We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in Washington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Save Saved
You added Hilton Alexandria Mark Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking & Wifi Deal!
Ranked #25 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
Nantes, France
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Best location in Washington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

If you look for a nice and smart place to stay in Washington , this hotel is just the perfect one : nearby the highway to access quickly Pentagon and the downtown of Washington , this is the perfect mix between business trip and holidays travel .

Very large lobby with courtesy device to access Internet , concierge for details and advise and a very nice swimming pool below in front of a small park . Rooms are large and very confortable even if the bathroom is very small .

Service is excellent and dedicated to your stay , will be back here in my next trip to DC .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    233
    112
    61
    52
See reviews for
141
127
65
274
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Location was the first point of our choice as subwa, higway and things to do are numerous in this aera . When we arrived , hotel was under a terrible thunderstorm and had no more electricity but the reception did its best to provide quickly rooms . Rooms are large and very confortable and even if the bathroom is small , you have a nice stay .

Washington is a green city and the hotel also with a park in front and a small lake , the swimming open in large hours and you could mix business trip and family holidays . The lobby is very nice and confortable and service is just excellent .

Will highly recommnd this hotel to visit Washington .

Room Tip: Choose a room in front of the road , no noise but high view if you are in high stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

From very poor front desk service to stains and holes on bedding. Why would anyone pay for this?

I am not a hotel snob by any means. I don't complain about high food prices at resorts and I don't complain about trivial items that I have seen from others. But I do expect expect staff to act as if they want my business and a clean room to sleep in.

I ended up stripping the bedding down to almost nothing as stains were everywhere. Front desk staff were contacted to see if they could be changed and nothing came of it.

And...less a concern as I was here for business and gone much of the time...avery large dog barking just a few doors down. 18th floor, so I assume this is the norm as its hard to sneak a dog that big up 18 floors.

All in all, disappointing hotel that staff is unable or unwilling to jeep from showing its age.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for one night. We felt comfortable, the room was spacious, clean and quiet. The grounds are beautiful, and the staff are professional, helpful and kind. The pool is good, but it has no showers or changing room. Also, the water was not as transparent as we would have liked it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This hotel is a very nice one. It has many amenities for business travelers. I, however, was traveling with a pre-teen and the only thing that was available was a pool. No hot tub, or other children activities.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear cjewel04
Thank you for sharing your observations and experience the Hilton Mark Center. As a business hotel we do offer an indoor/outdoor pool, fitness center and we have running and walking trails by the hotel . On your next trip the concierge can recommend many museums and other preteen friendly places to visit that are close by.
Again thankyou for sharing your experience and please know we value your business and look forward to being your host in the future.
Sincerely
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Their website mentions a convenient shuttle service. There's nothing convenient about it. They do not post or provide an information regarding the shuttle stops or times of departure. We didn't find out until the 3rd day of our stay about the different routes and times. We spent most of our time waiting for the shuttle during our stay and eventually got so fed up, forked over $20 for a cab ride to avoid an hour long wait.

The housekeeping was lazy and sporadic. Our towels were removed but not replaced. Warm water from the previous occupants was left in the ice bucket. The refrigerator leaked onto the floor leaving the floor wet.

The carpet in the lobby was frayed and I tripped over it which could have caused problems if I were an elderly person. The bellhops outside spent more time talking with each other on the other side of the driveway than helping the cars in the driveway. I saw one guy load up a rolling carrier, asked the bell hop if he had to take the stuff in and the bellhop said yes! Isn't that what the bellhop is supposed to do?

Anyway... will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Karin R
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. . Your comments indicate that you had an issue with the shuttle, for which I sincerely apologize. Please know that the shuttle schedule is posted in the guest directory. The concierge desk at the front of the hotel has shuttle information as well. I have forwarded your comments to our transportation manager who is certain to look into other options needed to improve in this area.
Again, thank you for your sharing your observations and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
temple hills, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Not overall bad hotel to stay. Rooms are spacey, the ones on 22nd floor at least - we had one with balconey. However, rooms are old and the one we stayed in the wet bar cabinetry was deteriorated and appeared the refrigerator drained on the floor as the carpet was sturated. Elevators for this hotel are very slow - we spent most of the time waiting for the elevators.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#18 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.