We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant and relaxing in every respect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 13 more sites!
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 (Old Town)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sweet Suite Deal
Ranked #2 of 49 hotels in Alexandria
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant and relaxing in every respect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

This hotel is on busy King Street, but the front courtyard creates a quiet and tranquil space - you would not know you were in a busy area from inside the hotel. Our room was small, but did not feel cramped. The appointments were elegant, and the bathroom carried through with the quietly elegant style. The on-site restaurants and the spa were all top rate; each worthy of seeking out apart from the hotel. To have them as a part of the experience seemed too good to be true. Staff were genuinely friendly and accomodating. What a delight to talk with these intelligent, personable individuals. The onsite parking is a boon in this busy part of town. The location is charming, and close to the Metro as well as to Old Town. While the heart of the Old Town district is easily walkable (10 blocks or so), the hotel is located close to more elegant and "non-tourist" focused shops. I liked best the easy comfort of the hotel space and amenities - the only downside was needing to leave! This is the experience I hope for when I choose a top drawer hotel. Bravo!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Reservations Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Hello Dixie01,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Alexandria. I am glad you liked the courtyard in the front of the hotel. It is a nice space to get away from the hustle and bustle of King Street. I am glad that the staff made a good impression on you. I know that everyone will be pleased to hear that. Thanks again for staying and please come back top us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    608
    134
    44
    8
    4
See reviews for
128
302
74
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

This is a lovely hotel in a great location - close to Metro and lovely Alexandria The rooms are very nicely laid out but the staff is still in training - the maid service missed picking up glasses all four days and the resturant was not in sync with basic services - frequent reminders for warer, coffee without creamn or sugar. The spa is very lovely with a nice variety of services but the gym you particulary need a flashlight to see equipment.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2009

The Kimpton Hotel Group has the knack for creating fun, warm, inviting and relaxing spaces for travelers and guests. When I read that the Lorien Hotel & Spa was opening I wanted to go there right away, based on my experiences with other Kimpton properties, like Hotel Monaco. My sister and I enjoyed ourselves and took advantage of a great spa and relaxing rooms. It was fun to get away for the weekend with little effort but great benefit. Don't forget to try the Champagne tastes at the Brabo Tasting room with the tapas-style appetizer! Alittle bit of luxury for a good price!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Reservations Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Hello MyLorien

Thank you for recognizing that Kimpton works hard to create fun, warm, inviting, and relaxing hotels for our guests to enjoy. I am glad that you were able to visit the Lorien Hotel & Spa during your recent trip to the area. Thank you for staying and please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We stayed at the Lorien recently, taking advantage of both restaurants (we’ve done a separate review for those) and the spa. The hotel staff was professional, friendly and on top of things—they’re clearly well-trained and empowered to do whatever they can to make their guests welcome and comfortable. The room was small but ample, well-appointed, clean and very nice. The bathroom door, as at least one other reviewer has noted, is a little strange. It’s frosted glass on a track, so there’s a small gap at the end when it’s closed. If you’re shy, that might be uncomfortable. The décor for the whole place is sleek, minimalist and modern, which suits our style, but might not be for everyone. The fitness center is more of a cardio room, with 2 bikes, 2 stairclimbers and 3 treadmills, but only a few dumbbells and an all-in-one machine that had some tangled cables and a few missing pieces. It looks like they might still be trying to figure out the best way to use that space. The spa had unfortunately overbooked during the time of my wife’s appointment, but they did what they could to make it right. Again, they might still be working out a few kinks there. Overall, a great place with a terrific staff, a very good location and an attractive, relaxing vibe.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Distribution_Mgr, Reservations Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
Hello Thad,

I am glad that you chose to stay with us during your recent trip to Alexandria. Thank you for trying out all our facilities including the restaurants and spa. We are doing our best to get the hotel up and running and your comments will be valuable to use in achieving this endeavor. Thank you for staying and please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

Because we often travel with our dog, we are frequent Kimpton guests and the Lorien might be our new favorite hotel in the Kimpton family!

First of all, the location is ideal - one block from the metro and "high" enough on King Street that there is always street parking (this isn't always the case down at the Monaco, another Kimpton on the same street). Save yourself the $25 valet charge by feeding a meter and then getting a 24 hour parking pass at the visitor's center, which is about half way down King Street (know your car's plate number to get the pass).

The hotel is behind the main row of stores, so it's quiet and peaceful. The decor is lovely! Cool, soothing blue and white on the walls and furniture meets clean, sleek slate and brick flooring. The staff was attentive and friendly, though the curbside staff isn't quiet as outgoing as the guys at the Dupont Circle Palomar (sorry...they seem to hire dog lovers there and they charm us every time).

