank You for taking the time to review our Hotel. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you booked a package that provided great value.

We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

I recently stayed at te Hilton Alexandria Mark Center while taking a short sightseeing trip with my wife. We found a reasonable special on the Hilton Honors site and booked online (this didn't prevent a billing discrepancy when the time came to check out, but it was quickly resolved).

We found this hotel to be thoroughly acceptable and average in our Hilton experience.

On the plus side, the price was right (with all the options available in Northern VA and Maryland, there is no reason on earth to overpay for a suburban DC hotel). Our room was generously sized (ask for a high-level room that overlooks the DC skyline -- on a clear day/night you can easily see the Washington Monument), though the bathroom was in need of repair and had no fan. The staff was friendly and genuine in their concern for the comfort of our stay. The hotel is clearly accustomed to providing an extra level of service as it caters to large meetings and small conventions, judging by all the meeting rooms and ballrooms. And, the free shuttle service to the closest Metro station (Pentagon City) is a godsend (be prepared for a long return trip, though, as the shuttle stops at Reagan National and then takes a very long way home through bad traffic).

On a less positive note, the hotel staff would have you believe that the on-site restaurant , Finn and Porter, is a destination spot for Alexandria residents and has world-class cuisine. Don't believe it. It's an expensive mediocrity with a limited menu (the wine list, by comparison, is impressive and the mark-ups were pretty standard). Service there is attentive bordering on excessive.

The location is odd in that the hotel is surrounded by enormous apartment complexes and office buildings, yet we had a terrible time trying to find a nearby restaurant for dinner outside the hotel. If there's a good selection out there, we sure didn't find it.

Lastly, and this is my pet peeve for Hilton properties, WiFi is not free and even the business center charges for time on their computers.

There is an indoor/outdoor pool available (no hot tub) but not big or interesting enough to keep all but the smallest kids interested very long. This is basically a place to sleep in between sightseeing trips.

Still, not bad. If you can get in for under $125/night, it's worth it. Any more than that, and I'd suggest looking around.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and accomodations that you received.

I am sorry though, that you were less than pleased with your experience in Finn and Porter. I have shared your review with our culinary team.

With regard to Internet Access, we offer several packages that include high speed access, which may be a better value for you in the future. We now also offer complimentary access to all Hilton Honors Members.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed here to participate in the Marine Corps Marathon in October. We had an odd experience checking in - they almost tried to put us in a room with just a pull-out couch ...but we got our keys for our room with a King bed and not 2 or 3 hours later had a few other people open the door to our room with their own key while we were brushing our teeth!!

We then returned from the marathon at 4 in the afternoon to an uncleaned room ..

The rooms were okay but we were not impressed with the service to say the least....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced with our Front Desk. I have shared your note with our Front Office team, so that corrective action may be taken.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.