We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel rooms, free shuttle, and delicious sushi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton Alexandria Mark Center to your Saves list
Hilton Alexandria Mark Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Parking & Wifi Deal!
Ranked #25 of 49 Hotels in Alexandria
Fishers, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel rooms, free shuttle, and delicious sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I took a pleasure trip to Washington DC and since we got a deal through Expedia (buy 2 nights and get the 3rd free), we decided to stay at the Hilton Alexandria. First off, the photos online do this hotel no justice; it's much prettier in person. The room was absolutely beautiful, clean and spacious. We had no issues with the room whatsoever.

Second, the free shuttle service is actually what drew us the most to this hotel. The shuttle does a continuous loop that will bring you to the airport and the Metro subway at Crystal City. This saves you so much on cab fares! The drivers are pleasant and friendly, as well. They make it so convenient to leave the hotel since it leaves the hotel every 30 minutes. Very organized and efficient service.

Third, the restaurant Finn and Porter has an excellent sushi chef who makes the sushi in front of you...and you don't have to leave the hotel.

Overall, this was an excellent and pleasing hotel and if we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    243
    123
    68
    55
See reviews for
150
135
67
296
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Hotel was not hard to find since Seminary Road is an exit off I-395. Staff was helpful from desk clerks to bell service to valet parking staff. I was upgraded to a king-bed corner room on the 25th of 30 floors. It had great views of Alexandria and Potomac River in the distance from windows on two sides that were 2/3 of the height from floor to ceiling. Fall colors of the trees added to the view. I liked the decor of the room--earth tones of chocolate and lighter brown and beige--everything coordinated from chair upholstery to bedding, to abstract paintings, to curtains, to carpet, and wall paper on one accent wall. (I'm sooo tired of dusty rose and drab green in chain hotel rooms The breakfast buffet or a la carte menu was reasonably priced and tasty. The restaurat also serves lunch and dinner but I only had breakfast there. Public computers were available to hotel guests but the printers weren't operational during my stay. I would consider staying here again since room price and valet parking charge were less than a comparable hotel in District of Columbia.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on upper floors are spacious, nice and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The rooms are large and comfortable and my room was squeaky clean. There are a few details, that if taken care of, would really help. A fresh coat of stain on the bathroom vanity would make a much better impression. The large safe is appreciated and thankfully, the room had many electrical outlets. The bed was comfortable and sheets starched to perfection. For those of us who eat healthy breakfasts, bringing a cereal box of granola is substandard. But my general satisfaction with the room did not spill over to the meeting room. The meeting was held in the retreat building which has guest rooms across the hall. Believe it or not, there was a drug bust across from the meeting room in a guest room. Needless to say, this was most disconcerting. Perhaps the hotel security could not have warned us in advance or evacuated our meeting, but the real fault of the hotel was that they did not make any effort to move the meeting, even though there were plenty of available meeting rooms in the facility and we requested they move us. So our group, when exiting for breaks, had to walk by the room with masked agents, and police outside the door. Just completely unacceptable. In addition, the parking garage could not honor a discount given to us by the hotel and could not offer an explanation.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask what room you are assigned to in advance because upon checkin, they are inflexible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry that your group was disturbed by the arrest that was carried out across the corridor from your meeting; I know that the law enforcement officers did their very best to minimize any disruptions, and that the safety and security of all of our guests was of utmost importance to them.

I trust that your group enjoyed the complimentary refreshments that were provided by the hotel following the disturbance.

We hope to be of service again, and under less eventful circumstances.