The room we got was a tad small, but beautifully decorated. I loved the modern, glass doors to the bathroom and shower with barn-like tracks at the top (see my pictures). The only drawbacks where that those doors don't completely close...so you better know your roommate quite well! In addition, there weren't too, too many outlets around the room. There were two built into the desk and two more elsewhere on the wall. All the rest were taken. A nice extra: the room had a computer in it and internet access was free.

We ate at both hotel restaurants and were extraordinarily pleased with both experiences. The Tasting Room had the same modern country decor as the rest of the hotel (vintage meets modern...wonderful) and the food was simple and perfectly cooked. Our waitress was absolutely fantastic. At the more formal Brabo, we sat the bar and decided the bartender there was the best we had ever seen (this is big, considering my boyfriend is the restaurant/bar industry). The bartender was so enthusiastic about the menu, we had a hard time picking our food. My boyfriend had roasted pork and I had some veggie sides. The bartender joked that the pork could be eaten with a spoon and sure enough, it was so tender, it just fell off the bone. It's hard to pick which meal was better. I was tempted to go back to The Tasting Room for lunch the second day!

I was in town for work and my boyfriend came with me. We didn't have time to try out the spa, but I'd love to return for that!

I have to address the dog friendly nature of all Kimpton hotels. We adore staying at them because our golden retriever, Baxter, is treated like a valued guest, not like a burden. The front desk has treats and a cute pet policy written from the dog's perspective. A dog bed was offered, but was never sent to the room, but that's not a huge deal to us. Baxter's find with curling up on the floor and we spread a blanket on the bed to protect it from Baxter's paws, in case he jumped up there (sad to say, the beautiful linens were already showing some wear from previous guests).

We will return...the local is perfect, the staff was friendly, and the hotel is a gem. We are spoiled to have so many wonderful Kimpton hotels in DC!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimpton_DC, Reservations Manager at Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2009
Hello JeanninePC99,

Great to hear we maybe your new favorite Kimpton Hotel! Thanks for the compliment. We do have a good location close to the metro and right on King Street with all the hustle-and-bustle of Old Town. Looks like we have some healthy competition with one of our sister properties. We welcome the challenge! I am glad that Baxter was as welcomed as you were. It seems you hit the nail on the head with our pet policy. No more need be said. Thank you for being a loyal Kimpton guest and please come back and join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

The hotels location could not be more perfect. Very short walk to the Metro and quickly you are in the excitement of the city. It is also alot of fun to just spend the day in Old Towne Alexandria just shopping and exploring.. The service was supurb. The food at the attached resturant was nothing less than elegant, for a reasonable price.One of the best parts is the bed and pillows !!! The only problem was that the lighting is VERY poor for reading. I know most of the hotels are this way now for "green" reasons. I can not wait to go back. ASAP

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

I stayed at the Lorien Hotel to destress from the 2008 tax season. From the moment we walked thought the beautiful courtyard and through the doors I knew it was going to be an incredible experience.
We walked in and were greeted by very friendly and professional staff complete with spy style hidden walky talkies to make sure every department in the hotel was ready to do whatever was needed for the customer.
The decor was a mix of contemporary elegance with a splash of cool. From the white books to the nice stone veranda with fire pits; the place looks exquisite!
One has two dining options at the hotel. You can eat at the restaurant called Brabo or go over to the Brabo tasting room. We had some wine and hors-d'oeuvres at the tasting room the night we arrived and it was great. Nice wine selection and an interesting assortment of items to make your palette happy. We never had dinner at Brabo but did go for dessert and brunch. Dessert was delicious, the TROIS POTS de Creme were fantastic, so were the cordials. Brunch was just as good! Tasty mimosas with fresh eggs, the best hash browns I have had and some tasty sausage.
I am definitely coming back here whenever I have the chance. The people were super friendly and tried to help me with all the questions I had regarding the local area, getting into DC via the metro or cab, and other general questions.
If you are looking to stay here, try it, you can and will not be dissapointed.

~HHB

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel

Also Known As:
Lorien Hotel Kimpton
Address: 1600 King Street, Alexandria, VA 22314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Alexandria > Old Town
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alexandria
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alexandria
#2 Business Hotel in Alexandria
#3 Family Hotel in Alexandria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in Old Town Alexandria, our luxury boutique hotel is a collaborative dream. Renowned interior designer Vicente Wolf created a space that is reflective of the past and grounded in modern sensibilities. Combined with the stylish calm of our spa, our destination restaurant, BRABO by Robert Wiedmaier, a striking environment and the amenities expected of a Kimpton Hotel, Lorien Hotel & Spa unites the elegance of yesteryear with the comforts of modern-day living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelsClick, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel to your Saves list