We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with some maintenance issues” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Alexandria Mark Center to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with some maintenance issues”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for three nights on business. Short review: nice hotel, swanky digs, but saw some maintenance/housekeeping issues that are unbecoming of the Hilton brand. Picked this hotel as it was reasonably priced (for the DC area) and still close enough to central DC. Impressive building and my room on the 24th floor had a good view and was tastefully decorated with a rich dark chocolate and blue color scheme. Comfortable bed and clean bathroom. But I noticed several maintenance/housekeeping issues that force me to give it an average rating. To wit: - hanging bulb from the floor lamp that was obvious from across the room, but was not fixed the three days I was there. Did not want to turn on the lamp. - Small fridge with a door that would not shut properly that caused the ice inside to melt and water very close to leaking out of the fridge - was not fixed during my stay. - Several nicks, scratches and bruises on the wood furniture (especially inside the cabinets) that just looked unsavory. - Small dust cloud when I moved the clock on the nightstand, not a good sign. - Trash can left a brown outline of its base when I moved it - the first night, indicative of sloppy cleaning. Thankfully, it disappeared the next day. - Hair on toilet seat when I first went in on the first night. Again, sloppy cleaning and lack of attention to detail. All in all, seems like a good hotel that could be gradually undone by sloppy maintenance, if they are not careful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    318
    160
    86
    64
See reviews for
205
166
77
393
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, HI, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great guest services, fast/reliable internet, helpful/friendly staff, very comfortable/quiet rooms! Would highly recommend for either work conferences, work stays, or for personal as well. Really enjoyed staying at this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Everything about this hotel was first class. The room was quiet with a beautiful view of the lake and fountain. The location was convenient to everything of interest. The restaurant was absolutely fantastic! We will definitely stay here again when we return to the DC area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The facilities of this hotel are very nice and the lobby area and rooms are very clean. Elevators ran very efficiently and you don't have to wait for any. Front line staff are all very efficient. I attended a meeting at this hotel and the hotel's catering for the meeting was exceptionally good, especially the very popular mashed potato bar (yes, a mashed potato bar). The only issue is the location which is fairly far from any other restaurants, stores, or other attractions within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, NJ, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in Alexandria for a conference or other business related activities. The room, bed, swimming pool are very nice. The location is a little far from downtown Alexandria if don't have a car. Would recommend this hotel to friends and business associates.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Beware that this hotel does NOT offer free internet to its guests. They charge $9.95 a day, which can add up quickly if your family uses multiple devices over multiple days. Overall, the quality no better than lower-priced hotels. The only reason we stayed there was for a convention (we'll probably seek out a nearby hotel next year).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Helen L
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel and share your experiences. Your comments indicate that you had an issue with internet charges for which I sincerely apologize. We do offer free internet and the use of several computers in our lobby. I am currently working on a solution that allows up to 3 devices to work in the guest rooms for every one charge.
Again, thank you for your response and please know that we value your business and we look forward to being of service to you in the very near future.
Regards
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here while for work, and the location was good for that as my meetings were literally across the street. If you want to go where the metro goes there is a good shuttle service to the closest station.

The on-site restaurant was excellent, though a bit on the pricey side (not for the quality), and the portions were just too big. The staff were amazing.

I was disappointed that the pool was only open from around 10AM to 6PM, which meant I didn't get a chance to use it at all. The gear in the fitness centre was good, but it was very hot and there didn't seem to be any air circulation at all.

Basically, for what services I could use it was really too expensive, though the staff were all uniformly excellent, and it was a clean and well kept hotel.

Room Tip: Research the rates carefully. I was there with 5 other people and we all had a different rate for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph P, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Almaniac
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience and observations. . We are extremely pleased that we met your expectations in most regards and we look forward to being your host on your next trip! Please know that we value your business and hope to see you in the future.

Sincerely
Ralph Priesing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alexandria hotels
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Alexandria Pentagon South
3.6 mi away
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
Hilton Alexandria Old Town
#13 of 50 in Alexandria
4.0 of 5 stars 801 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Alexandria/Pentagon South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Suites Old Town Alexandria
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites Alexandria
Homewood Suites Alexandria
#1 of 50 in Alexandria
4.5 of 5 stars 434 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mt. Vernon/Belvoir-Alexandria South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#20 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Venere, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.