Best Regards,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

The people were friendly, everyone was smiling which I appreciate, service was good, the grounds were well maintained. And, they are dog friendly! They have shuttle services to make it easier to site see and get around. The rooms have been updated very nicely!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

parking was a bit awkward although adequate and a rather large army officers' event crowded the place a bit. however those were the only down sides. food was good, price was right, location was protected from traffic, pleasant setting and the price was right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the HAMC where my wife was attending a conference. Let's start with the positives: the Hotel is well appointed, generally. The staff is helpful, if not particularly talented. There is a great shuttle bus from National airport to the hotel. The same shuttle also can take you to Pentagon City(shopping mall, Metro stop) and Old Town(tourist district). So, no car is necessary, especially if you can use the Metro(loved it). You don't really want a car because, even though they are not in an inner urban setting, they really like to make you pay for parking. My friends from MD came for a visit while we were there and had to pay even when we ate at the restaurant. They also charge for Wifi, unless you are an Honors club member. The restaurant has good food and the bartender was great. The service in the restaurant was poor. Lots of waiting and asking "where's our order". We ate there multiple times because there isn't alot else nearby.
From a conference point of view, the rooms are old, have poor, sometimes non-working plugs and other items. They charge for Wi-fi to the conference rooms(talk about CHEAP)! While the rest of the hotel seems to have been remodeled, the conference area has not.
Rooms are fine. Remodeled with large TVs, if that's what you like. Elevators are slow to respond but fast once you're in them. Go figure.
If we were to stay in that area again, I'd definitely shop around.

Room Tip: Become an Hilton Honors member to get free wifi(not sure if there are any other perks).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our hotel. I was glad to hear that you enjoyed the services that the hotel offers, and especially the shuttle services.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the service issues that you experienced in the restaurant; your experience was not a typical one. I have shared your comments with our leadership team so that improvements may be made.

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your concerns. We hope to be of service to you again.

Sincerely,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My family and I have stayed at this property several times over the years, and it has always been a convenient base of operations for visiting DC and Alexandria "tourist" sites...of which there are plenty. They run shuttles from the airport and metro, have an efficient front desk staff, ample parking (although pricey), and decent food service.
They also recently completed a MASSIVE renovation, and the room amenities are modern and comfortable, and the hotel common areas are nicely done and functional.
One of the best changes was the reconfiguration of the main lobby, , elegant, adding a bar and multiple flat screens to create a modern, elegant sports-bar feel. But seriously...on this trip I have a family group of over 25 staying at the hotel, and while the lobby bar was open on Friday nite, on Saturday and Sunday with all of the sports games going on there wasn't a bartender in sight, and when we asked inside the restaurant, they told us "it isn't open on weekends!" What's up with that. To make matters worse, when we left the hotel to go pick up some libations and brought them back to the hotel, the bellman told us we couldn't consume them in the lobby, but needed to go to our rooms. This was highly offensive to us as a group, and when we complained to the front desk...the problem went away.
Calling one's self a luxury property is one thing. Operating as one is quite another, and the Hilton Mark Center needs a lesson in proper staffing when groups are in town (we understand the hotel was practically sold out!) so that their guests expectations are met and their revenues increase accordingly!!

Room Tip: The higher the better, with this hotel...there are tall apartments across the way that can paritally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bantac, General Manager at Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit to our hotel. While I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the facilitiy and services, I'm sorry that you were inconvenienced by the hours of operation of the Lobby Bar. Because we have two bars in close proximity to each other, we do from time to time close the lobby bar based on the anticipated needs of our guests. Again, my apologies.

We hope to have you back again soon,

Best regards,

Charlie Banta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Alexandria Mark Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Alexandria Mark Center

Address: 5000 Seminary Road, Alexandria, VA 22311
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#22 Family Hotel in Alexandria
#24 Business Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Alexandria Mark Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Alexandria, VA this Alexandria hotel is convenient to, Downtown DC, attractions, Reagan airport and Old Town. Upscale guest rooms and suites overlook a botanical preserve. This luxury Alexandria hotel offers onsite restaurants, business center, over 55,000 sq. ft of flexible event & meeting space, fitness center and pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Alexandria Mark Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Alexandria Mark Hotel Alexandria
Hilton Hotel Alexandria
Mark Center Alexandria Hilton
Alexandria Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Alexandria Mark Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.