We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"All Over the Boards"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Alexandria Mark Center to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking & Wifi Deal!
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Alexandria
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“"All Over the Boards"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I had a great room on the 30th floor. The housekeeping missed me two of my four day stay, so I saw my room cleaned once. The customer service was indifferent which I have been told is typical for this area. Except for nice room, I saw no value, nothing special and won't hurry to return when I am in the area.

Room Tip: I had a great view form 30th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I was very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room, but was alarmed to learn about the service and housekeeping issues that you experienced. Please accept our sincere apologies.

I have shared your comments with our leadership team, so that improvements may be made.

Thanks again for the opportunity to respond to your concerns. We hope to have the chance to be of service to you again, to better demonstrate the abilities of our team.

Most Hospitably Yours,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    259
    132
    75
    57
See reviews for
161
143
69
327
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Though my stay here was quick, it was nonetheless pleasant. Check-in was friendly and quick. I was upgraded to a "corner room" (aren't most of the rooms in this hotel "corner rooms?") on a high floor. Even with the high floor, I still could hear quite a bit of street noise at night. I was given a complimentary breakfast as an HHonors Gold member. The service in the restaurant seemed uncoordinated, and slow. Food was okay from the buffet. The one downside of the hotel was the parking, which cost $20/night, though this is typical for a hotel in a metro area, so not unexpected. I'd return to the hotel if the price is right in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a conference, and my experience was very good over all. All of the hotel staff members that I met were friendly, helpful, and organized. My hotel room was great. Everything was clean and ready when I arrived, and there was a beautiful view. Parking was convenient and not over-priced for guests staying at the hotel. The only I would have changed is that I had to take a really long and convoluted walk to get from the hotel lobby to my room, and I could not find another entrance to the building. My room was quiet though, and that was way more important to me than the convenience of getting to the room. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelingmomma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family and I decided to have a break from life and spend a night in Alexandria. We stayed at the Mark Center on the 20th floor. The kids room had 2 queen beds and was a pretty good size room with a fridge, decent sized bathtub and a few of other buildings. We got a king bed corner room and it was huge, with a fridge, again decent size bathtub and an amazing view of the city. (we would have traded with the kids but they needed 2 beds).

The hotel is a little dated and yes the elevators are a little slow getting to you but fast when you are in them. Room service was good and the sushi (yes, we dare order sushi from room service as they hotels restaurant is a seafood place that is respectable) and it was good and the chocolate cake was great!

For the price which was a song on Expedia (though I do love Tripadvisor) it was a great over night. The garage is not cheap but if you pay for the spot with your room then you're only charged once and can come and go as you please.

For me the size of the room (huge) and the proximity to DC makes it a great place for families to stay and I would stay again.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are huge and ours had a great view on the 20th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As a travel agent I am VERY picky about hotels especially if I am going to recommend them to a client. I can honestly say this hotel and their staff has been exceptional.

I checked in and was upgraded to the 30th floor in a corner room. The service has been wonderful and the staff helpful. They were attentive, the room clean and room service was very quick.

The bed comfortable, and the amenities plenty. The bath was a large deep tub that I got to enjoy. The food in the restaurant was wonderfully cooked, tasty and reasonably priced.

The only recommendation I could make would be that if they have a deep tub like this would be to include a little bottle of bubble bath :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed here for a conference; the hotel was selected by the conference organizers, so we didn't make the hotel selection ourselves.

Our corner room was excellent; clean and spacious with a comfortable bed, perfect pillows (and I'm picky about pillows), large bathroom and a refrigerator (but no microwave - we requested one after arrival and were told they were not available). Nice big picture windows with an expansive view. Comfortable chairs and a plenty of electrical outlets, and the wifi worked fine.

But the hotel is located in an area where this no place anywhere nearby to purchase food, and the hotel food was pretty overpriced. It may be that I'm just too used to Hawaii hotels, where the hotel sundries shops have all manner of food and drink items, but this hotel's shop had almost nothing in it - mostly candy and soda. We felt a bit like we were being held hostage so that we'd be forced to eat only expensive hotel meals.

On the up side, though, they do provide an excellent shuttle service that will take you to Old Town Alexandria - although it's still a bit of a trek from the shuttle stop to the nearest market - a Whole Foods. We loaded up there and were able to have healthy breakfasts and lunches in our room.

Back on the down side, there was a major kerfluffle regarding the shuttle driver - apparently someone had complained because the shuttle driver had allowed people to ride on the shuttle standing up, as they were so many people wanting a ride. The hotel management had come down hard on the driver, so he was strictly enforcing the rule of no standing passengers - leaving people standing through two or three shuttle rounds. Why on earth didn't they use the bigger shuttles (which they had) or put more of them into action? Not very good customer service, especially when the shuttle is a necessity rather than a frill for a hotel in this location.

So, I'd say they do an excellent job of providing top-quality rooms, but they sort of fall down on facilitating a guest's pleasant experience in the face of a less than ideal location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a big hotel with large, nice rooms, located about 5 mi away from the Alexandria city center. On the plus side, the rooms are spacious, clean with comfortable beds and lots of outlets. The hotel runs a free shuttle to and from the airport, which is highly appreciated. We were there for a meeting, and in the first hour and a half the room was freezing cold. We ordered food in the meeting room. The service was good, and the food was generally OK, but it seemed it was reheated (the fries always betray such small things). The restaurant in the hotel is convenient, but I was not impressed by the food (how can you fail fish and chips?). However, I did not try the sushi that other people praised and did not have breakfast there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#21 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#23 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.