We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“long labor day weekend at hilton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Alexandria Mark Center to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking & Wifi Deal!
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Marshall, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“long labor day weekend at hilton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Took my bf Jason here for his birthday this year. We had an awesome time. I was concerned at first after reading reviews about it being dirty and staff being rude. I found that this wasn't this case upon arrival we unloaded the car and gave the keys to the valet who was very accommodating. He assisted me in removing our luggage and pointed us in the correct direction without being asked. When we entered the building right away before check in a gentleman offered to hold our items so we could check in easier( as I had a make-up case and some loose shoes in hand). Everyone was very polite. We had no problem with check in we got the room we had requested with a beautiful view of dc. Keith the concierge was incredibly informative and was able to give us info on the metro routes and gave us maps and extra information about the area that again we didn't ask for but couldn't appreciate it more. We ate at their restaurant all three nights and were never disappointed. The pool was clean and there was always plenty of room. The weight room had modern equipment and everything worked ( no matter where you go at least one thing seems to be out of order, but not here) This hotel provided a shuttle to the metro at no charge. I left every hour on the hour. The one thing I would say was a down fall was in our room you couldn't close the curtains to keep out the early morning sun. This wasn't a problem for myself as I am an early riser. I also got a surprise even though the trip was for his birthday he surprised me and proposed in our room on the 24th floor overlooking the city. :) Thank you Hilton for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear tracy f
Congratulations for your upcoming wedding. We were very excited that Jason not only celebrated his birthday here but proposed to you in our hotel!

Thank you for sharing your experience and know that we try to make every guest memorable.

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    259
    132
    75
    57
See reviews for
161
143
69
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed here one night as a mom/dad get-away. We got a king room for $94 a night with the AAA rate. Owing to my HHonors status, we were upgraded to a balcony King with free wifi. Thank you to the front desk!

I've lived in the DC area for about 20 years, but have never stayed at this place (in fact we lived in an apartment complex down the road from it for three years). staying here was a nice treat as our room affored us about a 120 degree view from Arlington to Alexandria (DC could be seen in the distance).

The room has been fully remodeled and was well decorated; nice wall paperings; mini bar area; desk area was all new and refreshed. Bathroom was a tad bit small, but unlike many other hotels that have undergone a redo, actually had a bathtub!

The main hallway was very open, spacious and inviting. Did not get to check out Finn & Porter, but have eaten at the one in DC and it had very good fare (as well as a very reasonably priced happy hour).

Checked out the pool (they claim two pools), but it is really one pool with a weather separator for winter. The pool fine, but wished they had a hot tub.

The hotel has a shuttle to the Pentagon City metro station, which is VERY convenient. Wish they had one to King Street, but given the location of the hotel near I-395, the service to Pentagon City is understandable.

My only knock was the $24.00 they charge for parking. There is essentially no alternative as the area is surrounded by monitored parking lots for the office buildings and apartment complexes with militant towing companies. Do NOT even think of trying to sneak into the apartment complex overnight, as you will be towed...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Great experience that had an excellent staff that was always willing to assistance me, no only within the hotel, but also information regarding the immediate community. Hotel room was clean and provided everything that any traveler requires away from home!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Prospect, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Front desk girl, was very accommodating, wait staff for most part was very good. Really enjoyed that they had Sushi in hotel. Would have liked to have had the option to purchase Pepsi products, but was not able to.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

It's a great hotel and within easy walking distance of public transportation. Need to upgrade the restaurant, it's been the same food for more than 2 years now. They try to be upscale but they really aren't. the food is pretty good, but not the best I've had in the area. The hotel guest shop is also very expensive. They exercise area is small, but well equipped and it has never been crowded.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear David H
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your observations and experience. We are extremely pleased that we met your expectations in most regards and we look forward to being your host again in the very near future! Your comments indicate that you had an issue with the restaurant menu and gift shop for which I sincerely apologize. I have forwarded your comments to our Chef who is certain to take the corrective steps needed to improve in this area.
Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.
Sincerely
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfort, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Hilton in DC was easy to check into, it provided a very safe environment and the room was comfortable. The staff was helpful and friendly. I was very pleased with my stay. The parking is worth the fee and I had no problems while I was there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Brent K
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are extremely pleased that we met your expectations and we look forward to being your host again in the very near future! Please know that we work very hard to ensure that every stay at our hotel is memorable.

Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chevy chase, md, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great event, lovely place. Used outside caterer. Staff was all very courteous and helpful. Grounds were lovely to walk around and use for evening outdoor event. Indoor events required multiple rooms and set-ups which were handled very well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.