We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect...for our needs.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Alexandria Mark Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking & Wifi Deal!
Ranked #22 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect...for our needs.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

We visited friends for Thanksgiving and had a very nice stay. We chose this hotel for its proximity to our friends' home in Alexandria and for the "Weekender Deal": $89/night for two nights and the third was free. Free parking, too. When we checked in we also received vouchers for one free breakfast (skip the pancakes--very rubbery).

The staff was pleasant and professional. A business traveller used to other Hiltons may find this hotel dated and in need of a facelift, but to our family (who is used to the Motel 6 level of decor), it was just fine.

Our room was in the "Retreat" section, which has larger rooms. Parking was close, too. The room was clean and overlooked the lake with fountain (which the kids liked). We were on the entry floor so I can't comment on the elevators. The staff said the hotel was pretty quiet as it was Thanksgiving weekend, so no noise issues for us.

This hotel is not near a Metro station but it is next to I-395 which gives you access by car to downtown Washington. We saw a shuttle but didn't need to use it so I can't comment on its reliability.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, December 3, 2009
Thank You for taking the time to review our Hotel. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you booked a package that provided great value.

We hope to be of service to you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    223
    228
    107
    58
    46
See reviews for
139
118
65
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, OH
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

I recently stayed at te Hilton Alexandria Mark Center while taking a short sightseeing trip with my wife. We found a reasonable special on the Hilton Honors site and booked online (this didn't prevent a billing discrepancy when the time came to check out, but it was quickly resolved).

We found this hotel to be thoroughly acceptable and average in our Hilton experience.

On the plus side, the price was right (with all the options available in Northern VA and Maryland, there is no reason on earth to overpay for a suburban DC hotel). Our room was generously sized (ask for a high-level room that overlooks the DC skyline -- on a clear day/night you can easily see the Washington Monument), though the bathroom was in need of repair and had no fan. The staff was friendly and genuine in their concern for the comfort of our stay. The hotel is clearly accustomed to providing an extra level of service as it caters to large meetings and small conventions, judging by all the meeting rooms and ballrooms. And, the free shuttle service to the closest Metro station (Pentagon City) is a godsend (be prepared for a long return trip, though, as the shuttle stops at Reagan National and then takes a very long way home through bad traffic).

On a less positive note, the hotel staff would have you believe that the on-site restaurant , Finn and Porter, is a destination spot for Alexandria residents and has world-class cuisine. Don't believe it. It's an expensive mediocrity with a limited menu (the wine list, by comparison, is impressive and the mark-ups were pretty standard). Service there is attentive bordering on excessive.

The location is odd in that the hotel is surrounded by enormous apartment complexes and office buildings, yet we had a terrible time trying to find a nearby restaurant for dinner outside the hotel. If there's a good selection out there, we sure didn't find it.

Lastly, and this is my pet peeve for Hilton properties, WiFi is not free and even the business center charges for time on their computers.

There is an indoor/outdoor pool available (no hot tub) but not big or interesting enough to keep all but the smallest kids interested very long. This is basically a place to sleep in between sightseeing trips.

Still, not bad. If you can get in for under $125/night, it's worth it. Any more than that, and I'd suggest looking around.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and accomodations that you received.

I am sorry though, that you were less than pleased with your experience in Finn and Porter. I have shared your review with our culinary team.

With regard to Internet Access, we offer several packages that include high speed access, which may be a better value for you in the future. We now also offer complimentary access to all Hilton Honors Members.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed here to participate in the Marine Corps Marathon in October. We had an odd experience checking in - they almost tried to put us in a room with just a pull-out couch ...but we got our keys for our room with a King bed and not 2 or 3 hours later had a few other people open the door to our room with their own key while we were brushing our teeth!!

We then returned from the marathon at 4 in the afternoon to an uncleaned room ..

The rooms were okay but we were not impressed with the service to say the least....

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank You for taking the time to review our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues that you experienced with our Front Desk. I have shared your note with our Front Office team, so that corrective action may be taken.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns.

We hope to have the opportunity to be of service again in the future.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

There for business, everything was fine. Didn't partake in the restaurant or bar downstairs, but everything else was great. Easy access to the interstate for all my travels around DC was a plus.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, November 30, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to be of service to you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

My husband planned 3 days and 2 nights doing touristy things in the DC area and we got a 2 night deal through Priceline, so this wasn't really my hotel of choice. I was fearful after reading some of the previous reviews but we had no issues. I went in to check-in while my husband got our luggage out of the car. The bellman quickly ran out there with a cart to assist, though we told him we didn't need any help. While checking in I handed over my credit card and my Hilton Honors Diamond level card to the agent and she quickly upgraded our room, which I didn't expect at all since we booked on Priceline. She also gave us certificates for free buffet breakfasts and a code for free internet.

We went up to our upgraded corner room and it was clean and no signs of any bed bugs or any other issues as noted by previous reviewers. The Bellman really worked hard for his tip -- he brought all of our luggage in and asked if we needed ice and all.

Previous reviewers complained about parking -- it's only $9.45 a night, which I think is very reasonable considering we're in a 'burb of DC. And the walk from the parking area to the elevators is not far. The hotel has a free shuttle to Regan aiport and Pentagon City Metro stop and it runs every half hour. We only took advantage of the shuttle service on one day but is very convenient!

The staff at this hotel was very friendly -- everyone was!!! From the restaurant waiters and waitresses to the bellmen and shuttle drivers. It's a nice hotel, but if we go to DC again we'd try to stay closer to the city but it wasn't a terribly bad commute.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Mamager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

And thank you for being a Hilton HHonors Diamond member!

We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

Stayed here for one night on a priceline booking. I expected more from a Hilton. They charged $10+ for the internet and another $10 for parking. I guess this is usual for a Hilton. But as the room itself was nothing special, I think better value could be had elsewhere. The room itself was clean, but the washroom looked a bit dated and worn as the faucet handles looked like they were going to fall off.
Better value could be had elsewhere. But if it's the business traveller with with the company card, then the extra fees are nothing to worry about.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, November 23, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel.

While I am pleased that the cleanliness of your room was to your liking, I am sorry to hear that there were some maintenance issues in the bathroom.

Thanks also for your comments on Parking and Internet; we do offer several paqckages that include these services, which may be a better value and more convenient for you in the future.

We also offer complimentary high speed internet access to Hilton HHonors members.

Thanks again for the opportunity to address your concerns.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Virginia USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

This Hilton surpassed expectations in almost every area. Rooms are spacious, clean, and well appointed. Public areas beautifully designed and furnished. Services are impeccable. And the restaurant's eggs benedict on the breakfast menu are excellent ... and a bargain! (Minor complaint: they nick you $9.45 for overnight parking -- a bit jarring for a ***+ hotel.)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, November 18, 2009
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please stop by to say hello during your next visit.

We look forward to being of service to you again -

Best Regards,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.